If you like spinach-cheese pie, try these simple but elegant-looking little spinach cakes. Source: EatingWell Magazine, September/October 2008

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

    Advertisement
  • Pulse spinach in three batches in a food processor until finely chopped. Transfer to a medium bowl. Add ricotta (or cottage cheese), Parmesan, eggs, garlic, salt and pepper; stir to combine.

  • Coat 8 cups of the muffin pan with cooking spray. Divide the spinach mixture among the 8 cups (they will be very full).

  • Bake the spinach cakes until set, about 20 minutes. Let stand in the pan for 5 minutes. Loosen the edges with a knife and turn out onto a clean cutting board or large plate. Serve warm, sprinkled with more Parmesan, if desired.

Tips

Equipment: Muffin pan with 12 (1/2-cup) muffin cups

Note: Baby spinach is immature or young spinach--it's harvested earlier than large-leaved mature spinach. We like the sturdy texture of mature spinach in cooked dishes and serve tender, mild-flavored baby spinach raw or lightly wilted. Baby and mature spinach can be used interchangeably in these recipes (yields may vary slightly); be sure to remove the tough stems from mature spinach before using.

Weights & Measures 10 ounces trimmed mature spinach=about 10 cups raw 10 ounces baby spinach=about 8 cups raw

Nutrition Facts

141 calories; 7.9 g total fat; 4.1 g saturated fat; 110 mg cholesterol; 448 mg sodium. 562 mg potassium; 5.5 g carbohydrates; 1.9 g fiber; 1 g sugar; 12.9 g protein; 8316 IU vitamin a iu; 24 mg vitamin c; 182 mcg folate; 310 mg calcium; 3 mg iron; 80 mg magnesium;

Reviews (62)

