(The ad below will not display on your printed page)
Vegan Pumpkin Pie
“This dairy-free pumpkin pie gets its structure from aquafaba (the leftover water from a can of chickpeas) whipped up into a meringue-like foam. When it's combined with pumpkin and poured into a gluten-free pecan crust, you would never know beans had anything to do with this easy dessert recipe.”
1¼ cups pecan halves, toasted
1¼ cups oat flour (see Tip)
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ cup coconut oil, melted
2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
1 (15 ounce) can reduced-sodium chickpeas, at room temperature
⅓ cup white sugar
1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon ground ginger
¼ teaspoon ground cloves
¼ teaspoon salt
1To prepare crust: Preheat oven to 350°F.
2Pulse pecans in a food processor until finely ground. Add oat flour and ¼ teaspoon salt and pulse until combined. With the motor running, drizzle in ¼ cup coconut oil and maple syrup; blend until the mixture looks like crumbly dough. Transfer to a 9-inch glass or ceramic deep-dish pie pan and press evenly into the bottom and almost all the way up the sides.
3Bake the crust until set but not browned, 12 to 14 minutes.
4Reduce oven temperature to 325°F.
5To prepare filling: Drain chickpeas, measuring ½ cup of the bean liquid (aquafaba) into a mixing bowl. (Save the chickpeas for another use.) Beat with an electric mixer on high speed until stiff peaks form, 3 to 5 minutes. Add sugar and continue beating on high until shiny and glossy, about 1 minute more.
6Whisk pumpkin, coconut oil, cinnamon, ginger, cloves and salt in a large bowl. Gently fold in the whipped aquafaba. Pour the mixture into the crust.
7Bake the pie until the outer edges of the filling are set and the crust is lightly browned, 35 to 45 minutes. It will seem like the filling is not fully cooked, but it will set up as it cools. Let cool on a wire rack for 1 hour, then refrigerate overnight.
People with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity should use oat flour that is labeled "gluten-free," as oats are often cross-contaminated with wheat and barley.