Originally prepared in the wood-burning hearths of Italian homes, this peasant-style healthy vegetable soup recipe is simple to make in a modern oven. Brimming with artichokes, mushrooms, zucchini and leeks, this easy soup heats up the house as it becomes the perfect warming meal. Source: EatingWell Magazine, Soup Cookbook

Jane Black
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

    Advertisement
  • Pour oil into a large ovenproof pot (about 6-quart) and arrange potato slices in an even layer over the oil. Sprinkle with 3/4 teaspoon salt. Layer in zucchini, leeks, celery, mushrooms, artichoke hearts and 1/4 cup parsley; sprinkle with the remaining 3/4 teaspoon salt. Pour tomatoes over the vegetables and nestle Parmesan rind into them. Add water (the vegetables will not be completely submerged), cover and bring to a boil over high heat.

  • Once boiling, transfer the pot to the oven and bake, covered, until the vegetables are tender, but still firm, 1 to 1 1/4 hours. Season with pepper and serve garnished with parsley and Parmesan, if desired.

Tips

Tip: Clean leeks well to be sure they're grit-free: After slicing, place in a bowl filled with water and swish around to release any sand or soil trapped between the layers. Scoop the leeks out of the bowl with a slotted spoon, leaving any sand or soil behind in the bowl. Drain well. Repeat as needed.

Nutrition Facts

204 calories; 9.6 g total fat; 1.4 g saturated fat; 529 mg sodium. 813 mg potassium; 25.6 g carbohydrates; 6.9 g fiber; 5 g sugar; 5.2 g protein; 1290 IU vitamin a iu; 27 mg vitamin c; 149 mcg folate; 97 mg calcium; 2 mg iron; 58 mg magnesium;

Reviews (13)

Read More Reviews
13 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 4
  • 4 star values: 4
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 2
Rating: 5 stars
05/27/2019
This soup is delicious! Only a couple of small mods to the recipe: used veg broth instead of water used a 28 oz. can of tomatoes rather than 14 oz. and added a lot of pepper as well as salt between layers Baked it for 1 1/2 hours and it was perfect! I pressure-cooked some flageolet beans to accompany it because it reminds me a bit of cassoulet. It makes a huge amount--almost overflowed my Dutch oven. Read More
Rating: 1 stars
05/26/2019
Not worth the effort nor the prep time. Really lacks any acceptable flavour. I added after the fact some Vegeta seasoning (this stuff is great for anything soup vegetable or chicken based - flavours are outstanding) which helped so much in this dish. Recipes on a cal reduced diet need to be outstanding - this dish as spec d was NOT. For lunch the next day I simmered again with added crushed ginger and crushed garlic. Highly recommend adding this from the start (1 tablespoon each). If you do the above it can be a 5 star dish. Knock it out of the park and add a bone in chicken breast which you can break apart after cooked and reinsert into the soup with minimal cal impact. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
04/06/2019
After reading all the reviews I added tomato paste thyme bay leaf garlic and oregano. Make sure to salt and pepper each layer and use chicken stock NOT water. Also I made it on the stove simmering for 30 minutes. After all these changes great soup! Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
02/13/2019
Read the comments about it being bland so compensated for it. -Added thyme instead or parsley (personal hatred). -Chicken stock instead of water. -2 large cloves of garlic pressed under a knife. -And some tomato paste for a deeper flavor. -Oh yeah and some white wine cause I mean it is Mediterranean after all. After all those adjustments it came out really well. But I m only giving it a 3 star cause what s the point of using a recipe if you change so many things that you might as well make it from scratch yourself. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/07/2018
A keeper. I used 4 leeks chicken broth instead of water and 2 15-oz cans of artichoke hearts. Mine was done in 45 minutes. Delicious! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
01/07/2018
I omitted the mushrooms. I also added a diced yam and 1/4 cup of chopped green onion. I also used chopped fresh assorted heirloom tomatoes instead of canned tomatoes. I put mine in a crock pot for 1.5 hours on high. I've never had better soup. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/07/2017
This was phenominal! A little bland but I personally like it that way. I would suggest maybe adding some salt and pepper between each layer of vegetable and use chicken broth instead of water. I was going to do that but was afraid the chicken broth would overwhelm. I will have to try it next time. Love this recipe!!! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
02/23/2016
Marvelous Technique I used this oven baking technique to make three entirely different soups. I had been daunted by the small size of my slow cooker and by the stirring and sticking with range-top soups. I Googled for baked soup to verify that this technique would work and it does -- splendidly. Critics of this recipe need to learn to spice for their own tastes; learn to cook guys.;) Pros: Makes a hearty Soup Thoroughly cooks with little stirring Ingredients do not stick to pot bottom Cons: Only the energy spent to heat the oven minimal and efficient if you're already baking something Read More
Rating: 4 stars
12/31/2014
good on a cold night I used organic low sodium chicken stock instead of water also used oregano basil garlic and to kick it up crushed red pepper. What a great flavor. Pros: cooking in the oven is great Cons: can't use water Read More
Rating: 1 stars
12/14/2014
Very disappointing! So bland I had to try doctoring it with chicken broth garlic basil but nothing helped. It looked like such a promising recipe but alas.... Cons: No seasoning & no taste. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2014
3-peat After the chopping there's no effort! Artichokes are a bit pricey as listed so I added a can of artichokes that I rinsed instead. Made twice per recipe to sooth winter blah's and a mild cold and the third time to add spice I dropped in three unpeeled garlic cloves and extra pepper. Pros: hearty simple different no beans Cons: bland Read More
Rating: 2 stars
10/16/2014
Boring and Bland This was an interesting cooking method and very simple. I baked this for only about 40 minutes and that was plenty. But the flavor is very bland - not sure what to add to make it better without overhauling this completely. Garlic and spices at the very least. Pros: easy technique Cons: bland flavor Read More
Rating: 3 stars
09/21/2014
oven baking great idea This made a great filling supper. I wish I had checked the vegies sooner than an hour. I suspect they will be mushy when reheated. I may add some smoked sausage slices when serving the leftover. I had all ingredients but mushrooms so omitted them. Pros: can prep ahead of time Cons: Series overdone in hour would check at 45 minutes or make larger pieces Read More