People likely won't even notice that these delicately nutty, just a little chocolaty, blondies are gluten-free. They use quinoa flour, which you can find in well-stocked supermarkets and natural-foods stores, in place of all-purpose flour. To make your own quinoa flour, grind raw quinoa into a powder in a clean coffee grinder. (Adapted from Quinoa Revolution by Patricia Green and Carolyn Hemming.) Source: EatingWell Magazine, March/April 2013

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line an 8-inch-square baking pan with parchment paper (or foil), allowing it to slightly overhang opposite ends. Coat with cooking spray.

    Advertisement
  • Beat butter and almond butter in a mixing bowl with an electric mixer until creamy. Beat in eggs, brown sugar and vanilla. Whisk quinoa flour, baking powder and salt in a small bowl. Mix the flour mixture into the wet ingredients until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pan.

  • Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with just a few moist crumbs on it, 25 to 35 minutes. Do not overbake. Let cool in the pan for 45 minutes. Using the parchment (or foil), lift the whole panful out and transfer to a cutting board. Cut into 24 squares. Let cool completely before storing.

Tips

Make Ahead Tip: Store airtight in the refrigerator for up to 5 days.

Look for quinoa flour in the baking section or near gluten-free flours in natural foods stores. Or, to make your own, grind whole grains of quinoa into a powder in a clean coffee grinder.

Nutrition Facts

147 calories; 9.1 g total fat; 3.1 g saturated fat; 21 mg cholesterol; 73 mg sodium. 101 mg potassium; 15.5 g carbohydrates; 1.7 g fiber; 11 g sugar; 3 g protein; 82 IU vitamin a iu; 7 mcg folate; 51 mg calcium; 1 mg iron; 32 mg magnesium; 10 g added sugar;

Reviews (28)

