Reviews 81

May 10, 2017
profile image
By: vvvvv
I love this recipe! I cook just for myself, and I don't even mind eating it 4 days in a row. Following some of the comments, I used some lime in place of some of the vinegar. I also agree with a commenter that it needs close to double the slaw mix (and perhaps a little more dressing). I added chiles to make it spicier and kept the oil at 1 tbsp even tho I added more of the other ingredients. I also added 1.5-2 oz thinly sliced chicken breast. I was able to keep the avocado mix lefotvers fresh but putting it in a dish and squeezing lime on top. Then I tightly wrapped it with sara wrap and put it inside some foil. Maybe that's overkill but it is still a lovely green 24 hours later! The only con is hand grating the carrots makes a serious mess, and I will just buy it pre-shredded next time.
April 04, 2017
profile image
By: susan johnson
Actually I stuck to the recipe pretty consistently and was impressed with the bright, intense colors from the cole slaw. I used the blender, on the slaw mixture and I got tired of pieces and bunches getting stuck- so I peeled the carrot. When I got to the bean-avocado part I put the beans in a gal.zip lock bag, took my trusty rolling pin out and smashed them all (and the avocado) in a couple of minutes spent rolling it across the bag. My husband and I each made his own-but were still taken by the festive look-once they were done. I can see these being used as in a pot luck with a southwestern theme. We will have it during the hot summer days.
March 31, 2017
profile image
By: Sue Labelle
This is/was delicious! I'm eating it now! Added a smidgen of lime juice to avocado bean mixture and black pepper. Will definitely make again!
March 22, 2017
profile image
By: Sarah
Delicious, made it for dinner. I don't know if it would be good for a packed lunch though... I would imagine the avocado would go brown and the wrap would get soggy.
March 13, 2017
profile image
By: Sheri D. Maple
It's an easy and tasty recipe. I forgot to buy some chipotle chiles and added a pinch of cayenne pepper that gave it a little heat but blended well with the other ingredients. I would make this again.
March 03, 2017
profile image
By: Laura Gayden
Mads this tonight. Could be a little spicier. But over all delicious. Easy and cheap
September 21, 2016
profile image
By: terridigby
Really good! The avocado & white bean spread calms the spicy cabbage filling. I would add more canned chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, just because we like it spicy. I would also double the cabbage filling. The recipe makes plenty of the avocado & white bean spread, but nowhere near enough filling.
April 21, 2016
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Great even with no cheese This was a big hit at our house, even though I left out the cheese and the oil to make it healthier. I used the substitution mentioned at the top of the recipe for the canned chipotles (ground chipotles + extra vinegar), but mine didn't have very much kick, so we ended up adding a mild tomatillo sauce to our wraps to amp up the flavor. Super healthy, and so light, yummy. and refreshing.
January 18, 2016
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Restaurant/Deli Comparable I initially planned to make this for my meal and my husband would have leftovers, but when he tasted it he wanted one too! I had most of the ingredients at home so just had to buy the fresh avocado and wraps. I used spinach/vegetable wrap. This is going in my favorites recipe folder! Pros: Quick/easy to make, great combo of ingredients, versatile as you can add whatever you like Cons: just had to add a little fresh ground pepper
More Reviews