Reviews 17

February 09, 2013
profile image
By: meLoveToBake
Tasty and Easy This made a lot. Hubby and I had a bowl and there were 6 lunch containers leftover! When I make this again I will use kale instead of spinach. I prefer spinach less wilted, so kale would be better, I think. I also will substitute quinoa for the barley, just for the nutrition. My only criticism is that it will leave a half box of stock, which doesn't keep long once open. To avoid that I used one box of stock and 2 cups of water. It was still very good. Pros: tasty, easy, big servings, healthy Cons: 1.5 boxes of veggie stock
February 05, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Tasty and so easy! I was very pleasantly surprised with how this soup turned out. Based upon a few of the reviews I read, I did make a few adjustments but overall it was great. I used about half a small can of tomato paste to thicken the brought. I also used chicken stock instead of veggie. And last, I added some seared sliced Italian chicken sausage to boost the protein content. I was so impressed with how easy, tasty, and filling this recipe was. Pros: Simple, quick, one-pot
January 28, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Good Vegetarian option The soup was good. Not outstanding. I like the healthy factor to it and enjoyed the spinach and cheese added. The one thing I would change would be to add a couple tbls of tomato paste to the broth to up the umph factor. Pros: Easy to make Cons: Broth needed more body
January 16, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Best Bean Soup This soup was way over the top. I was wary of the amount of onion and garlic but don't skimp on those. The fennel really worked to add flavor too. Hubby said this is a keeper and that's a real compliment from him. I paired this with the open face tuna melts. Made a delicious meal although we agreed the soup was so filling we didn't need the sandwich. Pros: Fast and Easy
January 13, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Easy & Delish! I've been dying to make this soup since my Jan/Feb issue came. Looked at the reviews posted before making it today. Always helpful, so I'm posting mine. This soup was super easy and it is full of flavor. I did not use the full 5 cloves of garlic- that seemed like a lot. I found diced tomatoes with chipotle and used those to add a bit more spice. I like beans, so added a can of chili beans with sauce too. My fave part is the fennel! haven't cooked much with it, so was wary. It is so refreshingly different than celery as an aromatic. Love it! I did make it with the spinach but I agree- kale or chard would be just as good. Pros: easy, freezes well, filling
January 04, 2013
profile image
By: Liz T.
Winter vegetable delight! I made this soup tonight but substituted swiss chard for the spinach because that is what I had on hand. Also did not have fire roasted tomatoes so I used regular ones. It was great and very filling. I think you could probably use Kale, or any other greens you have on hand. I especially appreciate that it is low sodium. Hard to find good soup recipes that don't use tons of salt. Pros: Easy and Flexible recipe Cons: none
January 01, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Made this soup today,it was fantastic! The only thing I added was a parmesan cheese rind,that bumped up the cheese flavor.I loved the texture,flavor and ease of putting it together. Pros: Easy to make,flavor was great. Cons: Can't think of any
December 30, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Hearty but lacking We made this soup tonight during a winter storm. It was good and very filling. However, it lacked real flavor. I just wanted to slam it with some chili powder or something. I will say that I have 2 picky vegetarians in my home and they enjoyed it. Pros: Hearty, great ingredients, easy to make Cons: less flavorful than hoped for
More Reviews