Tomatoes and corn have a natural affinity for one another: the slight acidity of tomatoes balances the sweetness of the corn. Here they partner in a delicious quiche-like pie. The dough is very forgiving and bakes up into a sturdy shell that's great for just about any savory pie or tart. Perfect for a summer brunch or try it with a tossed salad for a light supper. Source: EatingWell Magazine, July/August 2010

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Crust

Filling

Directions

  • To prepare crust: Combine whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, 1/2 teaspoon each salt and pepper in a large bowl. Make a well in the center, add oil and water and gradually stir them in to form a soft dough. Wrap the dough in plastic and chill in the refrigerator for 15 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

  • Roll the dough into a 12-inch circle on a lightly floured surface. Transfer to a 9-inch pie pan, preferably deep-dish, and press into the bottom and up the sides. Trim any overhanging crust. Line the dough with a piece of foil or parchment paper large enough to lift out easily; fill evenly with pie weights or dry beans. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove the foil or paper and weights. Let cool on a wire rack for at least 10 minutes or up to 1 hour.

  • To prepare filling: Whisk eggs and milk in a medium bowl. Sprinkle half the cheese over the crust, then layer half the tomatoes evenly over the cheese. Sprinkle with corn, thyme, 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper and the remaining 1/4 cup cheese. Layer the remaining tomatoes on top and sprinkle with the remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt. Pour the egg mixture over the top.

  • Bake the pie until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean, 40 to 50 minutes. Let cool for 20 minutes before serving.

Tips

Ingredient note: Look for whole-wheat pastry flour in large supermarkets and natural-foods stores. Store it in the freezer.

Tip: To remove corn kernels from the cob, stand an ear of corn on one end and slice the kernels off with a sharp knife.

Nutrition Facts

258 calories; 14.4 g total fat; 3.5 g saturated fat; 78 mg cholesterol; 381 mg sodium. 216 mg potassium; 23.7 g carbohydrates; 2.3 g fiber; 4 g sugar; 8.3 g protein; 537 IU vitamin a iu; 6 mg vitamin c; 59 mcg folate; 104 mg calcium; 1 mg iron; 21 mg magnesium;

Reviews (24)

