Squash & Red Lentil Curry

Squash & Red Lentil Curry

25 Reviews
From: EatingWell Magazine, September/October 2015

This healthy red lentil curry recipe has a rich flavor and complexity that tastes like it takes hours to prepare. Butternut squash and coconut milk combine with the lentils to make a hearty vegetarian dish. Serve with brown rice or naan bread.

Ingredients 5 servings

for serving adjustment
Serving size has been adjusted!
Original recipe yields 5 servings
US
Metric
Nutrition per serving may change if servings are adjusted.
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1½ cups diced onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder or garam masala
  • 1 20-ounce package cubed peeled butternut squash (see Tip)
  • 1 cup red lentils
  • 1 cup chopped fresh tomato or one 15-ounce can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1½ teaspoons salt
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 14-ounce can lite coconut milk
  • 5 lime wedges
  • Chopped fresh cilantro for garnish

Preparation

  • Active

  • Ready In

  1. Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add onion, garlic, ginger and curry powder (or garam masala); cook, stirring often, until the onion is starting to soften, 2 to 3 minutes. Add squash, lentils, tomato and salt; cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Add water. Cover and bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat to maintain a lively simmer; cook, covered, stirring occasionally, until the squash is tender and the lentils are mostly broken down, about 20 minutes.
  2. Stir in coconut milk and simmer until heated through, about 1 minute. Serve with lime wedges and cilantro, if desired.
  • Precut butternut squash is usually sold in a 20-ounce package of large cubes (5 cups of 1- to 2-inch pieces) or in a 16-ounce package of smaller diced squash (3 cups of ½-inch pieces). If you can only find the smaller cubes for this recipe, you'll need to buy two 16-ounce packages to have 5 total cups of squash and reduce the roasting time by 5 to 10 minutes. Or, you can prep your own cubes of squash from a whole, peeled and seeded butternut squash.

Nutrition information

  • Serving size: 1¾ cups
  • Per serving: 326 calories; 12 g fat(5 g sat); 13 g fiber; 46 g carbohydrates; 14 g protein; 248 mcg folate; 0 mg cholesterol; 8 g sugars; 0 g added sugars; 12,371 IU vitamin A; 38 mg vitamin C; 107 mg calcium; 5 mg iron; 735 mg sodium; 996 mg potassium
  • Nutrition Bonus: Vitamin A (247% daily value), Vitamin C (63% dv), Folate (62% dv), Iron (28% dv)
  • Carbohydrate Servings: 3
  • Exchanges: 2 starch, 1 vegetable, ½ lean meat, 2 fat

Reviews 25

April 30, 2019
profile image
By: mandy stout
WOW!!! This has such AMAZING FLAVOR! Will be keeping this recipe in my meal plan for sure!
March 02, 2019
profile image
By: SaK
One of my favorite new recipes for lunch. One pot feeds me all week! I tried it with both curry and garam masala and prefer the former. My kids love it too! The fresh cilantro at the end is a MUST. It takes the flavors from good to great.
February 12, 2019
profile image
By: Diana
Amazing! I have a toddler who is very picky and he just ate two bowls of this stew!
February 04, 2019
profile image
By: Christy Green
Didn't make any changes and loved it "as-is." My husband normally has to have meat for dinner so I was leery if this would be hearty enough for him, but it was and he loved it too. Will definitely make again. I will say that I love curry and this was light on curry flavor but I very much liked it that way. As others suggested I'm sure you could add more curry if your tastes prefer but I'd suggest trying the original before making modifications. I noticed a few mention "soupy" texture but ours was thick and lovely. I'm wondering if they used coconut water instead of coconut milk as that would make a huge difference. Also, maybe they presoaked their lentils? The dried lentils soak up much of the liquid so it shouldn't be "soupy" at all. We used the lime and cilantro the recipe suggested, maybe that made a flavor difference as well. I didn't find it bland, I found it hearty with light curry flavor.
January 18, 2019
profile image
By: Vanessa Marsden
Delicious! I used garan masala to give it more flavour.
December 30, 2018
profile image
By: dkarb
Very tasty. I decided early on to use an immersion blender and make it like a mulligatawny soup. I added lime juice and puréed and it was delicious. Also used vegetable stock instead of water.
November 11, 2018
profile image
By: Meg
Using other's suggestions as a guide, we increased the curry spice to 3 tsp. For the liquid, we added the coconut milk first, then topped up the liquid with broth until it just covered the veggies. We cut our squash a bit bigger, so we delayed adding the lentils, so they wouldn't be completely mushy. We cooked it uncovered, stirring occasionally, topping up broth as needed, to get a nice thick, rich sauce. It was fantastic! Even my 8 year old, who hates vegetarian and especially hates curry, said it was "nummy" and finished his bowl! Great comfort food on a chilly fall night. Adding this one to regular rotation for sure.
October 27, 2018
profile image
By: MR9851
I did not alter this recipe and it was really good. I poured it over the rice. The whole family enjoyed it. I’d definitely make it again.
February 07, 2018
profile image
By: Sue Bee
Wow! Doing the 1200 cal / day 14 day meal plan... made this the night before because I knew I wouldn’t have time to cook the next day. Tasted it...eh...okay. Well, today I had to eat it and I squeezed the lime on it...wow!! What a flavor boost! Yes...don’t forget the lime! I could eat the whole thing which would greatly defeat the purpose for the meal plan but yum! I added a bit more salt to the recipe but I didn’t change anything else. My house smells amazing and I could eat this everyday!
More Reviews