Recipe Image

Sesame-Honey Tempeh & Quinoa Bowl

  • 30 m
  • 30 m
EatingWell Test Kitchen
“Here we toss tempeh with a honey-sesame sauce and serve it over quinoa and shredded carrots for a satisfying vegetarian meal. Serve with sesame breadsticks.”

Ingredients

    • Quinoa & Carrot Slaw
    • 1½ cups water
    • ¾ cup quinoa, rinsed
    • 2 cups grated carrots (about 3 large)
    • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
    • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds, toasted (see Tip)
    • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
    • 1 tablespoon reduced-sodium soy sauce
    • Sesame-Honey Tempeh
    • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
    • 2 8-ounce packages tempeh (see Note), crumbled into bite-size pieces
    • 3 tablespoons honey
    • 3 tablespoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
    • 2 tablespoons water
    • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
    • 2 scallions, sliced

Directions

  • 1 To prepare quinoa: Bring 1½ cups water to a boil in a small saucepan. Add quinoa and return to a boil. Reduce to a low simmer, cover and cook until the water is absorbed, 10 to 14 minutes. Uncover and let stand.
  • 2 To prepare carrot slaw: Meanwhile, combine carrots, rice vinegar, sesame seeds, 1 tablespoon oil and 1 tablespoon soy sauce in a medium bowl. Set aside.
  • 3 To prepare tempeh: Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add tempeh and cook, stirring frequently, until beginning to brown, 7 to 9 minutes.
  • 4 Combine honey, 3 tablespoons soy sauce, 2 tablespoons water and cornstarch in a small bowl. Add to the pan and cook, stirring, until the sauce has thickened and coats the tempeh, about 1 minute.
  • 5 Divide the quinoa among 4 bowls and top each with ½ cup carrot slaw and ¾ cup tempeh mixture. Sprinkle with scallions.
  • Tip: To toast sesame seeds, place in a small dry skillet and cook over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until fragrant and lightly browned, 2 to 4 minutes.
  • Ingredient Note: Look for tempeh near refrigerated tofu in natural-foods stores and many large supermarkets.
  • People with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity should use soy sauces that are labeled "gluten-free," as soy sauce may contain wheat or other gluten-containing sweeteners and flavors.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2018 EatingWell.com Printed From EatingWell.com 2/19/2018