Recipe Image

Quick Thai Chicken & Vegetable Curry

  • 35 m
  • 45 m
EatingWell Test Kitchen
“Curry quick enough for a weeknight supper—especially if you use precut cauliflower and baby spinach. ”

Ingredients

    • 2 teaspoons canola oil
    • 1 medium red bell pepper, cut into 1- to 2-inch-long julienne strips
    • 1 medium onion, halved and sliced
    • 1 clove garlic, minced
    • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
    • 1-2 teaspoons red curry paste, to taste (see Ingredient note)
    • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch cubes
    • 1 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
    • 1 cup “lite” coconut milk
    • 1 tablespoon fish sauce, or reduced-sodium soy sauce
    • 1 teaspoon light brown sugar
    • 1½ cups cauliflower florets
    • Lime wedges
    • 2 cups baby spinach
    • 1 tablespoon lime juice

Directions

  • 1 Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add bell pepper and onion; cook, stirring often, until beginning to soften, about 4 minutes. Add garlic, ginger and curry paste; stir to mix. Add chicken and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Stir in broth, coconut milk, fish sauce (or soy sauce) and brown sugar; bring to a simmer. Add cauliflower, reduce heat to medium-low and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the chicken is cooked through and the cauliflower is tender, about 10 minutes. Stir in spinach and lime juice; cook just until spinach has wilted. Serve immediately, with lime wedges.
  • Make Ahead Tip: The curry will keep, covered, in the refrigerator for up to 2 days.
  • Red curry paste is a blend of chile peppers, garlic, lemongrass and galanga (a rhizome with a flavor similar to ginger). Commercial Asian curry paste is a convenient way to add heat and complexity to a recipe. Look for it in small jars or cans in the Asian section of the store. Brands differ in spiciness so use sparingly. Once opened, it will keep in the refrigerator for up to 1 month.
  • People with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity should use soy sauces that are labeled "gluten-free," as soy sauce may contain wheat or other gluten-containing sweeteners and flavors.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2019 EatingWell.com Printed From EatingWell.com 6/26/2019