Celebrate the flavors of fall with chicken cooked in a fast apple-cranberry sauce. If you prefer a less tart flavor, try dried cranberries instead of fresh. Serve with quick-cooking wild rice and roasted Brussels sprouts. Source: EatingWell Magazine, September/October 2011

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Sprinkle both sides of chicken tenders with 1/4 teaspoon each thyme, salt and pepper. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to medium and add the chicken. Cook, stirring, until lightly browned on all sides, 3 to 4 minutes total. Transfer to a clean plate.

    Advertisement
  • Add the remaining 1 tablespoon oil to the pan. Add apples, onion, 2 tablespoons cider (or juice) and the remaining 1/2 teaspoon each thyme and salt. Stir to combine. Cook, stirring often, until the apples and onion are softened, 3 to 4 minutes. Add cranberries and sprinkle flour over everything in the pan; cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Return the chicken to the pan and pour in the remaining cider (or juice). Cover and cook, stirring once or twice, until the sauce has thickened and the chicken is cooked through, about 3 minutes more.

Nutrition Facts

287 calories; 9.9 g total fat; 1.3 g saturated fat; 63 mg cholesterol; 496 mg sodium. 415 mg potassium; 26.1 g carbohydrates; 4.2 g fiber; 17 g sugar; 23.9 g protein; 89 IU vitamin a iu; 11 mg vitamin c; 19 mcg folate; 36 mg calcium; 1 mg iron; 35 mg magnesium;

Reviews (11)

Read More Reviews
11 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 5
  • 4 star values: 3
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
11/26/2015
Great easy dish This chicken dish was awesome! Pros: Loved the sweet tart combo Read More
Rating: 2 stars
01/03/2015
Way too sweet! This dish had good flavors but it was far too sweet! The apples become sweeter as you cook them as does the apple juice. They shouldn't be used together in a dish like this. If chicken broth were used in place of the apple juice this may be a great dish. Ours was served over angel hair pasta. The sauce is light enough that this worked well. Pros: Healthy interesting easy-to-find ingredients Cons: Too much sugar from the fruit Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/11/2014
YUMMM! This is one of our favorite recipes in our home. Its the perfect combination of ingredients. I use whole cranberry sauce (canned) which adds more texture and sweetness. We like to serve this over jasmine or basmati rice. Definitely a recipe to try! Pros: Easy different delicious Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 1 stars
02/11/2013
Tart mish-mash of flavors This might be great with dried sweetened cranberries but as is with the fresh berries it was incredibly tart. I agree with the reviewer who suggested sauteeing the onions first then adding the apples. I think that may have helped along with the dried cranberries. I followed the recipe as written. Pros: Quick and easy Cons: Too tart flavors didn't meld well Read More
Rating: 5 stars
12/23/2012
Really awesome dish for a cold winter's night This was a great dish to make. I love the sweet fresh cranberries and the savory sauce it makes with the apples. I made this recipe exactly as instructed and it was a true success. As for this recipe the apples where delish in conjunction with the fresh cranberries gave it a tangy and sweet taste. The onions when cooked and breaks down with the apples creates this most savory sauce (thanks to the flour) that pulls the dish together. It satisfies the sweet tooth and the savory sauce seeker in a dinner dish. I didn't think it would match but it was the perfect match of ying and yang for a dinner dish. I made this with a simple side salad and was satisfied without any complaints. Try this out and see for yourselves how great this dish comes together. A tip - I buy as many bags or pints of fresh cranberries during the season and store them in the freezer. They will store up to one year and you will have fresh cranberries throughout the year. I would always use fresh cranberries because it has just the right consistency needed for the dish. They pop when cooking but they break down really quickly with the heat and taste incredible! Pros: tangy tasty a new comfort food sweet and savory for a chicken dish Read More
Rating: 3 stars
11/29/2012
accurate description It's good. I used pre-cooked chicken and added orange zest. Also substituted orange juice and water for the cider. The rest I kept the same. Easy healthy and yummy. Pros: healthy and comforting Cons: needs a grain or something else with it Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
11/17/2012
Tangy seasonal chicken dish Loved the tartness the fresh cranberries brought. I agree with another critic: start sauteeing the onions about 1 minute before the apple. I used a sweeter apple (all I had on hand) and that helped offset some of the tartness of the berries. Pros: Ingredients easily on hand Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/03/2012
Quick and delicious I followed this recipe exactly and it was fantastic. very easy and quick to assemble. Pros: takes no time to pull together Cons: none Read More
Rating: 4 stars
01/23/2012
Great with dried cranberries DO NOT use fresh cranberries!! I made this and it was great until I added fresh cranberries. Next time I will use dried as they have sweetness. This is a really good recipes though. Easy fast and tasty! Cons: don't use fresh cranberries! they are so tart it ruins the dish. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
11/02/2011
Quick and Delicious! This dish is absolutely delicious! I didn't have thyme so I subbed oregano for it and I had to add a little more flour to make the sauce thicken up. I used fresh cranberries instead of the frozen which made the sauce extra tart but we really liked it. Make sure you put the cover completely on if you use fresh cranberries - they pop when they heat up and a few tried to jump out of the pan on me! I would also recommend cooking the onions for about a minute before adding the apples as the apples get softer quicker. My sauce almost ended up as cranberry-onion-applesauce because of this but it still tasted great! I served this with steamed brussels sprouts and french bread. Pros: SUPER yummy! Cons: Looks kind of gross (not much color) Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Great Flavor Fast and Easy Great recipe. I followed it exactly as written but my sauce didn't get as thick as I wanted it to be so I removed the chicken and apple mixture and added a bit more flour and cooked the sauce a bit more to thicken it. Other than that this recipe is really flavorful. Will definitely make again. Read More