We use just a touch of pancetta--cured Italian-style bacon--to balance the sweet tomatoes and peppery watercress. Make it a meal: A salad tossed with a red-wine vinaigrette completes dinner. Source: EatingWell Magazine, May/June 2007

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Put a large pan of water on to boil.

    Advertisement
  • Cook pancetta in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until it begins to brown, 4 to 5 minutes. Add garlic and cook, stirring, for 30 seconds. Add tomatoes, sugar and crushed red pepper and cook, stirring, until the tomatoes are almost completely broken down, about 5 minutes. Stir in vinegar and salt. Remove from the heat.

  • Cook gnocchi in the boiling water until they float, 3 to 5 minutes or according to package directions. Place watercress in a colander and drain the gnocchi over the watercress, wilting it slightly. Add the gnocchi and watercress to the sauce in the pan; toss to combine. Serve immediately, with Parmesan.

Tips

Shopping Tip: We like the texture of “she lf-stable” prepared gnocchi found in the Italian section of most supermarkets, but frozen and fresh refrigerated gnocchi also work well here.

Nutrition Facts

377 calories; 7.1 g total fat; 3.1 g saturated fat; 16 mg cholesterol; 705 mg sodium. 334 mg potassium; 63.9 g carbohydrates; 3.3 g fiber; 5 g sugar; 13.6 g protein; 1775 IU vitamin a iu; 32 mg vitamin c; 17 mcg folate; 145 mg calcium; 3 mg iron; 19 mg magnesium;

Reviews (14)

Read More Reviews
14 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 13
  • 4 star values: 1
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
10/27/2018
I loved this. I made it with Trader Joe s cauliflower gnocchi and used chard instead of watercress. So good. I ve made it several times and it s always filling and delicious. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
12/30/2017
Excellent! My whole family loved this meal and that s saying something! Going to be a regular at our house. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/25/2017
I loooove this! I've made it once before and I am making it again tonight but I'm going to use spinach instead of watercress (which I also did last time). Instead of the store-bought gnocchi I'll make homemade sweet potato gnocchi because I have some sweet potatoes I need to use (and because homemade gnocchi is so easy and delicious). This recipe is great and simple! My fiancé went a little nuts over it. Last time I subbed canned whole-peeled tomatoes for the two tomatoes; that worked out fine and I added some sliced grape tomatoes too. Note: DO NOT skip the red wine vinegar... I forgot to add it until after I had already eaten my (first) serving and when I added it it made a huge difference. I also like vinegar so if you don't like it - ignore me. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/07/2013
New Favorite Wow... this is amazing! I've made it over 6 times now... I used white wine vinegar (or just white wine) bacon instead of pancetta and kale. This is my fiance's favorite.... he wants me to make it for his birthday meal even though we usually eat it once a week as it is:-D Thanks!!!!:-D Pros: Easy quick few ingredients easy to substitute Cons: nothing!! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
08/07/2013
Use Home Made Gnocci As I grew up eating home made Gnocci I can't stand the taste or texture of the store-bought stuff unless it's fresh from an Italian grocer. If you wish to make your own use 1 part mashed potatoes to 1 part white or whole wheat flour and 1 large egg. If your potatoes are new - boil them until they start falling apart and drain well otherwise the dough ends up too soft. Old potatoes that are sprouting (but not rotting) are best to use. Mix ingredients into a dough roll into snakes and cut into bite sized pieces and boil until they float. Simple and tasty!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
02/21/2013
So good so quick excellent quick dish that was unbelievably tasty. The sauce came out amazing and all the prep work and cooking was easy. Like many others I did substitutes: - 4 slices bacon instead of prociutto - serrano-honey vinegar instead of red wine vinegar - arugula instead of watercress (didn't bother stemming it- still tasted great) Pros: easy quick tasty Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
11/14/2012
Delicious easy dinner in no time I was a little hesitant about this dish considering how simple the ingredients were but was pleasantly surprised when it turned out lovely. I didn't keep pure vegetarian I used prosciutto and I don't care for Watercress's bitter flavor so I used kale instead. It was a brilliant meal that will make it into a normal menu rotation for us. I served with butternut squash soup next time I will toss a salad and serve with crusty bread. Winner! Pros: Flavorful simple easy to make Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/14/2012
Very easy and VERY flavorful Made this tonight for my husband and it was absolutely delicious. He raved for an hour saying it was the best thing he's ever had. I added a few little twists to it to liven it up. I used 4oz of pancetta and I also doused the tomatoes with Italian seasoning and added a few more dashes of it in the stew. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy this was to make and how much flavor it had. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
My husband and I made this for dinner tonight and LOVED it!! The flavor and texture was incredible. We followed the recipe exactly except we did not remove the watercress stems. Thank you for such a wonderful meal. We might try making this with spinach to reduce the cost some. Afterall the ingredients for this recipe really add up. We highly recommend this!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made this dinner tonight and it was very good. Because I was craving fennel I added half a large bulb in as well. I think it fit very well. The recipe was extremely flavourful and I'm glad I didn't add any extra salt because even without additional spices it was very tasty. The beans broke down a bit from stirring and it added to the creamy texture. Excellent and very simple to make. I don't think I would use spinach because the swiss chard holds up better (I used red chard and it was very tasty). Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made this recipe last night. It was very flavorful but a little too heavy on the vinegar taste. I also didn't like the texture of the gnocchi with this sauce. An excellent base sauce for other pastas though minus the red wine vinegar. Definitely don't skimp on the parmesan cheese here it helped the flavor a lot. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
We love this basic recipe. We often make substitutions based on what we have available (bacon for pancetta arugula for watercress and we use any kind of pasta). I would never substitute on the basic recipe for the sauce. It is easy to make I don't cook much so that's saying something. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Even Meat Eaters Love it I made this as a last minute dinner last week. The only exceptions to the recipe were that i added Italian seasoning to the tomatoes due to not being able to find them pre-seasoned and i used whole wheat gnocchi. It came out wonderful not oily at all. Even my husband who is unwillingly following into meatless meals loved it. It was very satisfying and even kept great for lunch the next day. This will become a go to recipe for our home. Pros: super easy Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Bold Amazing Flavor! This dish uses simple ingredients that just go great together! I never cooked gnocchi before and my family never usually cares for chunks of tomato...but this dish was a huge hit that is certain to grace our table again soon! There is nothing else more to say except try it you'll love it! Pros: Quick and easy to cook Cons: Vinegar is a bit strong but I love that about this dish...no cons Read More