Reviews 26

March 10, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
try adding similar flavors Try adding similar flavors. i used half pinto half black beans from a can, drained and rinsed. if you find them dry try using a little lime juice, it complements it well since your adding guaq to it anyways. i also left out the 3tbsp of cornmeal and refridgerated the mixture for an hour and then added the cornmeal and then shaped and made the patties. i highly enjoyed these and will never go back to store bought again! Pros: great flavor Cons: squeezed out of bun
November 07, 2011
profile image
By: Becky
Too much work for little flavor! Dry, even tho I read reviews and added bean liquid. My easy to please husband asked me not to make again!
April 01, 2011
profile image
By: LaurenA
Very tasty! I'm eating this right now and am really enjoying it. I used canned pinto beans (rinsed and well drained) and I used pre-ground cumin. I bought smoked paprika specifically for this recipe....I've never used it before...and I have to say, if you're going to make this recipe, definitely get the smoked paprika. The smoky flavor really comes through in the burgers. I'm eating mine with guacamole and mixed greens on an Arnold Sandwich Thin and its great.
August 31, 2010
profile image
By: EatingWell User
We made these last night and they were very tasty and they blew away the store-bought versions. The guac had plenty of flavor and the burgers stayed together when cooking. We used a large pan and only cooked three at a tie so there was plenty of room to get the flipper under each patty. We followed the directions and they came out great!
June 16, 2010
profile image
By: EatingWell User
I'm eating this right now! It is DELICIOUS! I halved the recipe because I'm onyl one person. I had zero problems with it falling apart, but I'm sure I let the bean patties refrigerate longer than 20 mins so that might have had something to do with it. I also didn't have smoked paprika or whole cumin seeds so I had to just use regular paprika and regular pre-ground cumin. I used canned pintos rinsed very well. I left out the onion in the guacamole because I was too lazy to chop some up but It still turned out wonderful. I put too much cilantro in the recipe too, but its only because I LOVE the stuff! GREAT recipe...got leftovers :)
May 05, 2010
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Well, I'm not sure how to review this one. So far every recipe from this website has been 100% amazing! This one, probably amazing to those who seek SUPER healthy tasting meals, I prefer mine to be on the healthy side but not taste like it, hehe : ) I think the quinoa is probably the culprit of the super healthy tasting part, so who knows, maybe try it with rice?? They did turn out for me though, as far as the staying together part. I used canned blacked beans and didn't drain them, just poured them straight into the pan, i also used a tiny bit of the quinoa water when I was combining it all. But yeah, they stayed together perfectly fine in round little burgers! Good luck, they are good, just not excellent, probably won't make again : (
April 24, 2010
profile image
By: joy314
Quite delicious! I found the mixture a bit dry and added some of the bean cooking liquid to moisten it slightly....probably no more than 1/3 cup. Will definitely make again. Although I haven't done it, I'm thinking that one could probably substitute brown rice or other cooked grain for the quinoa if you don't have it on hand.
January 24, 2010
profile image
By: EatingWell User
I really feel sorry for the family of the person who doesn't want to take the time to prepare these and will buy the premade store bought (salt and soy filled processed crud) stuff. Healthy meals made from whole foods take a little time and my family is worth it.
January 09, 2010
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Like other people, my burgers completely fell apart. I had to eat them with a spoon. I don't mind making things that are time consuming, but it is disappointing when they don't turn out. The taste was decent.
More Reviews