Read More Reviews
65 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 46
  • 4 star values: 13
  • 3 star values: 5
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
12/02/2019
Yum oh! The only thing I tweeked was a couple of shakes if cayenne pepper. Read More
Rating: 2 stars
01/13/2019
I followed the recipe to the letter and these didn't really work out for me. I was expecting something vaguely quiche-like in texture. Instead I got spinach mush which bound together (barely) well enough to stay in a muffin-like shape. The flavor wasn't great either. This recipe needs to be significantly reworked starting with the binding. Maybe adding panko crumbs would help? Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/01/2018
These are REALLY good. Even cold -- no need to heat them up. I used low-fat cottage cheese and substituted 1/4 cup feta for 1/4 cup of the parm. I would leave out the salt next time -- the parm. is salty enough IMHO. I often substitute cayenne for regular pepper and did in this -- gives them a nice kick. Even if you fill the muffin tins up high -- they shrink down so I'd fill cups even fuller next time including tamping the mixture down a bit with the rounded side of the spoon. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/25/2017
Would make again - but ti would double or triple recipe because they came out small in my large muffin pan. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
01/05/2016
Almost too moist Delicious. Next time I may use frozen spinach so I can squeeze out some of the moisture. Other than that they are healthy delicious and easy! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
12/25/2014
Delicious and easy to prepare I made these for a holiday party. In a pinch for time I bought 2 pkgs frozen spinach and after thawing wrung the spinach in cheesecloth. I added an extra egg and 1/4 cup more ricotta. I also sprinkled a little freshly grated Parmesan on top of each cup before baking. It made 12 cakes filling the pan. Yummy! Pros: Quick dish and saves well Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
11/05/2014
I made these with homemade ricotta cheese heavy on the garlic omitted the salt and used fresh spinach and romaine lettuce since I didn't have enough spinach on hand. Turned out great. Thanks. Read More
Rating: 3 stars
04/15/2014
These are good and filling! I didn't add any salt but added some green onions. I also put in more garlic and they turned out to be really good! They are very heavy in spinach flavor so I put them on rice crackers to even it out. Pros: Easy to make Cons: needed some extra flavor Read More
Rating: 4 stars
08/01/2013
better than the frozen famous brand I used fake eggs and the fat free cottage cheese 103 cal 2.9 total fat 5.1 carb 13.1 protein Pros: easy to make Cons: could be made healthier see my comment Read More
Rating: 3 stars
07/20/2013
Nice side These are good but the recipe needs a little tweaking. No salt and 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne instead of the pepper. Also the recipe notes suggest mature not baby spinach and that may add more depth of flavor. I followed the recipe except made 6 cakes not 8 and my complaint was that it was too salty. One cake was enough for a serving. The spinach mixture gets watery fast so it should go into the muffin tins and oven right away. Once baked they were not watery at all. My husband is not big on cooked spinach and thought these were okay. Pros: easy and quick Cons: too salty Read More
Rating: 4 stars
04/08/2013
I love these especially with a dollop of sour cream on top. Make extra leftovers taste great for breakfast. And yes fresh spinach is a must Read More
Rating: 4 stars
01/27/2013
I will make this again... Used fresh spinach...didn't have parmesan or ricotta...used white cheddar and silken tofu instead. Was yummy! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
01/25/2013
Delicious I have made them several times and shared the recipe with family and friends. You can eat them cold so I always make a double batch! The only alteration I've made is that I use half Parmesan and half Mozzarella so they aren't so salty. Love these! Pros: Easy Read More
Rating: 4 stars
12/14/2012
Great and super healthy I made these as i needed something quick and healthy to make for dinner my son of 2 doesnt really like veggies but he ate it with a smile! I didnt have any parmezan cheese so i added qwark instead and some grated carrots melted some cheese on top they were awesome!! Thank you!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
08/13/2012
really yummy I made these for my two year old and husband who hate veggies. They both loved them so much that I made some for my 83 year old aunt who also doesn't like veggies. They all got eaten and my family requested more. Pros: easy Cons: none Read More
Rating: 5 stars
08/11/2012
Decadent! I used frozen spinach and won't do that again because the water content was ridiculous. I ended up lining a strainer with a coffee filter and draining but even after it seemed as though I had strained as much as I could it still was somewhat swampy when I pressed it. I ended up talking small handfuls and squeezing the bejeebers out of it....ended up with an extra 3/4 cup of spinach juice in the bowl so I'm sure if I hadn't done that the final result would have been soup. The next time I make this I'll definitely eliminate all salt. I should have paid more attention to the reviewers who mentioned it was too salty. If I used a different cheese - like swiss? - maybe it wouldn't have been such a problem. This is so thick and delicious though that I think I'll be able to convince my son-in-law to ditch his favorite spinach casserole recipe that uses Pepperidge Farm stuffing mix and replace it with this. Pros: Creamy delicious texture Cons: Recipe as stated is too salty Read More
Rating: 4 stars
07/24/2012
