Reviews 67

August 19, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Good Bye, Cliff Bars We eat a lot of energy bars in our house, always looking for something to throw in a pack that has dense nutritional value. These are by far the best I have found. I followed the recipe exactly, except for cutting the turbinado sugar in half. My husband, who is a fan of the sugary pre-packaged versions, is now a convert. Pros: Chock full of goodness Cons: None
July 26, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Feel good about eating these! So easy, so delicious! I used dried tart cherries and dried apricots, added pumpkin seeds and used agave syrup instead of honey. I also baked mine about 8 minutes just to help firm up bc they were very soft. Such a great recipe to make your own! Yes a little pricey but more than one batch (I easily got 12 bars not 8 in one batch) and that probably averages out. Plus there is something to be said about knowing what my kids are eating. Pros: Easy and tasty Cons: Not as cheap as I would like, need to make 2-3 batches to get $ worth. But that's more to eat :-)
November 04, 2012
profile image
By: SoCalLizzie
We love these! I have been looking for a breakfast bar recipe where there was no added refined sugar & when I read the changes others made to omit the sugar I thought I would try it. I did not use raisins but used dried cranberries & dried unsweetened/ unsulfured mangoes from Trader Joes. I also drizzled a little dark chocolate on top to mimic the breakfast bars I was used to eating. Delicious!!! Will make again & again! Overall healthy & w/no added preservatives & less costly which was what I was trying to accomplish. Pros: Healthy, delicious & filling
September 14, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Love 'em! I've been looking for a healthy granola bar recipe for years now that didn't taste like cardboard and these bars are so yummy, my family loved them. I'm making them tomorrow for the soccer team. Pros: healthy, tasty, food on the go
July 16, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
53 reviews for Almond-Honey Power Bar I made these yesterday & omitted the sugar completely. Instead of almond butter I used un-hulled tahini spread which worked like a treat. I used goji berries instead of the apricots & sultanas instead of currants. I followed the recipe for the rest but instead of refrigerating the tray when I was done I put it back in a 180 oven for 10 minutes which glued it altogether & made them crunchy & yum!! Oh yeh I put in a couple tablespoons of black chia just to mould it altogether, success!!
May 16, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
SO easy and delicious!! I made these for my dad because he has to keep his cholesterol down and I figured this would be a good thing for him to grab instead of something unhealthy. He LOVED them! It's so easy to add different ingredients too! Instead of puff cereal I used honey nut cheerios. They came out great Pros: quick, healthy, easy
May 01, 2012
profile image
By: erinbranham
Cheaper and Better For You Granola Bars I've made these granola bars several times now and they are now a staple on the kitchen counter. The ingredients can easily be varied - from nut butters, to dried fruit. Try Peanut butter with raisins, currants, and chopped peanuts; or cashew butter with dried cherries, apriocots, and chopped cashews. Make sure to line the pan with foil, coat with non-stick spray, and use an oil coated piece of foil to help press the mixture into the pan to make really firm bars. Pros: simple, uses whole ingredients, easy to make organic, ingredients can be varied Cons: very sweet, but when you need a sweet fix...
February 17, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Easy and tasty! These are great bars for an on-the-go breakfast or an after-school snack. My 6-yr-old loves to help me make them. I usually let the honey mixture cool a little, then pour it over the other ingredients and let him mix it up with his hands. I love that these are made with only almonds for nuts since we have a peanut allergy in the house! I usually sub ground flaxseed for whole. Pros: Easy, healthy Cons: messy to make
January 27, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Delicious, satisfying and versatile I made these according to the recipe, but w/o the extra sugar as I used the sweetened puffs, a little more salt, and no golden raisins (I used apricots). I added raw pumpkin seeds and some toasted amaranth seeds for extra protein. These held together well after they chilled for half an hour. Everyone loved them. Will be making again and trying some variations such as smooth peanut butter instead of almond butter. Pros: tasty and healthy Cons: expensive, but that can be fixed
More Reviews