Here we take basic lasagna ingredients--ricotta cheese, pasta and tomatoes--and skip the layering and long baking time to make a super-quick and satisfying meal for the whole family. To cut down on prep time, look for presliced mushrooms. For meat lovers, brown some crumbled turkey sausage along with the onions and garlic. Serve with: Steamed broccoli and whole-grain baguette. Source: EatingWell Magazine, January/February 2010

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add pasta; cook until just tender, 8 to 10 minutes or according to package directions. Drain and transfer to a large bowl.

    Advertisement
  • Meanwhile, heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and cook, stirring, until soft and beginning to brown, about 3 minutes. Add mushrooms, salt and pepper and cook, stirring, until the mushrooms release their liquid, 4 to 6 minutes.

  • Add tomatoes, spinach and crushed red pepper (if using). Increase heat to medium-high; cook, stirring once halfway through, until the spinach is wilted, about 4 minutes.

  • Toss the sauce with the pasta and divide among 4 bowls. Dollop each serving with 3 tablespoons of ricotta.

Nutrition Facts

338 calories; 8.6 g total fat; 3 g saturated fat; 14 mg cholesterol; 493 mg sodium. 815 mg potassium; 53.5 g carbohydrates; 8 g fiber; 4 g sugar; 17.5 g protein; 4572 IU vitamin a iu; 27 mg vitamin c; 142 mcg folate; 231 mg calcium; 4 mg iron; 139 mg magnesium; 1 mg thiamin;

Reviews (55)

Read More Reviews
56 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 8
  • 4 star values: 33
  • 3 star values: 5
  • 2 star values: 6
  • 1 star values: 4
Rating: 3 stars
02/28/2018
This was okay actually I shouldn't be so harsh it came all together nicely but there just wasn't anything really special about it. Especially the ricotta at the end it's a nice texture but it's very plain by itself. So I think if you changed up your ingredients this could be a tasty one dish Wonder Read More
Rating: 5 stars
11/29/2017
Adding cooked sliced carrots give it a festival appeal and a new dimension in flavor. Everybody liked it and there is never any leftovers no matter how much is made. Thanks Read More
Rating: 5 stars
07/07/2017
I did this recipe with left over pasta on a week night and it was fabulous. Quick and easy and did have all the flavors of lasagna. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
05/23/2017
Looking at the recipie and the reviews I did tweek it a bit. But it ended up being perfect!!! Even toddler approved. I did have to double it for a large family so I used 1 pound of spinach. I drained the tomatoes added turkey sausage seasoned with onion powder and garlic powder while cooking the mushrooms. I made sure not to Over Cook the vegetables so they were soft but still flavorful! Read More
Rating: 1 stars
09/25/2015
Bland! This needs seasoning not just salt and pepper. I would load it up with Italian seasoning and Oregano. Too many recipe sites are just too scared to season it seems. Pros: Not many Pros Cons: Too Bland and high in carbs. Not very healthy at all. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
12/01/2014
I added a bit of ground turkey and shredded mozzarella after reading the reviews since we enjoy flavorful meals. It was a hit! We will definitely have it again! Pros: Quick Recipe Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
03/23/2014
After looking at the other reviews I was worried the dish may turn out bland but it wasn't at all! The herbed diced tomatoes added nice flavor and three cloves of garlic really added a kick. I added tofu instead of the ricotta cheese--otherwise I didn't alter the dish at all. And I have plenty of leftovers for lunch throughout the week! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
11/09/2013
Delicious Vegetarian Meal! I made this for dinner last night and it was delicious! I get tired of making the same things all the time and since I don't have a working oven to make lasagna I thought this sounded perfect. I tweaked the recipe just a little; I used the entire box of fusilli used two cans of tomatoes used canned mushrooms instead of fresh (my own personal preference) and opted for a little shredded mozzarella on top instead of ricotta. I was worried that it would be bland as others stated but I did not find it bland at all. It was a little watery at first but as we ate our first helping the extra liquid absorbed and it was perfectly fine. This is something I will be making from now on! Pros: Easy Cheap Quick Tasty Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/27/2013
A quick delish and healthy tasting dish! I followed this recipe exactly as written with the addition of 1 1/2 tsp of Better than Bouillon chicken to add a little more flavor. I also added ground turkey sausage. Like another reviewer I added the ricotta to the dish while it was still in the pan (several dollops not stirred). I served up the fusilli in bowls and topped each of them with the meat mixture. Very yummy. Pros: quick and easy Read More
Rating: 4 stars
04/15/2013
