This retro dish will please kids and adults alike. Source: EatingWell Magazine, October 1997

Ruth Cousineau
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Coat a 3-quart baking dish with cooking spray.

    Advertisement
  • Cook fettuccine in boiling salted water until al dente, about 8 minutes. Drain and refresh under cold running water. Drain and set aside.

  • Meanwhile, heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add leeks and cook, stirring, until lightly browned, 6 to 8 minutes. Add mushrooms and 1/2 teaspoon rosemary; cook, stirring, until softened, about 5 minutes. Add flour and cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Add broth and milk; bring to a boil, stirring, until slightly thickened, about 4 minutes more. Remove from heat and stir in chicken. Season with lemon juice, salt and pepper.

  • Gently mix the cooked fettuccine into chicken mixture and spoon into prepared baking dish.

  • Combine Parmesan, breadcrumbs, lemon zest, parsley and the remaining 1/2 teaspoon rosemary in a small bowl. Season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle the mixture over the casserole.

  • Bake casserole for 20 to 30 minutes, or until bubbling. Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

Tips

Make Ahead Tip: Prepare through Step 5. The casserole will keep, covered, in the refrigerator for up to 2 days.

Nutrition Facts

288 calories; 5.8 g total fat; 1.6 g saturated fat; 45 mg cholesterol; 551 mg sodium. 552 mg potassium; 35.2 g carbohydrates; 2.6 g fiber; 5 g sugar; 24.5 g protein; 976 IU vitamin a iu; 7 mg vitamin c; 48 mcg folate; 123 mg calcium; 3 mg iron; 57 mg magnesium;

Reviews (14)

Read More Reviews
14 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 9
  • 4 star values: 5
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
01/08/2016
Thrilled I left out the lemon added red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit. I also did not put on the top coating only covered in parmesan. Pros: great taste low calorie perfect for a pasta lover Cons: I wish I knew the volume of one serving. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
11/19/2015
Lemony And Delicious I made this the night before so my daughter could pop it in the oven before I got home from work. It was a big hit! We enjoyed the surprising lemon flavor. My daughter can be a picky eater and she really enjoyed this. I used the ingredients as listed except added a little more fettuccine than called for and the sauce was fine for that. Will definitely make again. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
04/01/2014
Excellent Recipe I was looking for something different to make with leftover roast chicken. This turned out to be a great choice. At first I didn't think 6 oz. of linguine would suffice but it made enough to feed my husband and me with leftovers for 2 more meals. Great - leftovers of leftovers. Oh well this is the first chicken tetrazzini recipe my husband liked. I made it once about 30 years ago (using a different recipe obviously) and every time I suggested having it again he gave it a thumbs down. This time I said This is what we're having for supper. and he actually went back for seconds - and more! He wants to add this to our favorite dishes. I'm impressed! Pros: Healthy ingredients Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
01/22/2013
Great recipe! I'm always looking for healthy alternatives to my favorite recipes. After reading the other reviews I cut the chicken broth down to 2 1/2 cups eliminated the milk and in it's place I added a cup of non-fat plain greek yogurt. This really thickened up nicely plus you have the added benefit of the extra protein in the greek yogurt. Also added some cooking sherry to suit my taste. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I'm making this again because it's sooooo good. I love how there's no canned soup or cream in it. It really is fabulous but it took me a little longer than 30 minutes to make. Still so worth it! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Really great recipe that my entire family (4 young boys plus my husband and I) enjoyed! I substituted bow tie pasta for the fettuccine however. Will definitely be making this one again! Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I too found that it took longer than 30 minutes to make this recipe. It was good not great. The amount of liquid called for was more than could be thickened by the flour called for. Even after baking the sauce was thin and watery. Would probably add less liquid if I were to make it again. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This has now become my husband's favorite casserole recipe! He could eat it every week and be a very happy man. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This is a great dish. It tastes like a pot pie!! Amazing flavor and not too hard to make. Prep time is a bit longer than 30 minutes. Next time I might add carrots. I skipped the lemon zest as I didn't want the dish to be too "lemony." It was great! I will definitely be making this dish again!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Awesome dish! The fresh ingredients made this dish wonderful! When I make it again I might use a different noodle. It was a little awkward serving with the fettucine noodles. The prep time was more like 40-45 minutes. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Great recipe! We subbed the chicken for leftover Thanksgiving turkey which was a good exchange of lean meats. My two year little lady had seconds! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Very Good This took me more than 30 minutes to get it ready to go in the oven but it was well worth it. A smaller pasta does make it easier to serve. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
In our regular rotation now I was very happy with this dish! It had a lot of flavor and I am amazed it is only 295 calories per serving. I added spinach to it to incorporate more vegetables. Next time I will add a cup of white wine to the mix to give it more moisture. I used a rotisserie chicken to make my life easier and it was delicious! Pros: easy tastes like it's bad for you when it isn't Cons: got a little sticky long noodles hard to serve out of casserole Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Awesome Dish! This was an awesome casserole. Like others I substituted linguine for the fettucine and it was perfect! Wonderful fresh flavors like a chicken pot-pie with a crunchy topping and each serving is only 7 Weight Watcher points. Serve with a salad and a glass of wine! Pros: Low-Fat Delicious! Cons: Takes a while to prepare Read More