Recipe Image

Ancho-Honey Pork Tenderloin with Cheese Grits

  • 30 m
  • 30 m
EatingWell Test Kitchen
“In this recipe, roast pork tenderloin is glazed with honey, lime, soy and ancho chile powder and served on top of cheese grits. Ancho chile powder, made from dried poblano peppers, has a mild heat and adds a rich, subtly smoky flavor. Serve with sauteed kale with slivered garlic.”

Ingredients

    • ¼ cup honey
    • 2 teaspoons lime juice
    • 2 teaspoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
    • 1 teaspoon ancho chile powder
    • ½ teaspoon onion powder, divided
    • 1 pork tenderloin (1-1¼ pounds), trimmed
    • ¼ teaspoon salt
    • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
    • 1 14-ounce can reduced-sodium chicken broth
    • ½ cup water
    • ½ cup quick grits
    • ¼ teaspoon freshly ground pepper
    • ¾ cup shredded extra-sharp Cheddar cheese
    • 2 scallions, sliced

Directions

  • 1 Preheat oven to 425°F.
  • 2 Whisk honey, lime juice, soy sauce, chile powder and ¼ teaspoon onion powder in a small bowl. Set aside.
  • 3 Sprinkle pork all over with salt and the remaining ¼ teaspoon onion powder. Heat oil in a large ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat. Add the pork and cook until brown on all sides, 4 to 5 minutes.
  • 4 Transfer the skillet to the oven and roast for 10 minutes. Remove from the oven and brush with the reserved honey mixture. Return to the oven and roast until an instant-read thermometer inserted into the thickest part registers 145°F, 3 to 5 minutes more. Transfer the pork to a clean cutting board and let rest for 5 minutes.
  • 5 Meanwhile, bring broth and water to a boil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Whisk in grits and pepper. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover and cook, stirring occasionally, until thickened, 5 to 7 minutes. Remove from the heat and stir in cheese. Cover to keep warm.
  • 6 Slice the pork. Serve the pork with the grits, sprinkled with scallions and drizzled with any remaining glaze from the skillet.
  • People with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity should use soy sauces that are labeled "gluten-free," as soy sauce may contain wheat or other gluten-containing sweeteners and flavors.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2017 EatingWell.com Printed From EatingWell.com 8/16/2017