Coating fish with nuts and baking it is an easy, foolproof way to cook it elegantly. And it is especially nice with a mild white fish like cod or halibut. The spinach turns a little yellowy because it's cooked with the acidic lemon juice, but what you lose in green color is more than made up for in great flavor. Source: EatingWell Magazine, January/February 2011

Melissa Pasanen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Coat a rimmed baking sheet with cooking spray.

    Advertisement
  • Combine lemon zest, almonds, dill, 1 tablespoon oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper in a small bowl. Place fish on the prepared baking sheet and spread each portion with 1 teaspoon mustard. Divide the almond mixture among the portions, pressing it onto the mustard.

  • Bake the fish until opaque in the center, about 7 to 9 minutes, depending on thickness.

  • Meanwhile, heat the remaining 2 teaspoons oil in a Dutch oven over medium heat. Add garlic and cook, stirring, until fragrant but not brown, about 30 seconds. Stir in spinach, lemon juice and the remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt; season with pepper. Cook, stirring often, until the spinach is just wilted, 2 to 4 minutes. Cover to keep warm. Serve the fish with the spinach and lemon wedges, if desired.

Tips

Tip: Look for U.S. wild-caught Pacific halibut, U.S. Pacific cod or Atlantic cod from Iceland and the northeast Arctic. For more information, visit Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch at seafoodwatch.org.

Easy cleanup: Recipes that require cooking spray can leave behind a sticky residue that can be hard to clean. To save time and keep your baking sheet looking fresh, line it with a layer of foil before you apply the cooking spray.

Nutrition Facts

244 calories; 12.4 g total fat; 1.4 g saturated fat; 67 mg cholesterol; 508 mg sodium. 853 mg potassium; 7.8 g carbohydrates; 3.9 g fiber; 1 g sugar; 26.9 g protein; 9174 IU vitamin a iu; 18 mg vitamin c; 146 mcg folate; 169 mg calcium; 4 mg iron; 137 mg magnesium;

Reviews (21)