Read More Reviews
29 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 15
  • 4 star values: 10
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
08/28/2019
I bake these in a glass pan for a longer time as I live in a high altitude area. I use almond extract Instead of vanilla and it adds a lovely flavor. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
08/08/2019
The only ingredient that I changed was brown rice flour for the quinoa flour. They turned out delicious and everyone loved them. Read More
Rating: 3 stars
03/07/2019
I would use less Baking powder- egg and more butter and sugar. It is more of a " Cake " blondie than the traditional chewy buttery type. I will definitely play with the recipe more. I like the fact it's a bit healthier than the traditional. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
08/18/2018
did not make any changes. my daughter and i make it every few months and the whole family loves it. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
07/19/2018
This is a fantastic recipe & a huge hit in my house & with friends!! Perfect for a bar on the go & I make these for camping trips!! I use my vitamix to make the quinoa flour. I double the recipe & do half almond butter half cashew butter. I also add: shredded coconut goji berries cranberries flax ground almonds choc hemp powder and chia seeds!! So I add an extra 1/4 cup of one of the butters & an extra egg as otherwise it too dry by far. Worked amazing & surprised how high it rose in a full cake pan!! They taste amazing & we will be making them alot more & passing this recipe site along to family and friends!!! Thank you soo much!!! on a side note... the cashew & almond butters are a bit pricey for me but I can make both out of raw nuts in my vitamix which takes the cost down considerably!!???? Read More
Rating: 4 stars
05/17/2016
Delicious I did something wrong. Maybe I should not have mixed the Natural Almond butter before I used it but after 35 min still soupy. Pros: Tasted great Cons: Would not bake in suggested time Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
05/17/2016
would not bake I checked after 25 min and it was soupy. Continued checking at 30 35 and still did not come out with a few crumbs. Finally gave up at 45 min. When using raw Almond Butter do you mix the oil that sits on top or spill that out? Pros: Tasted great Cons: I had to bake for 45 min Read More
Rating: 4 stars
12/28/2015
My go-to dessert. Adaptable recipe can go several directions In addition to following the recipe as is I've done an Amaretto version by subbing 1/2 tsp Almond extract for the vanilla with 3/4 c. white chocolate chips. I've also done a spice variation where I added 1 tsp. apple spice (or you could use pumpkin pie spice) and white chocolate chips. Pros: Deliciious packed with protein GF flexible Cons: Pricey ingredients - quinoa flour & almond butter Read More
Rating: 4 stars
07/22/2015
Delicious I've made these a couple of times and my family loves them. Even my 5 year old loves them. Definitely a keeper for us. Pros: Delicious gluten-free nutritious Read More
Rating: 5 stars
05/06/2015
very tasty lacking almond butter I used peanut butter. they were really yummy noticeable PB flavor which was a good thing. I was impressed that the texture (lighter than regular blondies but a little heavier than most regular cakes) was very nice. we don't need gluten free but we have friends who do so it's nice to know there's a tasty dessert option that feels like dessert. Pros: texture taste Cons: none Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/01/2015
Eat 'em up delicious! No one will know these are healthful. They are moist and chewy with just the right amount of sweetness. I usually make a double batch because it's hard to eat just one! I have made these twice with cashew butter because the price of almond butter is so high right now. I don't know if they could be any better with the almond butter. Pros: Easy to make and delicious Cons: None Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/20/2014
Scrumptious! These cookies were quick and easy to put together and they were absolutely delicious! My only complaint is that it's hard to eat just one. I'm sending this recipe to all my relatives. Pros: Delicious quick easy Cons: Too tempting Read More
Rating: 5 stars
02/24/2014
Tasty treats I couldn't find Quinoa flour so I substituted it with almond flour and added a little flax meal for additional health benefits. I used fresh made almond butter which is naturally a little chunky. Also not sure that had an effect but I greased the pan with coconut oil before the parchment paper instead of cooking spray. These turned out amazing. I had them in for the exact time and I think they turned out great! I will be making them again! Maybe I'll find quinoa flour for next time. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
02/09/2014
Yummy These were awesome! I used splenda brown sugar and a mix of sugar free chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. I also added a little unsweetened coconut. My only issue were they were a little dry. I'm going to try a little more butter or creamy instead of chunky almond butter to see if that helps. Other than that delicious! Everyone I shared them with really enjoyed them! Super versatile recipe to change up to your liking. Pros: Very tasty Cons: A lil dry Read More
Rating: 4 stars
01/26/2014
Moist and delicious This is a simple and delicious recipe. We served it to guests for my daughter's birthday. Many people went back for seconds. I did not stir the chips into the batter. Instead I sprinkled them over the top and baked several minutes until the chips were shiny at which point I used a knife to spread them over the top. Then using the tip of the knife I swirled the melted chocolate into the top. This gives the bars a more attractive look and creates a fudgy layer on top. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
08/17/2013
I have candida so I used xylitol instead of sugar and carob instead of chocolate and it tasted absolutely awesome. I will definitely be adding this recipe to my collection of favourites. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
06/04/2013
Question on making quinoa flour Just curious do you rinse the quinoa before grinding into flour? Most quinoa recipes recommend rinsing or soaking the quinoa prior to cooking in order to remove the bitter flavor. I imagine that in order to make the flour you would need to rinse the quinoa and then let it dry before grinding? Read More
Rating: 4 stars
05/11/2013
turned it into bisccotti great basic recipe and made some alterations to it I don't like things so sweet and I don't eat butter. substitutes: 1/4 c. of olive oil 1/4 c. of raw sugar chopped up dark chocolate 1/2 c of almond butter probably 1/8 more quinoa flour It came out drier so I turned it into biscotti. It's softer biscotti but its pretty yummy. Pros: simple and easy Cons: too much sugar and uses butter Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/29/2013
I never comment on a recipe but these are so good I just had to share. My husband is gluten intolerant so I'm always searching for creative alternative recipes. I cooked these exactly how the recipe said to and they turned out terrific! Couldn't even tell I used quinoa. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/22/2013
Great recipe! This was my first time baking with quinoa flour and I was not disappointed! I made my own flour using a coffee grinder. They were done at 25 minutes although they were not a golden brown on the edges like I am used to. I think the chocolate balances out the flavor of the quinoa flour perfectly. Will definitely make these again! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
04/21/2013
Made some changes and LOVE them! I used apple sauce instead of butter and 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips and got the calorie count down to 63 each (25 in the 8pan). I think they are great and the Quinoa flour which I ground myself was a great!. I would make these again! Pros: Healthy Cons: None Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/13/2013
Amazingly delicous I used my baby bullet to grind up my quinoa. Worked great and these taste better than white flour blondies. Pros: Made with quinoa and no flour Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/13/2013
Yum! I used peanut butter instead of almond and mini chocolate chips. I bought my quinoa flour. Used an 8x8 glass pan and cooked for 35 minutes. They were gooey when warm but by the next morning (unrefrigerated) they were just like regular blondies. They're decadent when warm with a bit of ice cream! Pros: Easy!! Cons: Took longer to cook than expected Read More
Rating: 2 stars
03/12/2013
Although these turned out picture perfect in how they looked and the texture I couldn't get past the taste of the puinoa flour. I ground my own flour as suggested and the smell was horrible. The blondies tasted like that smell the first day and the second. I won't be making these again. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/11/2013
I'd agree that you really get closer to 16 servings out of this. I disagree with a previous reviewer about the time to bake and gooey-ness. Mine came out perfect at 25 minutes golden brown and a lot like a tollhouse bar...though WAY better! My kids devoured these! Pros: Great Taste! Cons: 24 servings is ambitious - more like 16.... Read More
Rating: 4 stars
03/09/2013
I ground my own quinoa flour. I used a 9 by 9 pan. They were done in 25 minutes and I thought they were moist sweet and delicious. I recommend them as a healthy dessert. I might make them again and use coconut sugar. Pros: Healthy moist sweet Cons: Uses butter eggs and sugar a big grainy texture Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/04/2013
I m hooked I made these at dinner time and they were delicious but they were even better in the morning (did not refrigerate). They remind me of toll house cookie bars but without all the junk. I don't think I got 24 servings ( they would be about fudge size for that quantity). Will definitely make these again. I am always on the lookout for grain-free. Pros: Quick and easy Cons: Can eat the whole pan Read More
Rating: 1 stars
03/03/2013
Almond Butter Blondie Bust Although my toothpick came out clean at 25 minutes they need to cook longer. They do not have the golden brown appearance after 25 minutes. You should use a larger pan than the recipe calls for otherwise the bars are too thick. They are a gooey mess and have to be frozen in order to eat them without them crumbling apart. Read More