Our version of green eggs and ham is full of spinach, leeks and dill, along with ham and havarti cheese. Serve with: Roasted red potatoes or hash browns. Source: EatingWell Magazine, March/April 2010

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Position rack in upper third of oven; preheat to 450 degrees F.

    Advertisement
  • Whisk eggs, dill, salt and pepper in a medium bowl. Heat oil in a large ovenproof nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add leeks; cook, stirring, until softened, about 4 minutes. Add spinach and ham; cook, stirring, until the spinach is wilted, about 1 minute.

  • Pour the egg mixture over the vegetables and cook, lifting the edges of the frittata so uncooked egg can flow underneath, until the bottom is light golden, 2 to 3 minutes. Sprinkle cheese on top, transfer the pan to the oven and bake until the eggs are set, 6 to 8 minutes. Let rest for about 3 minutes before serving. Serve hot or cold.

Nutrition Facts

217 calories; 14.9 g total fat; 5.1 g saturated fat; 262 mg cholesterol; 419 mg sodium. 324 mg potassium; 5.7 g carbohydrates; 1.1 g fiber; 2 g sugar; 14 g protein; 3206 IU vitamin a iu; 10 mg vitamin c; 97 mcg folate; 145 mg calcium; 3 mg iron; 39 mg magnesium;

Reviews (11)

Read More Reviews
11 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 9
  • 4 star values: 2
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
11/06/2013
This was amazingly quick. I already had leeks ready to go which saved a lot of time. The substitutions I made were: fresh dill instead of dried chicken instead of ham and sharp cheddar for the cheese since those were what I had in the fridge. I served it with a side salad and the whole family enjoyed it. Pros: Quick Easy Cheap Healthy Read More
Rating: 5 stars
01/19/2013
Delicious Very flavourful! I was worried that it would be too strong with all the leeks (it calls for a lot) but it blended together very nicely. I did find all the chopping to be a bit of a nuisance but it was worth it in the end Pros: Lots of flavour Cons: Lots of prep work Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This was delicious and the recipe is nice and flexible. Be creative if you are missing some of the ingredients (i.e. substitute onions for leeks and whatever cheese you have for the havarti or muenster). I also threw in some mushrooms that needed eating. Yum! Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This was great! I agree with the other reviewer-use what you have on hand. This made a great meatless meal during Lent. I served it with a simple side salad. The entire family raved! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Super easy and delicious! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Well liked by the entire family. The portions were nicely sized as well. Used light Havarti cheese to further reduce the calories. Will definitely make this again. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I would only use 6 eggs for serving 6 people and would not add the extra salt...ham and cheese add a lot of salt. If I have them I would add mushrooms. I make many of varieties of this........ the more veg the better. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This was really fast and delicious! I used extra dill and lowfat swiss cheese. I agree with other reviewers that this recipe is really flexible. I'll try it with other cheeses when I make it in the future. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Good but needed something extra It's good but my family and I felt it was missing something. I felt it needed some extra seasoning to really bring out or highlight the flavors. Not sure what seasoning though; perhaps some nutmeg. Might be better with a cheese that has a more pronounced flavor ( I used harvarti.) Will make again and tinker with it. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Perfect Sunday Brunch Recipe I love frittatas and this was no exception. I use egg beaters instead of real eggs and I cut the salt amount in half. I also normally use low-sodium ham in this and it works well. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Excellent as written. Made as written a couple times and loved it. Looking forward to experimenting - starting now! Pros: Easy and delicious. Read More