Recipe Image

Three-Pea, Cashew & Tofu Stir-Fry

  • 50 m
  • 50 m
David Bonom
“Pressing tofu before making this tofu stir-fry recipe gives it a chewy, satisfying texture. Three green peas—sugar snaps, snow peas and shelling peas—balance it out with brightly flavored crunch. Hoisin—a dark brown, thick, spicy-sweet sauce made from soybeans and a complex mix of spices—gives the stir-fry rich depth of flavor with just one ingredient. Look for it, as well as chile-garlic sauce, in the Asian section of the market.”

Ingredients

    • 1 14-ounce package water-packed extra-firm or firm tofu, drained
    • 3 tablespoons hoisin sauce
    • 2 tablespoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
    • ½ teaspoon chile-garlic sauce
    • 2 tablespoons canola oil, divided
    • 1 cup chopped onion
    • 2 cloves garlic, minced
    • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
    • 2½ cups sugar snap peas (8 ounces), trimmed
    • 2¼ cups snow peas (8 ounces), trimmed
    • 1 cup peas, fresh or frozen (thawed)
    • ½ cup lightly salted cashew halves and pieces

Directions

  • 1 Fold a clean kitchen towel and place it on a cutting board or large plate. Set tofu on the towel. Put another folded clean towel over the tofu and place a flat, heavy weight (such as a heavy skillet) on top; drain for 30 minutes.
  • 2 Whisk hoisin sauce, soy sauce and chile-garlic sauce in a small bowl.
  • 3 Cut the pressed tofu into ½-inch cubes. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat until it shimmers. Add the tofu and cook, turning occasionally, until browned, 6 to 8 minutes. Transfer to a plate.
  • 4 Return the skillet to the heat and add the remaining 1 tablespoon oil. Stir in onion, garlic and ginger; cook, stirring often, until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add snap peas, snow peas and peas; cook, stirring often, until bright green, 2 to 3 minutes. Return the tofu to the pan along with the hoisin mixture and cashews; cook, stirring, until heated through, about 1 minute.
  • People with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity should use soy sauces that are labeled "gluten-free," as soy sauce may contain wheat or other gluten-containing sweeteners and flavors.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2019 EatingWell.com Printed From EatingWell.com 9/22/2019