Read More Reviews
21 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 4
  • 4 star values: 15
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 4 stars
04/07/2019
Really enjoyed this! But would maybe serve with Dijon if the taste doesn't come through enough. Also added some carrots to the spinach for a bit more. Really enjoyed this!! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
06/08/2017
We love almond crusted fish and this was a nice variation that doesn't include butter. I used halibut and fresh dill and made it exactly as written and thought this was delicious. I served it with the spinach and some rice pilaf. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
05/19/2017
The almond topping gave the fish a nice crunch. I used cod but I think a thinner white fish would have worked better (tilapia maybe? Halibut is expensive here). The spinach worked great with the fish. A grain or starch side dish would accompany the fish & spinach nicely as would a buttery chardonnay. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
04/11/2017
This recipe is a keeper! Delicious flavor easy to make and great presentation. I used whole grain Dijon mustard. Didn't think I'd like the lemony spinach but it went nicely with the fish. A good white fresh or flash frozen fish will do very well with this recipe. I think next time I might try adding a bit of heat to the topping. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/06/2016
Extremely Flavorful and Delicious! This is such a tasty way to fix any white fish! The chopped almond creates a satisfying crunch the mustard provides a spicy undertone and the lemon adds a real brightness. So quick and easy but impressive enough for guests. I've never fixed the spinach part of this recipe but the fish is fabulous! Pros: Flavorful quick and easy healthy low-fat low calorie impressive presentation Read More
Rating: 4 stars
09/08/2015
Wonderful This was soooo good. I didn't have dill so I used cilantro. No lemons sold where I live so I used lime. No halibut here so I used red snapper. Was still absolutely amazing. Pros: Easy Healthy Good Presentation Cons: None Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
09/25/2014
Delish Fish Dish Easy to prepare very tasty and nic presentation. Followed the recipe and wouldn't change a thing. Will add it to my fish recipes fir future dishes. Pros: Tasty with just the right amount of lemon. Really loved the mustard taste right amount of kick. Cons: None Read More
Rating: 4 stars
08/27/2014
Lemonyyy!! The idea of this recipe was great. Next time I will steer clear of adding so much lemon and I will add a bit more spinach. Pros: Great recipe. Cons: Too much lemon and not enough spinach. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
06/04/2014
Easy and Fast with a perfect result! I made this and it was GREAT! I happened to have all the ingredients on hand and was looking for a cod recipe. I have never cooked cod before. I followed the directions and it came out really good. My 14 year old son even liked it! Pros: easy fast tasty Read More
Rating: 4 stars
09/26/2013
Switch It Up This was great but I got rid of the spinach and used arugula instead. Check out my blog for other great ideas - www.BetterOffHealthy.com Read More
Rating: 4 stars
04/15/2013
As good as in a restaurant says my husband. What a treat this turned out to be! I used fresh halibut steaks; after 20 minutes or so in the oven they were cooked perfectly. I had all ingredients or fine substitutions (organic stone ground mustard instead of Dijon; store-bought pepper in shaker instead of freshly ground). I expect to be making this again including for special occasions. Pros: Pros: This came out gourmet quality. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
09/02/2012
Tasty! I'm normally not a big fish eater but I have been trying to eat a bit more of it to add to a healthier diet. Tonight I made this for the first time for my husband and myself. We decided to try it using tilapia and we both thought is was very good. I really enjoyed the taste of the lemon almonds and dill together and loved the lemon flavor with the spinach! I held back on how much lemon I used since a lot of the reviews said that she lemon could be over powering. I wish I did use more because I thought that the lemon flavor on the fish was too subtle for my liking. Next time I will be sure to use more! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Easy and tasy Great recipe. Simple and quick didn't take near the 25 mins the recipe states. Lots of protein and low in fat. I made half a batch (we don't like fish as leftovers) and it was wonderful. Will definately make again! Pros: Easy tasty common ingredients Cons: none Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Unbelievably quick and tasty too! This was delicious and took way less than 25 minutes. Made it as written except did the topping in the food processor to save even more time. The whole thing took 15 minutes tops. Used fresh rock cod - it was wonderful! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Good & good for you The fish looked great and was moist & delicious. I did use a very large lemon & think it was a bit too much juice on the spinach. Very good regardless! Pros: quick & easy company worthy fish dish Cons: the spinach was a tad too lemony...glad I was forewarned that it would discolor Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Tasty Fish! This was a quick recipe and so very tasty! If you don't like lemons you might cut down a little in either the zest or juice - but I loved it! Also it took 12 minutes to cook through the cod but maybe it was thicker than average. A definite keeper for my recipe file. Pros: Easy to make minimal ingredients Cons: None Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Easy and flavorful I really liked this recipe and loved the combination of lemon and dill. I think I'll make a little extra spinach next time. Definitely a keeper! Pros: Easy to make quick simple ingredients Cons: None Read More
Rating: 3 stars
10/29/2011
Good Fish Meh Spinach The fish was truly amazing! I would definitely make it again! Was not too keen on the spinach (and I like spinach). Was too lemony and if you don't eat quickly enough it starts getting cold and gross. But I would most definitely make the fish again--the lemon and dill combination were amazing! Read More
Rating: 1 stars
10/29/2011
Horrible! I consider myself a great cook. I always receive compliments on my cooking and love to try new things. I followed this recipe to the 'T' and it was disgusting. I like fish just not prepared this way. The spinach was too lemony and the dill with almond wasn't a great mixture for me. I couldn't taste the fish at all just crunchy almonds too much dill and way too much lemon. I won't make this again. Pros: It's fish. Cons: It tasted horrible. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
backing off My kids are learning to eat fish. The dill and lemon were too overpowering for them. I will back off on those ingredients if I make this one again. Pros: easy Cons: flavor combo Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Delicious! I really enjoyed this recipe though my guy thought the lemon was over-powering. Next time I will cut back on the lemon zest. I used kale instead of spinach and added some chilli flakes to the greens. It was delicious served over some quinoa. I am eating the leftovers for lunch right now. Pros: easy fast Read More