Reviews 63

November 07, 2014
profile image
By: Cam Peterson
Doubled the cheese, used all broth, sauteed onions and garlic. Needed a little extra salt. Oh, used garbanzo beans so it was probably a little heavier. Very tasty !!
October 12, 2014
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Smooth, Simple, Light, Add to make it AWESOME This soup is very, very basic. I started with a mirepoix (celery, onions, garlic) and sauteed those then cut my broccoli stalks and sauteed those while trimming up the rest of my broccoli. I wanted to double the recipe to my time useful, but I didn't have enough fresh broccoli so I threw in some frozen broccoli and then some random grilled squash I had in the fridge. I let the stalks get good and soft then I added my chicken stock. Instead of the 2nd cup of water I had some light cream so I threw that in there too. I used an immersion blender to get it all smooth then tossed in my cheese. Since I added cream it wasn't a big deal that my cheese wasn't gourmet or that I was a bit short. It would definitely be more rich if I had better cheese or at least enough cheese. My soup was extra light but I only had one can of beans, next time I'll buy 2 so it will be heartier. Will make again when the craving hits. My two year old LOVED the soup because she could help make it and loved the simply flavors. Pros: Easy, Kid Friendly, Can be a base for whatever is in the fridge Cons: Have to doctor it to make it noteworthy
May 20, 2014
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Shocked at poor reviews one of my favorites Very surprised by negative reviews. My wife and I experiment with many recipes and few make it into regular rotation; this one did. Be aware that depending on the broccoli you may need to adjust the liquid. Every time we make the broccoli gives up different amounts of water and the thickness needs to be adjusted. Best with a Chicago hard roll. Pros: Easy, very good Cons: Variable/be prepared to adjust liquid
April 07, 2014
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Poor texture I had such high hopes for this soup. However, once I started to cook the broccoli I realized there just wasn't much liquid to this recipe, and there was A LOT of broccoli. I added more veg broth throughout the process, but still when we ate it, it was too think or something. The texture was mushy and not to our liking at all. I won't be making this again. Pros: great ingredients, vegetarian, easy Cons: mushy-thick texture, not very falvorful
February 10, 2014
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Quick & Easy Soup I liked this recipe (my husband loved it). I did have to add some extra veggie broth at the end. Overall, it was quick and easy and perfect for a fast weeknight dinner. Pros: Easy, Healthy, Good for leftovers
January 21, 2014
profile image
By: EatingWell User
give it time Made this strictly by the recipe. The first day it was ok but not great. I think it needed more broccoli to balance out the beans. But then on days 2, 3 and 4 it was much better. The flavors had married nicely and the beans were less pronounced. I think next time I will make it ahead of time and add a bit more broccoli.
January 14, 2014
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Never had to Doctor a recipe sooo much I added garlic/onion - spices. Pros: none Cons: waste of good ingredients - going in garbage
January 03, 2014
profile image
By: EatingWell User
What a Fail This recipe seemed so promising, I read the reviews and altered it a bit for my taste buds off of others recommendations, and thank god i did, because if i hadn't, this would have been a complete failure. I was hopeful that it would taste as good as it sounded, but like others had mentioned its just missing something, it could be that I'm just used to the delicious creamy one with the rich flavour but this just wasn't a hit. I did add garlic and onion to the mix and it added a significant amount of flavour and made this worth the time for making it. However, despite best efforts i won't be making it again. Pros: easy enough to prepare Cons: Missing something major
February 02, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
I made this however the only thing I did was double the recipe, and I had a bag of broccoli, cauliflower and carrots that needed to be eaten. I used all chicken stock, reduced sodium. I used a sharp aged white cheddar and one can of cannelloni beans and 1 greater northern as that's what I had. I pureed the entire soup. It was a hit with the entire family. I served it with grilled cheese. Yes the soup does have the been taste but you can taste the other flavors as well. Both a 4 and 8 year old enjoyed bowls. Pros: Very filling
More Reviews