Read More Reviews
24 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 22
  • 4 star values: 2
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
08/19/2014
I've been making this recipe every August for about three years. I do not use the wheat crust but make my regular pie crust. Everything else I follow exactly - wonderful every time. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
07/20/2014
I never liked corn pie before but this...yum! The crust was easy to roll and perfect. I think next time I'll decrease the milk to 3/4 cup and increase the amount of cheese. We ate it with bacon crumbled on top and a side salad. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
06/18/2014
Best Summer Dish Have made this several times and its always great. Used store bought crust when in a rush. Sometimes top with bacon. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
07/25/2013
Wonderful summer meatless dish I prebaked the crust for about 30 minutes and in the end it was still kind of soggy but this was still delicious!! I doubled the amount of corn added a little extra cheese and used fresh basil instead of thyme. Serve it with a green salad. The only issue is that it takes an hour and a half. But worth it. Pros: Delicious tasty local ingredients easy Cons: Time consuming Read More
Rating: 5 stars
07/01/2013
So good you'll need to bake two! Delicious and summery. Fresh and easy to make. Excellend served warm or cold.I've made this dish several times for company and picnics. I added chopped kale to mine and crumbled sausage. This dish is so popular in my house that you'll need to make two! Pros: easy inexpensive fresh ingredients Cons: more than one dish used Read More
Rating: 5 stars
01/28/2013
Crunchy and savory This is a delightful recipe that can be used for any meal. I love basil so may use that in place of the thyme for the next preparation. Loved it! and will make again and again. Pros: fast easy Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
08/21/2012
Healthy Yummy! This was an absolutely great summer dish! It was the delicious sweet corn that made it. Soit is a must that your ear of corn is the best! Pros: Nutritious Cons: Time consuming Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This was the first thing I made from the newest issue of Eating Well magazine - delicious! Very light and fresh. The crust was easy to roll out (unlike some recipes I've tried) and the balance of flavors was just right. A great way to use the fresh tomatoes and corn from the garden! Even our four-year-old was satisfied. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I really liked this recipe. It was a good way to use some of the tomatoes and corn from my garden. I am always looking for recipes that I can make for my 84 year old dad so second time I made in individual ramekins and froze a few of them for him. We will experiment on the reheating. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Thia pie was wonderful. Made it for a family get-together and it was a hit. Crust was very tasty. I will definitely use this recipe again. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I thought is was OK. I was not able to make the crust since my husband has celiac but I don't think that mattered that much. I thought it was kind of bland. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Excellent! I was short on time so just used a Pillsbury roll out crust did not prebake and it worked fine. Baked the entire recipe in 35 minutes. Great concert picnic food served at room temperature with chardonnay. Tastes like summer! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Simple and delicious! I added an extra half a cup each of corn and tomatoes and an additional quarter cup of the cheddar. The corn tomatoes and cheese complemented each other beautifully yet still allowed each ingredient to sing. The crust was the easiest crust I have ever made and it tasted wonderful! Although the directions don't specifically say to I would generously oil the pan-- my crust stuck a bit even though I oiled it lightly. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Delicious! I used prepared crust and frozen corn but the pie came out wonderfully. It is a savory light dish with bright flavor. This is a great way to use extra tomatoes from the garden and works well for breakfast or dinner (just add a roll and salad). Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Very tasty and the lone leftover piece made an excellent lunch. I used farmer's market corn and homegrown tomatoes and thyme. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made this yesterday and took it to a picnic. It was a real hit. The men liked it too! I used a purchased pie crust to save time. Also used frozen corn. When I make again I will cook the frozen corn for a short time before adding to the pie. This will make the kernels more tender. This is a good light and tasty recipe! Redmond WA Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This recipe turned out well and was a great way to use up extra corn and tomatoes from my farm share. It was a hit as a summer dinner with friends and a couple toddlers. Similar to other reviewers I used a pre-made crust which saves time but might not have as much flavor. I'd add a bit more salt and pepper to this recipe the next time I make it. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
A great spin on the classic quiche! I added some ham to mine used a normal pie crust recipe and used basil instead of thyme since that was all we had. My husband even said to write this recipe down so we can have it again! The only thing I might do differently is use less tomatoes. They seemed to overpower all of the other great flavors in this recipe. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I've made this several times for company and at-home supper. The crust is a winner--stays crispy even as leftovers. I used heirloom tomatoes yellow with the other farm stand ones and it made a pretty presentation. Everyone who has had this loves it. It's a keeper for my summertime recipes. from nhdree Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Definitely need to pre bake crust like recipe states I thought another comment said you could skip this step but the outer crust was crisp and delish and the bottom soggy I might try feta next time I make it. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Delicious! Although pre-baking the crust (if you choose to) does take a while this is a very easy and delicious recipe. The only change I would make is that next time I would mix in the salt pepper and thyme with the egg mixture - sprinkling it on in the middle of construction of this caused it to clump together in some parts which was always came as a surprise while eating it. Overall - this recipe is definitely a keeper! Pros: Tasty Cons: Although easy to make it does take a while if you make the crust yourself Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
delish!! brought this to a neighborhood cook out. it was a big hit!.i used store bought crust. i used a package of three cheese blend and used lots of fresh basil instead of thyme. mixed fresh ground pepper and sea salt into egg mixture before cooking. this has become a family fav. great for breakfast too! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
This is wonderful!! This is delicious easy and an excellent meal for a light summer supper. Sweet tomatoes and fresh corn are the key here I think. I substituted fresh basil for thyme - which I will do again as it was wonderful. I used a really good sharp cheddar which I think is the way to go. Will certainly do this again... Pros: tasty easy Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Yummy w/ Heirloom Tomatoes Delicious! I am a baker and crust is my specialty. This crust was so crisp and nutty. I was really impressed. We used heirloom tomatoes and loved the sweet tomato taste. Couldnt taste too much of the corn or cheese. Fresh thyme tomatoes and nutty crust were the predominant flavors. Will make it again! Pros: Looks just like the pretty picture Cons: Couldnt taste the corn Read More