Made with convenient canned beans, this quick and healthy Indian recipe is an authentic chickpea curry that you can make in minutes. If you want an additional vegetable, stir in some roasted cauliflower florets. Serve with brown basmati rice or warm naan. Source: EatingWell Magazine, September/October 2016

Shefaly Ravula & Amee Meghani
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Pulse serrano, garlic and ginger in a food processor until minced. Scrape down the sides and pulse again. Add onion; pulse until finely chopped, but not watery.

    Advertisement
  • Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the onion mixture and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, 3 to 5 minutes. Add coriander, cumin and turmeric and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes.

  • Pulse tomatoes in the food processor until finely chopped. Add to the pan along with salt. Reduce heat to maintain a simmer and cook, stirring occasionally, for 4 minutes. Add chickpeas and garam masala, reduce heat to a gentle simmer, cover and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes more. Serve topped with cilantro, if desired.

Nutrition Facts

278 calories; 15.5 g total fat; 1.2 g saturated fat; 354 mg sodium. 356 mg potassium; 30.3 g carbohydrates; 6.3 g fiber; 3 g sugar; 5.8 g protein; 260 IU vitamin a iu; 18 mg vitamin c; 75 mcg folate; 65 mg calcium; 2 mg iron; 34 mg magnesium;

Reviews (31)

