This makeover of a Midwestern classic tops layers of lettuce, peas, bell pepper and tomatoes with a creamy, tangy dressing. The salad stays fresh underneath until it's served and gets even better when held overnight. Source: EatingWell Magazine, May/June 2009

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Place lettuce in a large bowl. Layer peas, bell pepper, tomatoes, celery and scallions on top.

    Advertisement
  • Whisk yogurt, mayonnaise, vinegar, sugar to taste, garlic powder, salt and pepper in a medium bowl until smooth. Spread the dressing evenly over the top of the salad (an offset spatula is handy for this, if you have one). Sprinkle with cheese, basil and bacon. Serve room temperature or chilled.

Tips

Make Ahead Tip: Cover and refrigerate for up to 1 day. Sprinkle with basil just before serving.

Nutrition Facts

121 calories; 6.5 g total fat; 2 g saturated fat; 13 mg cholesterol; 324 mg sodium. 289 mg potassium; 11.4 g carbohydrates; 2 g fiber; 5 g sugar; 5.1 g protein; 3971 IU vitamin a iu; 31 mg vitamin c; 77 mcg folate; 107 mg calcium; 1 mg iron; 22 mg magnesium; 2 g added sugar;

Reviews (19)

Read More Reviews
19 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 18
  • 4 star values: 0
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
11/29/2014
Wonderful side dish for our family gathering. I made this recipe for Thanksgiving for my family and everyone ranted and raved over it and wanted the recipe. I used plain nonfat greek yogurt and I used sweetener instead of sugar. I'm going to make it again very soon. Pros: It looks so pretty and appetizing in my glass trifle bowl. Read More
Rating: 3 stars
05/04/2014
Delicious salad I made this easy salad yesterday. The salad was beautiful when finished. I used the veggies in the recipe and added radishes. I followed the recipe when I made the dressing and loved the taste. I did find the dressing to be too thin. I like to make this salad to eat on for a few days. I found today that the lettuce was wilted. This is delicious salad to make and serve right away. Next time I will keep the dressing separate and put it on the salad when I am ready to eat it. Pros: The dressing had a great taste and paired well with the veggies. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
06/29/2013
Delicious and simple! Unlike most veggie salads this one is better made ahead. Very convenient. Tastes great and is easy to put together. I made it for an office function and liked it so much I made it again for a family gathering the next week. Pros: Make ahead Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
06/17/2013
Loved it I have started making this salad as a side dish for everyday meals as well. Pros: good veggies nice dressing can make ahead for parties Read More
Rating: 5 stars
12/22/2012
Never Fail! I have made this several times and it never fails to please! Don't have all the vegetables in the recipe never fear just use what you have on hand! The dressing is heavenly! Pros: Everything! Cons: Nothing! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
This is an incredible salad! I have made it several times for dinner parties bbq's etc. It is quick easy and people rave over it. I have added toasted nuts black olives the possibilities are endless. The best part is that you can make it the night before! Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I had to go to a cookout last night and we all wanted to make things that were somewhat healthy. I made this salad and everyone loved it. The basil was a great addition and the dressing was actually better than the full-fat full-cal traditional version I've always made. Plus it uses Romaine instead of iceberg which has many more nutrients. The old version is going out and this is going to be my new standby for the 7-layer salad. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made this for a Memorial Day barbecue and it was a hit. So easy to make and so fresh and tasty. I thought there wouldn't be enough dressing but it was the perfect amount. The only change I made was to use chopped smoked almonds instead of bacon to make it vegetarian-friendly. Even those who claim to hate seven-layer salad liked this. It's my new go-to potluck salad! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This is a really really good recipe. I took it to a cookout and everyone was talking about how good it is. I understand it's a salad but I think it was a little lettuce heavy and a little light on toppings. Next time i would probably keep the amount of toppings the same but reduce the lettuce to around 6 cups. I also used Hormel real bacon pieces instead of having to buy a whole package of bacon for three pieces. The dressing on top is also really delicious and definitely use fresh basil on top. It's a big part of the final flavor. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Made this for an end of school staff party. Big Hit! I agree that you could do with a little less lettuce but over all great tast and a real show stopper! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made this salad last year for my Fourth of July party and everyone loved it. I will definitely make this again. Suzanne Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Outstanding. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I'm an Iowa who grew up with the full-fat version of the seven layer salad and I must say that we really enjoyed this at our house. The only changes I made to the recipe were to use 3 colors of bell pepper instead of just yellow (food rainbow!) and a tad more celery (we adore celery at our house though). Throwing in some purple lettuces wouldn't hurt either. The dressing was perfect the way it was; I didn't need to change anything about it. The flavor isn't exactly like the old-time seven layer salad. It's different enough that you can't "smile serve it and shut up" but it holds its own as a new recipe twisting on an old favorite. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This is a great summer salad! Instead of plain yogurt I used Greek Vanilla yogurt and it added a bit of sweetness that you would never expect! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Even my foody friends loved this. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
I made this salad for my nutrition class and they loved it. Many are vegetarians so I made two versions one that omitted the bacon. The creaminess of the dressing is wonderful and much lighter than the traditional version made with all mayonnaise. This is really delicious. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
A Stay-Crisp Salad to make ahead to rave reviews! My only changes were that I added some chopped cauliflower and I used some olive-oil based low fat mayonnaise. Also I left a center circle without cheese and made a pretty flower out of quartered tomatoes and green onion. It kept well without wilting. Pros: Crunchy colorful and healthy with lots of flavors Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Great flavor This was so easy and when I first made it the salad was just gorgeous. I used fresh organic sweet peppers from my CSA/farm share and added some broccoli. I subbed reduced fat Veganaise for the mayo because I like the taste and honey for the sugar and I'm wondering if that is what caused it to be so watery? I also subbed Canadian bacon for the regular as that's all I had. Next time I will wait to add the dressing and I will add more broccoli because it was delish! When I brought it to work the next day the lettuce had deflated and there was lots of water in the bottom. I just transferred bowls and was good to go! Pros: Super Easy Cons: Got very watery after making the day before Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Seven Layer Salad Loved it. Pros: Easy easy easy to make and can be made a day ahead! Cons: None Read More