Reviews 48

September 07, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
I thought these burgers were great! Super easy to make and not many ingredients. I love the flavor the scallions gave it. When I ate mine, I put dill pickles on it to give it some more crunch and it was really good. I will definitely be making these again very soon. Pros: fast and easy to make!
August 20, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Trying to duplicate local favorite This recipe is a good starting point. I added grated garlic, finely chopped bell pepper, and smoked paprika. Enjoyed the flavor. The texture was a little smoother than I was hoping for. Would have liked a little more bit. Pros: healthy, easy Cons: didn't love the texture
August 14, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Easy to make, mine stayed together fine. Although I did not have a food processor, I just used a potato masher and a wooden spoon, so that might have had something to do with it. I skipped the scallions and oregano but added about 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder and cayenne pepper along with a bit of fresh ground pepper. I couldn't be bothered making a sauce so instead used a Greek yogurt and cucumber sauce I found at the grocery store. I put the patty in a whole wheat pita with some lettuce and topped it with the sauce. I served it with a side of semolina and fresh beet salad. It tasted great! I will definitely make this again.
March 31, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Really quick and easy to make! really liked this recipe. luckily for me i tasted the burger mix before i fried it and found it bland so added some old el paso spice mix and stuffing mix i had at hand. the tahini dip tasted a bit odd at first so had to add a bit more lemon juice and pepper. once the burgers are tasted with the tahini sauce they were both fine and tasted great together! would definitely make this again. Pros: doesnt take long to make Cons: had to add more flavour
June 17, 2011
profile image
By: nancy.barnes
Pretty Good, needs a little more flavor I just added tomato's and red onions to mine to make it more flavorful. I also made the sauce a bit different.. i put greek yogurt (cus thats all i had) natural peanut butter instead of tahini.. the sauce was a little strong and tasted a little too much like peanut butter.. but overall its was pretty good and filling and made me feel great! Pros: healthy, vegan, tastes good. Cons: needs a bit more flavor
February 21, 2011
profile image
By: marti1234567
Interesting but very good I was a little hesitant to try this recipe, but I'm glad I did because it was very good. I added garlic like a reviewer suggested and 1 jalapeno to the chickpea mixture. It gave it just the right amount of kick so it wouldn't be bland. I also refrigerated the patties for one night and wetted my hand before forming the them like another reviewer suggested. This made making and cooking the patties much easier. Next I think I will just buy a flavored dip, I didn't really like the one I made.
February 01, 2011
profile image
By: raheli4
One of my favorites I am not a huge pita fan, so I use whole-wheat hamburger buns for this. It's a favorite in our house. We usually serve with sweet potato fries, which also is good with the leftover tahina sauce (of which there is a lot of leftover!). The dish has also gone over well when we served to meat eating friends and family. Pros: Meat-eaters also really like this
October 11, 2010
profile image
By: Mitchell Hellman
Fine recipe; my wife especially liked the sauce. I made the patties and refrigerated them overnight; they never appeared to be falling apart, so the cooling/resting time probably helped. I am far from being a vegetarian, but was quite satisfied with these.
September 14, 2010
profile image
By: bluellies
These would have received 5 stars, but as written the recipe lacks enough flavor for me. I double up the cumin, add some garlic, and voilla--delicious! I always let them chill a bit in the fridge and never have a problem with the patties falling apart. Do make sure your hands are wet so the mixture doesn't stick. They freeze well, too--you can bake from frozen, or thaw and pan-fry.
More Reviews