An aromatic mixture of garlic, paprika, cumin, coriander, allspice and cayenne flavors this vegetarian quinoa and squash casserole recipe. Frozen squash is a super-easy topping. Source: EatingWell Magazine, September/October 2012

Carolyn Malcoun
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

    Advertisement
  • Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a large ovenproof skillet over medium heat. Add onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until tender and browned, 9 to 11 minutes. Add garlic, paprika, 2 teaspoons cumin, coriander, cayenne and allspice and cook for 30 seconds. Stir in chickpeas, tomatoes, spinach, quinoa (or couscous), raisins, water and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Cook, stirring, for 5 minutes. Remove from heat.

  • If thawed squash is watery, place in a fine-mesh sieve and gently press to extract excess liquid. Transfer to a medium bowl and stir in the remaining 1 tablespoon oil, 1/2 teaspoon cumin and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Spread the squash evenly over the chickpea mixture.

  • Cover the pan and bake until steaming hot, about 45 minutes for quinoa (15 minutes for couscous). Let cool for 5 minutes. Serve sprinkled with cilantro.

Tips

Make Ahead Tip: Prepare through Step 2, transfer to a 3-quart baking dish; top with squash mixture (Step 3), cover and refrigerate for up to 2 days. Let stand at room temperature while oven preheats. Bake, covered, until bubbling at the edges and heated through, about 45

Storage smarts: For long-term freezer storage, wrap your food in a layer of plastic wrap followed by a layer of foil. The plastic will help prevent freezer burn while the foil will help keep off-odors from seeping into the food.

Nutrition Facts

437 calories; 11 g total fat; 1.4 g saturated fat; 741 mg sodium. 1088 mg potassium; 75.7 g carbohydrates; 14.1 g fiber; 15 g sugar; 14.6 g protein; 10172 IU vitamin a iu; 24 mg vitamin c; 227 mcg folate; 205 mg calcium; 7 mg iron; 160 mg magnesium;

Reviews (10)

Read More Reviews
10 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 3
  • 4 star values: 4
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 1 stars
11/26/2018
I used sev instead of frozen squash which i couldn't find and sounded gross. Also used pinto instead of.garbanzo. i like eating healthy but this just didn't make the grade. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
04/14/2015
Really good vegan casserole I followed the directions using the make ahead guidance and it turned out really good. You do not have to precook the quinoa. I used the frozen spinach but would use fresh in the future as the frozen was really stringy and unappealing. The only other thing I would do differently is possibly use more squash for the topping (increasing seasoning accordingly). It seemed really thin on the top-I would think if you put it in the 9x13 pan like someone did it would be hard to spread thin enough. Pros: Goes together quickly Cons: Frozen spinach is too stringy Read More
Rating: 4 stars
11/28/2013
I made this with less olive oil and fresh kale instead of frozen spinach. I also used a jumbo raisin medley instead of golden raisins. Delicious! Pros: vegan Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
10/27/2013
Help Should the Qunioa be cooked prior to adding all ingredients? Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/18/2013
Loved It Even Without Meat I followed the instructions and made a casserole that delighted the vegetarians and non-vegetarians at a potluck that I went to. I have since made it several times to rave reviews once using smoked paprika (yum!) and another time using navy beans instead of garbanzo (since I didn't have any). Also I have transferred the ingredients into a 9x13 pyrex dish and baked it without a problem if you don't have an oven-proof skillet. This has been a great recipe for me and I've shared it a lot. Pros: Great for Vegans and Non-Vegans. Do-able Anytime If You Stock the Ingredients. Cons: Its a little adventurous for some palates. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
05/23/2013
Fantastic I made this last night for my family as part of our effort to eat healthy. I initially thought it sounded good but wasn't sure my family would like to spices. Well this tasted fantastic and my daughters loved it and went back for seconds and thirds. I added some turkey bacon as another reviewer suggested. It was a hit with everyone and complimented the flavors of the dish. We will be making this one regularly. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/25/2012
Vegetarian Quinoa and Squash Casserole Definitely use Quinoa - not couscous. (good for gluten-free too!) Pros: Delicious Read More
Rating: 2 stars
10/09/2012
This recipe has no QUINOA in it!! Quinoa and cous cous are not the same thing. Cous cous is made from semolina a wheat product like pasta. Quinoa is a grain from South America. Totally different but so frequently confused by ignorant cooks. Exchange the cous cous for quinoa and the recipe will be more true. Pros: Lots of great ingredients and flavors Cons: The ingredient list has no QUINOA in it as the title suggests. Read More
Rating: 3 stars
09/23/2012
Good I used a cast iron dutch oven because they didn't say what size skillet and I knew my dutch oven could go in the oven. Pros: I like the raisins that little bite of sweet with the savory flavors. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
09/07/2012
Wonderfully flavorful A great dish bursting with flavors. I have changed a few thing though mostly because I preferred to use fresh ingredients instead of frozen. I roasted and pureed butternut squash with just 1tsp of sour cream and cumin cooked quinoa separately and used red onion. I sauteed fresh baby spinach with garbanzo beans quinoa tomatoes raisins & cranberries and some turkey bacon I needed to use (I am not a vegetarian). After transferring the mixture to a baking dish I topped it with pureed squash cilantro and just a little bit of light shredded cheddar and baked at 425F for about 15 minutes. I also added more spices as I like hot dishes. Will definitely be making it again. Read More