Recipe Image

Szechuan Tofu & Green Bean Stir-Fry

  • 30 m
  • 30 m
EatingWell Test Kitchen
“This spicy vegetarian stir-fry is a great way to use green beans when they're bountiful and inexpensive at the supermarket. You can also try it with other vegetables, such as broccoli or peppers, just make sure to cut them into small pieces so that they cook quickly. Coating the tofu in cornstarch before you cook it gives it a light crust.”

Ingredients

    • ½ cup water, divided
    • ¼ cup reduced-sodium soy sauce
    • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
    • 2 teaspoons Chinkiang vinegar (see Note) or balsamic vinegar
    • 2 teaspoons sugar
    • ¼- ½ teaspoon crushed red pepper, or to taste
    • 1 teaspoon plus 2 tablespoons cornstarch, divided
    • 1 14-ounce package extra-firm tofu, drained
    • 2 tablespoons canola oil, divided
    • 4 cups green beans, trimmed and cut in half
    • 4 cloves garlic, minced
    • 2 teaspoons minced fresh ginger

Directions

  • 1 Whisk ¼ cup water, soy sauce, tomato paste, vinegar, sugar, crushed red pepper to taste and 1 teaspoon cornstarch in a small bowl. Set aside. Cut tofu into ½- to ¾-inch cubes and pat dry. Toss the tofu in a bowl with the remaining 2 tablespoons cornstarch to coat.
  • 2 Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a wok or large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the tofu and spread out across the surface of the pan. Let cook undisturbed for 2 minutes. Gently turn and stir. Continue cooking, stirring occasionally, until lightly browned and crispy, 2 to 3 minutes more. Transfer to a plate.
  • 3 Reduce heat to medium. Add the remaining 1 tablespoon oil to the pan. Add green beans, garlic and ginger; cook, stirring constantly, for 1 minute. Add the remaining ¼ cup water, cover and cook until the beans are crisp-tender, 2 to 4 minutes. Stir the reserved soy sauce mixture and pour it over the green beans. Cook, stirring, until thickened, about 1 minute. Add the tofu and cook, stirring, until heated through, about 1 minute more.
  • Ingredient note: Chinkiang is a dark, slightly sweet vinegar. It is available in many Asian specialty markets. If unavailable, balsamic vinegar is an acceptable substitute.
  • People with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity should use soy sauces that are labeled "gluten-free," as soy sauce may contain wheat or other gluten-containing sweeteners and flavors.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2019 EatingWell.com Printed From EatingWell.com 10/15/2019