Chickpea Curry (Chhole)

Chickpea Curry (Chhole)

29 Reviews
From: EatingWell Magazine, September/October 2016

Made with convenient canned beans, this quick and healthy Indian recipe is an authentic chickpea curry that you can make in minutes. If you want an additional vegetable, stir in some roasted cauliflower florets. Serve with brown basmati rice or warm naan.

Ingredients 6 servings

for serving adjustment
Serving size has been adjusted!
Original recipe yields 6 servings
US
Metric
Nutrition per serving may change if servings are adjusted.
  • 1 medium serrano pepper, cut into thirds
  • 4 large cloves garlic
  • 1 2-inch piece fresh ginger, peeled and coarsely chopped
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped (1-inch)
  • 6 tablespoons canola oil or grapeseed oil
  • 2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • ½ teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 2¼ cups no-salt-added canned diced tomatoes with their juice (from a 28-ounce can)
  • ¾ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 15-ounce cans chickpeas, rinsed
  • 2 teaspoons garam masala
  • Fresh cilantro for garnish

Preparation

  • Active

  • Ready In

  1. Pulse serrano, garlic and ginger in a food processor until minced. Scrape down the sides and pulse again. Add onion; pulse until finely chopped, but not watery.
  2. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the onion mixture and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, 3 to 5 minutes. Add coriander, cumin and turmeric and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes.
  3. Pulse tomatoes in the food processor until finely chopped. Add to the pan along with salt. Reduce heat to maintain a simmer and cook, stirring occasionally, for 4 minutes. Add chickpeas and garam masala, reduce heat to a gentle simmer, cover and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes more. Serve topped with cilantro, if desired.

Nutrition information

  • Serving size: about 1 cup
  • Per serving: 278 calories; 15 g fat(1 g sat); 6 g fiber; 30 g carbohydrates; 6 g protein; 75 mcg folate; 0 mg cholesterol; 3 g sugars; 0 g added sugars; 260 IU vitamin A; 18 mg vitamin C; 65 mg calcium; 2 mg iron; 354 mg sodium; 356 mg potassium
  • Nutrition Bonus: Vitamin C (30% daily value)
  • Carbohydrate Servings: 2
  • Exchanges: 1 starch, 1 vegetable, ½ lean meat, 3 fat

Reviews 29

September 15, 2019
profile image
By: Lyn Brooks
This was awesome. Used two Jalapenos instead of the recommended peppers. Added whole cardamom pods. Doubled the spices. Even better the next day!
August 26, 2019
profile image
By: mercedesfreeborn
This is the first time I make the recipe and the first time I cook with chickpeas. It was not too salty for me (as others said) but the only thing is the chickpeas are really hard and I ended up letting simmer for much longer. I even cooked the chickpeas before for about 20 minutes and they were still super hard so I will try soaking them for next time. The taste is fantastic and I will definitely make again soon. I don't have a food processor so I used a grater for the ginger and a garlic press for the garlic and chopped the onion pretty small. I also used crushed tomatoes and added in some fresh ones. Overall delicious but soak your chickpeas!
April 12, 2019
profile image
By: Alyssa Morales
A very filling dish. If you have the time I highly recommend using dry chickpeas and doing a soak and long cook before adding them into the mixture in the last step. I'm not a fan of slimy chickpeas from a can, and I think it made the dish so much better. I ate it the curry in a flatbread with quinoa. Was a little spicy! Maybe next time I'll remove the seeds from the pepper.
April 04, 2019
profile image
By: Hullomel
Excellent recipe. Quick, easy, and yummy. I used a jalapeño pepper as the store didn’t have Serrano peppers. I also added a teaspoon of curry powder at others’ suggestions. And I added spinach. Served it over white basmati rice.
March 30, 2019
profile image
By: Miren
It was pretty good but I doubled the cumin and salt
March 11, 2019
profile image
By: elizabeth
Easy to make, low calorie and delicious. Really good.
January 21, 2019
profile image
By: Tiffany
This was really terrific! Like others recommended, I did add some curry powder and unfortunately had to use powdered ginger because I forgot to pick up a fresh ginger root. I also like my dishes extremely spicy, so I used far more Serrano than was called for, and still added hot sauce to my own serving at the end! All the same, it was really delicious and we will definitely make it again. I sent the recipe to our daughter in college because it was quick and easy but still had bold flavors without a lot of work. A winner!
January 18, 2019
profile image
By: Tannis
This was a really nice dish. I did add a teaspoon of curry powder as one of the reviewers suggested and it added that bit of kick so I suggest this. I made everything else in this dish as stated and did not find it too salty at all. This is a great healthy little dish. The key here is to use top quality Indian spices. I do a lot of Indian cooking and the spices are paramount to producing a good dish.
December 28, 2018
profile image
By: Beth Pedersen
Found this recipe via the 7 day vegan meal plan. It's on the menu for lunch today. I used 1 can tomatoes and 4 fresh tomatoes which I blended. I also added 2 carrots, 2 celery sticks and half a red bell pepper. I thought it was possibly over spiced when tasting it, so I added a little coconut milk powder to tone things down. It's pretty good! Thank you so much!
More Reviews