Recipe Image

Pork & Turnip Miso Ramen

  • 35 m
  • 35 m
Breana Killeen
“Ramen gets a healthy makeover in this “spiralized” vegetable noodle recipe. We swap noodles made from mild turnips for ramen noodles, but other vegetables, such as zucchini or yellow squash, would also make noodles perfect for this Asian-inspired recipe. Serve with sriracha hot sauce for a kick.”

Ingredients

    • 1½ pounds purple-top turnips, peeled
    • 2 teaspoons peanut oil
    • 6 scallions, sliced into 1-inch pieces
    • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
    • 1 large clove garlic, minced
    • 8 ounces pork tenderloin, cut into 1-inch pieces
    • 3 cups low-sodium chicken broth
    • 3 cups water
    • 2 tablespoons white miso (see Tips)
    • 1 tablespoon reduced-sodium soy sauce
    • 1 tablespoon Shao Hsing rice wine (see Tips) or dry sherry
    • 6 ounces mushrooms, sliced (about 3 cups)
    • 6 cups baby spinach

Directions

  • 1 Using a spiral vegetable slicer or a julienne or regular vegetable peeler, cut turnips into long, thin strands. You should have about 10 cups of turnip "noodles."
  • 2 Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add scallions, ginger and garlic and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add pork and cook, stirring, until starting to brown, about 1 minute. Add broth, water, miso, soy sauce and rice wine (or sherry); bring to a boil. Stir in the noodles, mushrooms and spinach. Cook, gently stirring to submerge the vegetables in the broth, until the noodles are just tender, about 3 minutes.
  • Look for mild-flavored white (sweet) miso, made with soy and rice, near tofu at well-stocked supermarkets. It will keep in the refrigerator for at least a year.
  • Shao Hsing (or Shaoxing) is a seasoned rice wine used in Chinese cooking to flavor sauces, marinades and stir-fries. Look for it in Asian specialty markets or with other Asian ingredients in large supermarkets. In a pinch, dry sherry is a good substitute.
  • People with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity should use soy sauces that are labeled "gluten-free," as soy sauce may contain wheat or other gluten-containing sweeteners and flavors.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2019 EatingWell.com Printed From EatingWell.com 10/17/2019