Read More Reviews
35 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 26
  • 4 star values: 6
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 2
Rating: 5 stars
11/17/2019
This recipe was delicious! I added some cauliflower roasted with garam masala and half a bunch of kale for a few more veggies, and it worked beautifully. Served it over cilantro lime rice. Super filling and keeps really well. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/08/2019
Really delicious. Easy with a food processor. My market didn’t have Serrano chili’s so I used jalapeños. I’m looking forward to eating leftovers!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
09/15/2019
This was awesome. Used two Jalapenos instead of the recommended peppers. Added whole cardamom pods. Doubled the spices. Even better the next day! Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
08/26/2019
This is the first time I make the recipe and the first time I cook with chickpeas. It was not too salty for me (as others said) but the only thing is the chickpeas are really hard and I ended up letting simmer for much longer. I even cooked the chickpeas before for about 20 minutes and they were still super hard so I will try soaking them for next time. The taste is fantastic and I will definitely make again soon. I don't have a food processor so I used a grater for the ginger and a garlic press for the garlic and chopped the onion pretty small. I also used crushed tomatoes and added in some fresh ones. Overall delicious but soak your chickpeas! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
04/12/2019
A very filling dish. If you have the time I highly recommend using dry chickpeas and doing a soak and long cook before adding them into the mixture in the last step. I'm not a fan of slimy chickpeas from a can and I think it made the dish so much better. I ate it the curry in a flatbread with quinoa. Was a little spicy! Maybe next time I'll remove the seeds from the pepper. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/04/2019
Excellent recipe. Quick easy and yummy. I used a jalapeño pepper as the store didn t have Serrano peppers. I also added a teaspoon of curry powder at others suggestions. And I added spinach. Served it over white basmati rice. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
03/30/2019
It was pretty good but I doubled the cumin and salt Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/11/2019
Easy to make low calorie and delicious. Really good. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
01/21/2019
This was really terrific! Like others recommended I did add some curry powder and unfortunately had to use powdered ginger because I forgot to pick up a fresh ginger root. I also like my dishes extremely spicy so I used far more Serrano than was called for and still added hot sauce to my own serving at the end! All the same it was really delicious and we will definitely make it again. I sent the recipe to our daughter in college because it was quick and easy but still had bold flavors without a lot of work. A winner! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
01/18/2019
This was a really nice dish. I did add a teaspoon of curry powder as one of the reviewers suggested and it added that bit of kick so I suggest this. I made everything else in this dish as stated and did not find it too salty at all. This is a great healthy little dish. The key here is to use top quality Indian spices. I do a lot of Indian cooking and the spices are paramount to producing a good dish. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
12/28/2018
Found this recipe via the 7 day vegan meal plan. It's on the menu for lunch today. I used 1 can tomatoes and 4 fresh tomatoes which I blended. I also added 2 carrots 2 celery sticks and half a red bell pepper. I thought it was possibly over spiced when tasting it so I added a little coconut milk powder to tone things down. It's pretty good! Thank you so much! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
12/05/2018
I split the recipe in half with no salt added tomatoes and no salt Garam Marsala. This recipe did not need any salt and I also added one diced and cooked chicken breast. I have never written a review of any recipe and what I like the most is this is a great bones recipe. Just keep adding the vegetables you like. Made brown rice with ginger and the other half of the pepper and half tsp of the garam spice and some steamed cut up asparagus. Now the rice has flavor that will not kill the spices in the curry. Great new low cholesterol recipe. Read More
Rating: 3 stars
10/03/2018
Alright so i tried this recipe multiple times. First time i tried it i didn't have the ground marsala so i used some local brand of curry u can find. Also i didn't have any of the low sodiuom diced tomatoes. And followed the recipe thereafter.... Omg it was soooo salty. So the second time i tried it i had it i had all the ingredients. I was so disappointed because it was still too salty. Since i don't eat meat or any type of white carbs. I give this a 3 only because if u try it alone you'll have my pproblems. But maybe over a bed of rice or some kind of pasta i hink you'll be ok. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
09/07/2018
First time reviewer! I was feeling under the weather today and as a vegetarian and lover of Indian food I have always loved chickpeas and curries. So I searched today for something that was manageable that I could make without going to the store so I picked this! It was incredible. I made 2 changes though because I like a little more kick. With the tomatoes and salt step I added a teaspoon of curry powder. Also I simmered a bit longer at the end because most recipes I have found have been around the 10 minute mark. It was superb. Thank you! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
07/25/2018
I really enjoyed this! There is a slightly bitter aftertaste but I m not sure of the source (maybe because I used 1 cup of diced tomatoes with jalapeño and cilantro). Regardless it tastes impressive for how little effort was involved! Would definitely try again and also incorporate spinach as suggested by another reviewer. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
07/09/2018
O mah gawd this was so good! I thought the spices would be overpowering but it was lovely and I'll be making this again soon! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/23/2018
Note remove the seeds from the pepper. I did not know to do that (might be obvious to others but it wasn't for me). I absolutely loved despite how very hot it was. I will definitely make again. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
01/05/2018
I made this for lunch today. It was flavorful and quick to make. Added a half bag of frozen spinach for a little more substance and color. Served it with brown rice Read More
Rating: 5 stars
12/16/2017
Simply delicious! I will make this once a week! My whole family loved it. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
07/21/2017
I loved this dish! My husband doesn't like when I do vegetarian dinners but he really enjoyed this and even went back for seconds. I didn't have serrano peppers or cilantro on hand. I added some red pepper flakes at the end and it gave it the little kick it needed. Will definitely be trying this again with the ingredients I was missing the first time around! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
06/22/2017
Super easy and always love chole. I always add amchur (dried mango powder) as an extra spice to my chole. But this is a great alternative when I am out of it! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
06/02/2017
This was fantastic! Only change I made was to add the entire can of tomatoes. It wasn't very spicy. It only served 5 (I used a measuring cup to portion out). I served over rice and made roasted cauliflower to go along with it. I will make this again. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/05/2017
ive just finished making this for dinner tonite its really yummy! i left out the original pepper & just added some chilli flakes at the end yep it needed 'something'. il do it again! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/16/2017
Just to add if you can get your hands on some fresh curry leaves this dish would be even the bomb in terms of aromatics. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
01/23/2017
I love Indian food. This recipe is easy to make and was delicous. I used 1 tsp.of dry ginger since I did not have fresh ginger on hand. Served the dish on top of basmati rice. My husband lioved the dish. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
01/19/2017
Wow...really easy and really tasty! I was a bit worried about how spicy it would be...but it wasn't to bad. Although I did remove the seeds and ribs from the pepper before I made it. Still this was really good. Might work for a 'dip' as well...I used a tortilla chip for a taste while it was still hot...yummy! Definitely going to make this again. Read More
Rating: 1 stars
01/12/2017
Ugh. There was a bitterness to this. Maybe the onions didn't cook long enough even though I simmered it an extra 20 minutes or so. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
01/12/2017
My family loved this I was concerned about spice level and deseeded the serrano pepper which definitely brought the spicy down but not the flavor. Also to bulk the meal up I added a bag of Boca Veggie Ground Crumbles and served over Jasmine rice. Our family talked and decided to add a second serrano pepper next time as we would enjoy the spice level being kicked up a notch. Read More
Rating: 1 stars
01/11/2017
Waaay too spicy hot! We put sour cream on it to cool it down and it still wasn't edible. I think the serrano pepper could be replaced with red pepper flakes or keep it out completely. It also needed a little something to cut the abundant tomato taste like green peas beans kale or spinach. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/24/2016
Deeeelicious! This was my first time making any curry dish from scratch because I've always been intimidated; but this dish is SO easy and tasty! Can use it as a side dish for main dishes or eat it by itself with pita chips for lunch. Very healthy!!! Love love love it! Made the recipe exactly as directed -- the only suggestion I have is to let it simmer a bit longer to let the flavors marinate -- Thank you so much for posting -- I just subscribed:):) Read More
Rating: 5 stars
09/23/2016
My whole family (small children included) LOVED this. It definitely helps to have everything prepped and ready to go before you start cooking. I did not have the pepper so made without and it tasted great. The ginger added plenty of spice. Read More