Good but needed just a little tweaking to make it great. I make things more than once before I review. On this it was good although I did tweak it. My tweaking consist of draining the tomatoes really well before adding to reduce liquid. Being a spice and flavor girl I added Italian spices according to taste and used a whole garlic bulb. I also added turkey sausage to appease my husband which added additional flavor. I used gluten free noodles as well b/c of my wheat intolerance. To make it a little bit more healthy took out the cheese. The first time I made it it wasn't runny. The second time it was. I think the difference is in how I made it and how I was judging the heat of the skillet. If it does become sort of runny get a perforated or slotted serving spoon that drains. Problem solved. Pros: Has a chili bite to it and it's a good alternative to spaghetti Cons: Runny Read More
Rating: 2 stars
04/08/2013
Husband made a face and said Must be really healthy I should have read these other reviews... I just saw the 4 stars and thought it must be good. Those people who rated it high obviously did not make it. I followed the directions to a tee it was so very tasteless and like another reviewer said it made too much now I'm stuck with all the leftovers. My husband usually compliments my cooking even if it's not the best but this time he made a face and said this must be really healthy. Read More
Rating: 2 stars
02/24/2013
Easy to prepare but very bland This recipe was very easy to prepare however i found it very bland. I even spiced it up a bit. I would suggest you add some fresh herbs and add some fat free chicken broth because i found that the pasta absorbed all the liquid which is why i think it was dry and lacked flavor. I guess this recipe was just not for me but i must say there are some very good recipes on this site. Pros: Easy to prepare Cons: Too dry and not enough flavor Read More
Rating: 2 stars
02/06/2013
Made way more for me than 4 servings of 1 1/2 cups also bland Am I the only person for whom this made WAY more than it said it would? Also it was pretty bland. I ended up putting more salt and pepper parmesan instead of ricotta and hot sauce in it to make it better. Cons: Bland Read More
Rating: 1 stars
01/08/2013
inside out lasagna Try cooking the mushrooms 1st with extra garlic salt & pepper and Italian spices. Liquid will escape and burn off. Set aside then follow the complete recipe adding the cooked mushrooms. Also add more Italian spices such as oregano basil hot pepper. add parmesan or roman cheese..you get the picture. Pros: bland Cons: healthy ingredients Read More
Rating: 2 stars
09/09/2012
I agree with many other reviewers that this recipe comes out remarkably bland. I made a few alterations per other reviewers' tips like adding tomato paste to thicken the sauce and parmesan for more flavor. Still the result was underwhelming to say the least. It's definitely promising -- the mushrooms picked up the garlic and onion flavors nicely for example -- but it needs a thing or two more. Next time I'll try adding sausage as others have suggested. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
09/07/2012
Next best thing when you don't have hours to make lasagna. I have tried many other skillet lasagna recipes and this has been the best by far. Maybe the blandness others are experiencing is coming from the tomatoes they used. I used Hunts brand with Rosemary and Oregano. I did add a few shakes of italian seasoning. Other minor modifications: I omitted the onion and used cottage cheese instead of ricotta because of taste preferences. I also used broken up lasagna noodles instead of spirals. What took this dish to the next level for me was adding mozzarella to the top and baking the whole skillet in the over for about 5 minutes. It gives you all the melt-y goodness of the traditional dish. I will be making this again and again for sure. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
08/13/2012
Just made this for my family...they loved it !! I added black olives which made it even better ! It was fast , easy and delicious ! Read More
Rating: 1 stars
06/18/2012
Made just as it called for. Even used fire roasted tomatos. Still very tasteless. I am at a loss at what could have made it better. Read More
Rating: 3 stars
05/17/2012
Play around more I've made this twice and both times I added tomato paste and extra italian spices. I make the whole recipe and then split it into 2 portions. There is only my husband and I and it freezes well. When I bake it I put the ricotta in the middle and top with mozzarella. I like that it doesn't have a heavy or strong tomato sauce. You just have to jazz it up a little. Pros: Light clean easy to make. Cons: a bit watery and can be bland. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
05/07/2012