These were absolutely delicious. These were absolutely delicious. I used the ricotta cheese and made nine instead of eight which ended up being the perfect amount using an average muffin pan. Very much resembles a quiche. Pros: easy low calorie Read More
Rating: 4 stars
07/24/2012
These were absoulutely delicious. I used the ricatta cheese and made nine instead of eight which ended up being the perfect amount using an average muffin pan. Very much ressembles a quiche. Pros: easy low calorie Read More
Rating: 3 stars
07/08/2012
Super healthy and low-carb I used fresh baby spinach and should have squeezed out more water because after baking they were soggy on the bottom...but still very good. I followed the recipe exactly (except using cottage cheese instead of ricotta--more protein and less carbs this way) and it works out perfectly. I think next time I'll add sun-dried tomatoes. Pros: Super healthy and low-carb Cons: A little bland Read More
Rating: 3 stars
05/23/2012
Tasty Bites There is so much you can do with these little morsels. I use non-fat ricotta cheese or cottage cheese and put in chopped water chestnuts and lower fat bacon bits. It makes a delicious lunch along with a fruit salad. Pros: Tasty filling and low calories Read More
Rating: 4 stars
02/19/2012
This is a great recipe as-is but we love it with some feta sprinkled on top in place of the extra parm! It complements the spinach very well. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Substitute sour cream for ricotta cheese or low-fat cottage cheese and it will be even better. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made a double order of these for Canadian Thanksgiving dinner yesterday with low fat Ricotta cheese and they were a High Fives hit with everyone in the family and this recipe had to passed along for upcoming dinner. I have left overs so I am thinking that these will be fabulous used in an Omelette or along side an omelette instead of homefries. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I love almost anything baked in a muffin tin but I'm crazy for these (healthier than most muffins too!) I make them with cottage cheese on a bi-weekly basis during the winter. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
These things are delicious! I made a batch yesterday and they are gone already. I used frozen spinach and cottage cheese and they turned out wonderfully! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Does anyone think that frozen spinach would work in this recipe?TIA Kathy Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made these with frozen spinach- I unthawed a box and then let it drain and squeezed out any extra moisture- then prepared as usual. Baked them in the muffin cups and froze in two's- delicious healthy and easy! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Works fine with frozen spinach - make sure to squeeze extra water out of it. Also a little hot sauce or hot pepper flakes are a good addition. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This could be good if you added some extra seasonings but just following the recipe I was left with little more than muffin-shaped limp spinach. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
they could have been better if they weren't so watery!!! i even used FRESH spinach!!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I use frozen spinach and fat-free cottage cheese and it works great. I make these every couple of weeks. My husband and 4 yr old love them. Fantastic recipe!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Super easy healthy fast. Especially if you use frozen chopped spinach just thaw train and mix - no extra cleaning of a food processor or extra time chopping. Works great as finger food. Add some nutmeg to enhance the flavor of the spinach (and definitely some red pepper flakes). Great side dish appetizer or use to satisfy evening munchies. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
These have been a favorite from the time my Sept/Oct 2008 magazine arrived. We enjoyed the Spinach version so much that with the arrival of Spring last year I started making them with winter greens which were equally well received! I have to make extra when I serve them at dinner parties for my friend to take home...along with the recipe. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I use well-drained frozen spinach and fat-free cottage cheese. Have made with 4 egg whites instead of the 2 whole eggs and it works just as well. I also add 1 tsp. dried dill weed for additional spice. I love this recipe! It's delicious and versatile; it goes with so many meals - a side for dinner a perfect brunch food or pair it with some fruit and vegetarian sausage and suddenly you've worked a serving of vegetables into breakfast! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I L-O-V-E these! I use frozen spinach so I can control the moisture better. I also add toasted ground flax seed - and red pepper flakes. Simple and delicious! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made these and they taste good but they are very watery. I used fresh spinach and cottage cheese. Any tips on making them less watery? Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Should i pulse the spinach before measuring it or measure it raw? Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I definitely agree with the watery part. I put them back in the oven in hopes they dry up. I added extra salt garlic and threw in some garlic powder. Pretty tasty. Serena Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
The only addition this recipe really needs is a big spoonful of harissa (spicy red pepper paste) mixed into the spinach-cheese base. The harissa provides a huge flavor boost! Other than that I used lowfat cottage cheese and frozen spinach that was not just drained but squeezed of water - no problems with too much moisture. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Good but a little bland. Will add some red pepper flakes and garlic powder next time. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I have a very similar recipe made in a pie pan... I stick a knife in the center (the same as you would to test a pumpkin or custard pie) and when it comes out clean I know it's cooked properly. I also vary the cheese I use... feta is good. Also sometimes reduce the egg and add a 1/4 of extra virgin olive oil for a different taste. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
