You don't need a deep fryer to make crispy potato chips. We toss thinly sliced potatoes with just a touch of olive oil, pop them in the microwave and voilà! Crispy, crunchy homemade potato chips with 8 grams less fat per serving than regular chips. Source: EatingWell Magazine, January/February 2009

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Slice potatoes into thin (1/8-inch) rounds. Toss the slices in a medium bowl with oil and salt to coat evenly.

    Advertisement
  • Coat a large microwave-proof plate with cooking spray. Arrange some potato slices in a single layer on the plate. Microwave, uncovered, on High until some slices start to brown, 2 to 3 minutes (depending on potato thickness and microwave power). Turn the slices over and continue microwaving until they start to crisp and brown around the edges, 2 to 4 minutes more. Check frequently and rearrange slices as needed to prevent scorching. Transfer the chips to another plate and allow to cool completely. (They will crisp more as they cool.) Repeat with the remaining potato slices.

Tips

Make Ahead Tip: Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

Nutrition Facts

141 calories; 2.3 g total fat; 0.3 g saturated fat; 291 mg sodium. 807 mg potassium; 25.9 g carbohydrates; 2 g fiber; 3 g protein;

Reviews (17)

Read More Reviews
17 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 1
  • 4 star values: 14
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 4 stars
08/21/2015
sepuuku SEPPUKU NOW Pros: They tasted great Cons: Sepukku Read More
Rating: 4 stars
02/22/2015
Crispier chip tip I found a way to increase the crispiness. Before you put the finely sliced potato rounds in a bowl for the olive oil coating place the slices between two paper towels and push down. Eliminating wetness leads to a crispier chip. I used very high quality olive oil from a specialty store. It worked well. Pros: quick way to make a small amount of healthy chips Cons: only works if you only want a few chips ( several batches ). Read More
Rating: 1 stars
08/29/2012
6 HOURS FOR A BAG OF CHIPS THEY TASTE GOOD BUT TAKE ABOUT 6 MINUTES PER BATCH AND YOU CAN ONLY MAKE 10-20 CHIPS PER BATCH IN A SINGLE LATER. YOU DO THE MATH. BETTER OFF BAKING THEM. Pros: TASTE GOOD Cons: TAKES FOREVER! Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/21/2012
Great flavor and very simple to do If you want to add flavor buy the popcorn shakers and sprinkle on for flavored chips its wonderful I did ranch and Jalapeno and cheese wonderful! Pros: low fat simple fun Cons: none Read More
Rating: 4 stars
06/22/2012
Does anyone know what the dip used in the picture of this recipe is? Read More
Rating: 3 stars
04/01/2012
impressed I wasn't too sure about this recipe so I did an experiment. I followed this recipe and I place some in the oven. And I have to say this one came out better. I got a thumbs up from my 5 year old daughter which is a big deal from a very picky eater. Pros: crispy healthy favor. Cons: microwave. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
11/08/2011
Seasoning Onion salt is the way to go! It doesn't taste like what you might think. Try it you'll love it! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
I've been doing this now for about a year. It's fabulous. Want to use less fat: clean the microwave plate and spray it with spray fat free oil. After drying your potatoes lay them on the sprayed plate and then spray the potato slices. Microwave from between 3 -6 minutes. You save even more on fat but still have that potato chip crunch. My kids and husband love these. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
This recipe is great! The chips taste just like Kettle Bakes chips. I used parchment paper on the plate sprayed with oil the second time I made these and had no more problems with sticking to the plate. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
I have made microwave potato chips several times. To keep them from coming out so oily and still keep them from sticking to the plate I use one of these brilliant gadgets: http://bit.ly/silpat Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
I LIKE THIS! NEVER THOUGHT ABOUT PUTTING POTATOES IN THE MICROWAVE!! tHANKS Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
Has anyone tried this recipe with sweet potatoes? Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
mmmm cant wait to try it!! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
Does anyone have any suggestions for added flavouring such as ketchup or bbq etc? Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
These are fantastic! Great discovery. We use these as wonderful side dishes. If you want to spice these up grab some popcorn flavor shakers from the store. Sprinkle in a ziploc bag and after fully cooking coat them. Barbeque is my favorite. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
The chips turned out great but it's very time consuming if you're doing very many. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Amazing! I made them for the first time today I had to use virgin olive oil because I had no spray on took a little longer but the crunch was still there. So much cheaper than buying chips and better than waiting an hour for them to bake in the oven. Read More