I thought it was delicious! I made this tonight for myself and my 5 year old son and it was tasty! I left out the salt because I am sensitive to excess sodium and canned tomatoes already have enough of it. I would add a little tomato paste next time to thicken it up slightly and add fresh herbs at the end of cooking to make it more flavorful. However it is pretty flavorful as it is! I will also use fresh tomatoes next time to cut the sodium from canned ones. My son hates green veggies including spinach and this was a great sneaky way to get him to eat spinach! Haha! I will also make this on a weekend next time so I can have a glass of wine with it as I don't drink during the week:) Pros: healthy flavorful filling creative Cons: a little watery salt is too much Read More
Rating: 5 stars
05/07/2012
I thought it was delicious! I made this tonight for myself and my 5 year old son and it was tasty! I left out the salt because I am sensitive to excess sodium and canned tomatoes already have enough of it. I would add a little tomato paste next time to thicken it up slightly and add fresh herbs at the end of cooking to make it more flavorful. However it is pretty flavorful as it is! I will also use fresh tomatoes next time to cut the sodium from canned ones. My son hates green veggies including spinach and this was a great sneaky way to get him to eat spinach! Haha! I will also make this on a weekend next time so I can have a glass of wine with it as I don;t drink during the week:) Pros: healthy flavorful filling creative Cons: a little watery salt is too much Read More
Rating: 2 stars
04/23/2012
It's OK but very bland I added ground turkey. It was looking good but when I added the can of tomatoes it got SUPER watery. After everything was added I tasted it and it was very bland. I added more salt still bland. Added garlic salt still bland. I think added seasoning salt then it got a little better. But still a bit bland. All and all it's healthy it was OK. Probably won't make again Read More
Rating: 4 stars
03/11/2012
Tasty! I read the reviews here before I made this - only real changes were a little bit of tomato puree little more spices (I'm usually a little heavy handed with them anyway) and no ricotta. (I'm a college kid I'd never finish the rest of it) Mine turned out really good! It is slightly on the watery side but I don't really see it as a problem - it's just a chunkier sauce with a little thinner stuff with it. If it came out the same way next time I would probably dump the pasta back into the sauce pot and mix it all up - that would probably solve any wateriness problems. But overall mine is delicious. It's a good way to incorporate some veggies into your pasta dinner. Pros: easy to make easy ingredients good taste Cons: slightly on the watery side Read More
Rating: 2 stars
02/21/2012
DO NOT follow recipe do not make this recipe as it is i made it... minus mushrooms because my wife hates mushrooms and minus red pepper because i didnt have any and we were both disspointed taking out mushrooms saves about 20 calories per serving add 1/2 cup mozzeralla cheese and some sweet or hot turkey sausage. this adds only about 80 calories to each serving and makes it much better and more filling. also no idea who would put cold ricotta cheese on hot pasta mix ricotta in at the end to get it same temperature... on a plus side it reheats very well in microwave juices from tomatoes keeps pasta from grossing up in fridge overnight. took it to work with ricotta mixed in and was good... yes ill make it again but not like recipe says Pros: low calorie and filling Cons: bland couldnt stomach second helping if i wanted to. Read More
Rating: 3 stars
02/19/2012
Needs some adjustments This recipe is just lacking a few ingredients and adjustment on cooking instructions. Add a few tablespoons to tomato paste and that will keep the sauce from being too watery. Second if its bland add some fresh herbs if you have them on hand or add dried ones instead. I personally added dollops of ricotta because that is what intrigued me about this recipe but instead of adding it to the plates I transferred the pasta to a baking dish added the ricotta and sprinkled some mozzarella and baked it until the cheese was heated through. After all the adjustments I think this is a pretty solid recipe. Pros: Unique Read More
Rating: 4 stars
01/11/2012
Very delicious with just a few changes I used low fat mild italian sausage instead of turkey sausage. For some reason turkey sausage makers skimp on the spices so I find it pretty bland. I also added about a tablespoon of italian seasoning blend because I couldn't find tomatoes with Italian herbs. Finally I find ricotta by itself very bland so just tossing in whole scoops seemed silly so I mixed it in to thicken up the sauce (which was a little watery from the tomatoes). I also replaced some of the ricotta with parmesan cheese to give a saltier flavor instead of adding more salt. Husband asks for this all the time. Pros: delicious easy to make Cons: needs a few alterations to my taste Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
This is filling and satisfying but it lacks pizazz. I would suggest using tomato sauce in addition to the canned tomatoes. I also added more Italian spices as well as salt and pepper. My husband suggested adding mozzerella cheese. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