EASY AND HEALTHY! I'LL TRY IT! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made these for Thanksgiving Dinner and they were a huge hit plus the left overs were fabulous the next day. My mouth is watering reading this recipe again and on my "to make" list for Saturday Night Date Night this week. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Delicious! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
awesome and healthy Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Since I too augmented the recipe with other spices (italian spices and pinch of cayenne pepper) I gave this a 'good' instead of 'great' rating. They weren't watery but then again I made a 1/2 recipe and with the extra spices they were very good. I'd add some nutmeg the next time. And I think they need to be baked a little longer so they get a little more brown on top. A nice healthy veggie alternative. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I have not try this recipe yet I will and it sounds delicious and I can not wait to try it Thank You. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I too squeezed out the spinach and used low fat cottage cheese and additional spices. But rather than using a muffin tin I used a pie/tart plate and cut into wedges. Perhaps the additional space allowed the moisture to evaporate more readily. This made a nice addition to my lunch the following day. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This is very good but a little too much Parmesan Cheese! So add a pinch less! Otherwise it is awesome! Rae Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Delicious! I use greek yogurt for the ricotta frozen spinach (thawed and drained) and 1/3 cup of parmesan. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
looks like Stouffer's which I adore & is pricey. I am definately going to make this! Thanks! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
These are AMAZING! I've never had them turn out watery and I've made them several times. I use baby spinach and try it well in a salad spinner before putting it in the food processor. Serving them with ripe red and yellow tomatoes on the same plate is a lovely (and delicious) presentation. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I thought these were awesome. I've made them several times and now since I need to be gluten free these are a great standby for dinner or even lunches. http://glutenlessmaximus.blogspot.com Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
We had this last night and I just finished eating the leftovers for my lunch! This dish is fantastic -- super easy to make and it has a wonderful taste! We followed the directions exactly and it came out perfectly. After using the food processor on the spinach it took 10-12 paper towels to get the moisture out of the spinach but the result was heavenly!!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
These are WONDERFUL!! Used the leftover in scrambled eggs with a little feta. Also made the original recipe and added chopped sauteed mushrooms mild green chilis and jack cheese instead of parm for fabulous enchilada stuffing. Really great! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
If anyone has frozen these how do you reheat them? Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Easy recipe and everyone liked it. I added extra pepper to spice it up. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
VERY tasty and easy to make! I used frozen chopped spinach thawed and drained/squeezed well and I added a pinch of nutmeg. Also when they were done a pinch of shredded parm on top and browned them under the broiler. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
A little alteration... I'm using a very limited kitchen to make this so the recipe was different but still DELICIOUS! I used grated organic sharp cheddar for the parm and almond milk for the ricotta. I had no garlic so I used seasoning salt sea salt & chives. I let them bake for 20 minutes and didn't have a muffin pan so I used a regular brownie pan and just shaped them with my hands (which was messy and difficult but worked). I used a fork to test the consistency after 20 minutes and they were perfect! I just had one and they're so delicious. 5 stars because although I didn't follow the recipe verbatim it's a stand-up dish that can taste wonderful with alterations:) Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Delicious! I made the recipe with chopped drained frozen spinach and added a pinch of nutmeg and it was delicious! I have gotten great reviews from friends! Leftovers are a great breakfast food! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Love these! I always have frozen spinach on hand so I took 10 ounces of that and drained it very well chopped it finely then proceeded with the recipe. It seemed a little light on flavor so I used double the garlic and Parmesan Reggiano for a more robust flavor. Delicious! Pros: Easy Cons: Fresh spinach not necessary Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Spinach Cakes using Cottage Cheese I tried out this recipe today. My one change was to add 1/8 tsp nutmeg and used low-fat cottage cheese. The spinach cakes turned out very good though a little bland with the cottage cheese. I will make these again in the future but will be sure to use ricotta cheese. Also the nutmeg was very light in taste and I will probably try 1/4 tsp instead. Also to add more flavor increase the garlic to at least 2 cloves. I may add a small shallot also as I like garlic and shallots with wilted spinach. Pros: Good side dish with meat or fish Cons: Should have used ricotta cheese Read More