Recipe Image

Thai Chicken Satay with Spicy Peanut Sauce

  • 30 m
  • 35 m
EatingWell Test Kitchen
“Spicy peanut sauce is the perfect match for these Thai-marinated grilled chicken strips.”

Ingredients

    • Chicken
    • 3 tablespoons lime juice
    • 3 tablespoons canola oil
    • 2 teaspoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
    • 2 teaspoons fish sauce, (see Ingredient Note)
    • ½ teaspoon crushed red pepper
    • 1 pound chicken tenders
    • Peanut Sauce
    • 2 tablespoons smooth natural peanut butter
    • 2 tablespoons 'lite' coconut milk, (see Tip)
    • 1 tablespoon lime juice
    • 2 teaspoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
    • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
    • ½ teaspoon crushed red pepper, or to taste

Directions

  • 1 To prepare chicken: Whisk 3 tablespoons lime juice, oil, 2 teaspoons soy sauce, fish sauce and ½ teaspoon red pepper in a shallow dish until combined; add chicken and turn to coat. Let marinate in the refrigerator for 15 minutes.
  • 2 To prepare peanut sauce: Whisk peanut butter, coconut milk, lime juice, soy sauce, brown sugar and red pepper until smooth.
  • 3 Preheat grill to high. Thread each chicken tender onto a wooden skewer. Grill until cooked through and no longer pink in the middle, about 3 minutes per side. Serve warm or chilled with Spicy Peanut Sauce.
  • Make Ahead Tip: Cover and refrigerate the peanut sauce for up to 2 days.
  • Equipment: 12 wooden skewers (see Tip)
  • Ingredient note: Fish sauce is a pungent Southeast Asian sauce made from salted, fermented fish. You can find it in the Asian section of large supermarkets and in Asian specialty markets.
  • Tips: Refrigerate leftover coconut milk for up to 1 week or freeze for up to 2 months. It will appear separated when thawed; simply mix until smooth.
  • To prevent wooden skewers from burning on the grill, wrap the exposed portion in foil before grilling. (Contrary to popular wisdom, soaking them in water doesn't prevent them from burning.)
  • People with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity should use soy sauces that are labeled "gluten-free," as soy sauce may contain wheat or other gluten-containing sweeteners and flavors.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2019 EatingWell.com Printed From EatingWell.com 7/17/2019