This recipe is delicious and a great healthier alternative to lasagna. I also added some Italian spices and mozzarella. This would taste great with some ground beef in it too. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
Very bland! I agree with the other comments that it could use a little spicing up. Some tomato sauce and herbs/spices would have made this recipe much better. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
Made this with 8 oz of lean ground beef a diced zucchini a head of broccoli and no mushrooms (husband won't eat them). Used a jared pasta sauce instead of the canned tomatoes and added 1/2 tsp of Italian spice and about 1/4 cup of red wine to the mix. Cut back on the ricotta a bit and threw in small amount of mozzarella and parm and then broiled it for about 4 minutes to melt/warm it all. Otherwise followed the recipe. Was very tasty. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
Used 1lb 93% lean ground beef chunky jarred marinara sauce fat free ricotta and frozen chopped spinach. Turned out great but was a little spicy for our toddler (used the crushed red pepper). Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
I thought this recipe was great. I made it as is with a heavy hand on the crushed red pepper. I had to keep it warm in the oven and it melted the ricotta slightly. It made the dish creamier giving it the sensation of a lasagna. I agree with others that you can add meat but I think it is great without it. And fresh baby spinach works the best for me. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
Agree that it could use a lot of spicing up. And replace canned tomatoes with pasta sauce. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
I used fresh chopped tomatoes instead of the canned ones and it was great! I used a heavy hand on the red pepper flakes and added about a tablespoon of Italian spice mix. After reading the comment about warming it up to make it creamier I did just that - and it was great! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
my husband REALLY enjoyed this meal. I enjoyed the time it took to make it especially. very tasty. I added tomato paste as well as other spices to jazz it up. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
I loved this dish. I used a fresh tomato instead of canned and threw in some fresh basil and thyme. I also minced my garlic to give it a stronger flavor. Next time I'll add little bit of tomato paste but other than that I wouldn't change a thing. Yum. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
Made this last night. It took no time at all. Super easy! We don't usually eat pasta due to the high caloric content but this one was worth it as just a little bit was very filling and satisfying. I added 1/2 lb. ground turkey breast sausage (homemade) and the dish made closer to 5 large servings instead of the 4 stated. I will definitely make this agian the next time I need dinner in a hurry. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
Very good recipe. I added salt to it for more flavor and oregano. And I added the ricotta after I mixed the sauce with the pasta instead of putting dollops in the bowl. It made for a cremier sauce. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
This is absolutely DELICIOUS! I was so excited to try out this quick and healthy meal. My dad and I simply could not get enough!!!! I also stirred in the ricotta instead of dollups so that was an excellent suggestion. I added the red pepper flakes oregano and thyme for enhanced flavor which definitely made a difference. An awesome dish I will make over and over again forever. It rocks Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
Very good and easy to make. It's nice to have a meatless dinner now and then. I'll make this again. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
Really like this recipe but I added the tomatoes and then let the sauce cook down some before adding the spinach so it is not too thin and the spinach doesn't get overcooked. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
Made this last night and it was really really good. I used fat free cottage cheese instead of ricotta. Warmed it up for lunch and it was yummy as a left-over. We used baby spinach too but otherwise followed the recipe. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
Easy and delicious! The husband loved it so much he ate two servings. I'm adding it to our rotation! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
This is one of my favorites that I've found so far. Surprisingly filling. I know when dieting you are so hungry by the time dinner comes around and it's hard to worry about proportions but this filled me and my husband up. We are making this one again for sure! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
If only I had read the SECOND page of comments before making....I would've known to add tomato paste extra seasoning and marinara sauce. Oh well. At least it was 3x faster than "real" lasagna my son was craving. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
