Pureed summer squash makes a delicious base for this summery squash and corn soup. Start your meal with the soup or enjoy it as a light lunch. Fresh thyme and briny feta cheese give it fabulous flavor. For a variation, try the soup with any herb you have on hand or goat cheese in place of feta. Source: EatingWell Magazine, July/August 2009

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add shallot and cook, stirring, 1 minute. Add squash and 1 teaspoon herbs and cook, stirring occasionally, until the squash starts to soften, 3 to 5 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Add broth and salt; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer and cook until the squash is soft and mostly translucent, about 5 minutes more. Transfer to a blender and puree until smooth. (Use caution when pureeing hot liquids.) Return the soup to the pan and stir in corn. Bring to a simmer over medium heat and cook, stirring occasionally, until the corn is tender, 3 to 5 minutes more. Remove from the heat; stir in lemon juice. Serve garnished with the remaining 2 teaspoons herbs and feta.

Tips

Make Ahead Tip: Cover and refrigerate for up to 2 days.

Kitchen Tip: To remove corn from the cob, stand an uncooked ear of corn on its stem end in a shallow bowl and slice the kernels off with a sharp, thin-bladed knife. If making a soup, after cutting off the kernels, you can reverse the knife and use the dull side to press down the length of the ear to push out the rest of the corn and its milk.

Nutrition Facts

109 calories; 5.7 g total fat; 1.7 g saturated fat; 6 mg cholesterol; 448 mg sodium. 491 mg potassium; 12.1 g carbohydrates; 2 g fiber; 5 g sugar; 5 g protein; 401 IU vitamin a iu; 23 mg vitamin c; 54 mcg folate; 56 mg calcium; 1 mg iron; 36 mg magnesium;

Reviews (24)

Read More Reviews
24 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 18
  • 4 star values: 5
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
10/12/2018
Was very easy but a bit bland. I added a bit of cayenne some turmeric (we all need more) garlic powder and plenty of fresh ground pepper. Tip: I pureed with my immersion blender so no need to remove hot liquid from pan. Tip: Keep the seeds and roast them in the oven. 275 for 15-20 minutes (more for crunchy). I added a Harissa olive oil (spicy) and sprinkled with a mexican spice - tajin (lime/spice). Read More
Rating: 5 stars
07/23/2014
squash Can I substitute normal squash to summer squash what should I do Read More
Rating: 5 stars
07/21/2014
Really good I made this soup today for lunch and it was so so good. The only things I changed would be adding dry herbs instead of fresh and using mozzarella instead of feta both because that was what I had on hand. Still really tasty though. Pros: tastes great healthy low calorie vegetarian Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
08/17/2013
Feta? Did I miss when you are supposed to add the feta? I'm making it now and see what to do with the unused portion of the feta at the end. Oh well I'll wing it. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
07/29/2012
Very tasty and healthy Used 1 can cream corn instead of fresh corn also used dried herbs instead of fresh added some shredded left over chicken...turned out perfect. Good consistency and very tasty. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
07/25/2012
This was very good. Just got done making a batch of it. Had some for lunch asked DH is he wanted some. Well there is none to put away. I will have to make a double batch next time. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
06/04/2012
Wonderful summer soup! My husband (who hates squash) LOVED it! Using my food processor to puree the squash and onion before finishing the soup made it so rich without the stringy texture of squash! The feta was wonderful and bright. The only thing I changed was using dried herbs instead of fresh and I did not add the salt. The salt was not needed thanks to the feta and herbs:) Save yourself the sodium intake and leave it out! Pros: Low-calorie less than 30 minutes to make Read More
Rating: 4 stars
01/26/2012
This soup was delicious. The corn added a nice sweetness and crunch to the soup. The soup would probably be more filling if a protein was added to it...maybe some chicken? Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This soup is delicious...that is MY version in which I substituted some of the copious amounts of zucchini I grew for the squash. So I'd have to rename it something like Emerald Zucchini & Corn Soup.:) I've already made a second batch because the first was so good! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Fantastic. Made the recipe as is with no adjustments. I've made it multiple times with both homemade and store bought chicken stock. Both versions came out amazing. My family totally loves this soup and often highly recommend it to friends and family (who in turn love it). Only (only) downside for me is that I have to double to quadruple what the recipe calls for (because it is honestly that good) so I have to do math. Oh! and the cheese is also key to bring the soup together don't forget that part! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This soup is delicious and so easy (use an immersion blender!) My only complaint is that is doesn't make enough...double or triple the recipe or you'll find yourself making more very quickly! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This is SO GOOD! Summer in a bowl. I make quadruple batches too and I have frozen it successfully. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This was suprisingly good and an easy way to use up summer squash that most of my family usually will not eat. I did add a pat of butter...yum! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This soup is delicious. I used butternut squash instead. I cannot stop eating it. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Can't stop eating it. I love it. I used butternut squash instead. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Wonderful flavors (I may be biased since I am a feta fanatic:P) easy to prepare and healthy! I will try the zucchini substitutions suggested by a commenter since I am sure to make this again (and again). Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
As a NON-fan of zucchini I am a HUGE fan of this recipe! Thank-you for providing such a simple means of getting the family to enjoy this nutritious veggie in such a delicious fashion:) Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Really delicious. I'm watching my fat so I went without the cheese. I also used fat-free chicken broth and added a splash of hot sauce. Really wonderful. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Super tasty soup and a great way to use up summer squash! I didn't have a shallot so I subsituted a mild yellow onion and I also used fresh sage as my herb. Both subsitutions worked great. My husband commented that this soup was so good that we have to stop giving away the extra zucchini from our garden and just make vats of this soup:). Next time I will double the recipe. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
This ia AMAZING!!! Super fast easy and sooooo tasty!!!!! You could really build on this by adding grilled shrimp smoked ham or even throwing in whatever leftover veggies you have on hand. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
This recipe turned out great! Instead of fresh squash I thawed a bag of frozen yellow squash by running water over it and used it just as the recipe said. I used dried herbs since that's all I had but put about half of the amount called for. The texture of this soup is great! Thick but not too thick. It only made about three servings for me though so you may want to double it if you're feeding more people. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
I like this recipe so much that I make a double batch every time. I also like to serve it alongside Eating Well's Lemony Lentil Salad with Feta. It's the perfect summer soup & salad meal. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Delicious! Definitely the best soup I've tasted!! This was a fabulous recipe!! I added 1tbs of garlic to the shallot. I was tempted to add onion as well but I resisted. I'm glad I did because it would have taken away from the lovely taste of this recipe! I used dried oregano instead of fresh because it was what I had on hand. Then I used garlic salt and garlic pepper (can you tell I love garlic?) instead of the salt and used 2 tbs of butter. In the end I used fresh chives instead of the remaining oregano and it complimented the corn beautifully. I will be making this soup every week!! Thanks so much for sharing such a delicious and low calorie recipe!! Read More
Rating: 3 stars
10/29/2011
A good soup This was a good soup (i was skeptical after making eatingwell's cucumber soup) but it wasn't as tasty as the picture makes it look. Didn't have as much flavor as I would have liked. May or may not make again. If I make this again i'll play more with the seasonings. Read More