Reviews 86

November 06, 2017
profile image
By: Barb
I'm giving this one star because there is no brand of wrap specified -- one Aladdin Bakers Gourmet sandwich wrap has 310 calories, so clearly the calorie count for this sandwich depends heavily on what bread you use.
August 22, 2017
profile image
By: Angela
WOW! I am new to eating a cleaner diet and was looking forward to trying this recipe. I did change two things. I used Olive oil in place of the Canola and I used fresh Lime juice in place of the vinegar as seen in the reviews. This is both delicious and satisfying....I would eat it again for dinner if I weren't watching my fat intake. YUM, YUM, YUM!
July 09, 2017
profile image
By: James K. Hyde
This is awesome! Made it just as stated with probably an extra teaspoon of onion by accident but love onion. Very first recipe as a vegetarian and I am very pleased...thank you!
June 22, 2017
profile image
By: Shauntel
My husband and 11 year old picky eater loved it! I left the beans whole and warmed slightly since my daughter will only eat what she can identify and thinks salads will end her life. She needed something warm with this meal combination. I left out the cheese and used extra virgin olive oil instead. As well, I mixed chopped tomatoes and lime juice with the avocado. I made enough for our lunches tomorrow. Yummy and will repeat this recipe many times.
May 31, 2017
profile image
By: veggielover
I made this almost as written, no cheese or cilantro, although I wish I had the cilantro. It was very delicious, fresh and filling. I blended the avocado and beans in my food processor. This is the kind of recipe you can play with. I think I'll add lemon or lime instead of the vinegar, and maybe a little garlic. I even thought of layering the ingredients on a plate and serving with pita chips.
May 10, 2017
profile image
By: vvvvv
I love this recipe! I cook just for myself, and I don't even mind eating it 4 days in a row. Following some of the comments, I used some lime in place of some of the vinegar. I also agree with a commenter that it needs close to double the slaw mix (and perhaps a little more dressing). I added chiles to make it spicier and kept the oil at 1 tbsp even tho I added more of the other ingredients. I also added 1.5-2 oz thinly sliced chicken breast. I was able to keep the avocado mix lefotvers fresh but putting it in a dish and squeezing lime on top. Then I tightly wrapped it with sara wrap and put it inside some foil. Maybe that's overkill but it is still a lovely green 24 hours later! The only con is hand grating the carrots makes a serious mess, and I will just buy it pre-shredded next time.
April 04, 2017
profile image
By: susan johnson
Actually I stuck to the recipe pretty consistently and was impressed with the bright, intense colors from the cole slaw. I used the blender, on the slaw mixture and I got tired of pieces and bunches getting stuck- so I peeled the carrot. When I got to the bean-avocado part I put the beans in a gal.zip lock bag, took my trusty rolling pin out and smashed them all (and the avocado) in a couple of minutes spent rolling it across the bag. My husband and I each made his own-but were still taken by the festive look-once they were done. I can see these being used as in a pot luck with a southwestern theme. We will have it during the hot summer days.
March 31, 2017
profile image
By: Sue Labelle
This is/was delicious! I'm eating it now! Added a smidgen of lime juice to avocado bean mixture and black pepper. Will definitely make again!
March 22, 2017
profile image
By: Sarah
Delicious, made it for dinner. I don't know if it would be good for a packed lunch though... I would imagine the avocado would go brown and the wrap would get soggy.
More Reviews