This was somewhat bland (I didn't use the red pepper because I have 2 small kids) and watery. I used baby spinach and reconstituted dried mushrooms (it was a desperate night) but I think it was the canned tomatoes that made it "blah" (I used plain caned tomatoes with about 1 tsp dried italian seasoning). Marinara might have been better. I'm sure meat would've helped as well. So feel free to add more seasoning! I even used full-fat ricotta and added pecorino romano cheese on top but all that made it "good" was my 5-year-old daughter's idea to add pesto. Then it was good. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/30/2011
I have made this twice. It was easy to make but very bland the first time. The second time I added italian seasoning carrots zuccini and cooked ground turkey to add flavor. Add the seasoning when you are browning the garlic and onions. Add the zuccini and carrots when the onions & garlic are about half way done. As a lower fat alternative I used grated parmasean cheese instead of ricotta. It was good that way. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
My boyfriend absolutely loved this receipe. We added turkey sausage and a 6 oz. can of tomatoe paste. (So it wasn't too dry after adding the meat.) Yummy! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Even though it was bland everyone loved this. I love pasta and will try anything. I would make this again but I would definitely spice it up next time. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
This was very bland. I would add a little more salt and pepper. Mine ended up watery too because of the mushrooms and using baby spinach. To solve the issue though I added the ricotta to the pan after everything cooked so it can be cheesy and appear to have alfredo sauce in it (tricking the kiddies). I did get full though I couldn't even finish the recomended serving size. This is an easy recipe to tweak though. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
I messed it up and it was still good I accidentally bought tomatoes that were in tomato "sauce" which was similar to spaghetti sauce but without seasoning. I actually really liked the result this yielded. I also accidentally bought frozen spinach (stuuuupid) which made things difficult but it still worked. I see others used tomato paste which is pretty similar to what I ended up doing. I'll definitely make it again with the right kind of spinach use the same tomatoes I used last time and add more spices. I like the idea of adding some meat too. Pros: Easy healthy Cons: bland Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Changed it up a bit - tasted great! Changed it up a bit; tasted great! 0 of 0 people found this helpful I really wanted a good gluten-free lasagne so after taking note of other comments I decided to add about a cup and a half of some leftover marinara which had ground beef and black olives in it along with the tomatoes. I only used about 3 handfuls of baby spinach I replaced the whole-wheat noodles with the amazing Heartland gluten-free fusilli noodles. In a 7x10" pyrex cake pan I spread half the sauce the cooked noodles some shredded Parmesan and mozzarella then dotted ricotta all over and spread the rest of the sauce over the top of everything. I then topped it with more shredded mozzarella and baked it for 20 minutes at 350. I then popped it under the broiler for a bit to brown the cheese. This was a perfect replacement for gluten-containing (but yummy) lasagne noodles for an amazing dish which satisfied my craving for lasagne. I will definitely make this modified version again. Pros: Easy to "personalize" this recipe. Read More
Rating: 3 stars
10/29/2011
Just Okay This was just okay for me. It turned out a little watery even though I added my ricotta into the pot and mixed it together. I also thought it lacked a little flavor so I added some more red pepper flakes. I also didn't have mushrooms on hand so I skipped those but I would like to try it with the mushrooms. Overall it's a pretty quick and easy meal and I'd probably make it again. Pros: Quick Easy Cons: Lacking flavor Read More
Rating: 3 stars
10/29/2011
Ok but a bit bland This recipe was just okay. It was cheap and easy to make and I thought the mushrooms were a very nice addition. However I felt that it was missing something...not sure what. It had enough garlic onions and spices to be good but it needed something extra. I subbed Italian blend cheese for ricotta so maybe that was a mistake?? Either way I probably won't make this again for awhile. Pros: Easy to make healthy Cons: Bland Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Delicious but needs Modification The first time I made it I followed the recipe and like others I found it bland. The second time around I changed the recipe and how I cooked it. I added low-fat spicy Italian sausage and sauteed it with onion and bellpepper. Only after they were mostly cooked did I add the garlic and then spinach. The sausage really made the different - so much delicious Italian spice! Pros: Quick and easy Cons: Recipe is bland without some changes Read More