Known as Tuna-Pea Wiggle to some, this family-friendly tuna noodle casserole tends to be made with canned soup and whole milk, which means high fat and sodium. We remedy this by making our own creamy mushroom sauce with nonfat milk thickened with a bit of flour. Look for whole-wheat egg noodles--they have more fiber than regular egg noodles (but this dish will work well and taste great with either). Source: EatingWell Magazine, March/April 2008

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Cook noodles until just tender, 6 to 8 minutes or according to package directions. Drain and rinse.

    Advertisement
  • Position rack in upper third of oven and preheat broiler.

  • Meanwhile, heat oil in a large ovenproof skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion, mushrooms and salt and cook, stirring often, until the onion is softened but not browned, about 5 minutes. Add wine and cook until evaporated, 4 to 5 minutes. Sprinkle flour over the vegetables; stir to coat. Add milk and pepper and bring to a simmer, stirring constantly. Stir in tuna, peas and 1/2 cup Parmesan until evenly incorporated. Then, stir in the noodles (the pan will be very full). Remove from the heat.

  • Sprinkle the casserole with breadcrumbs and the remaining 1/2 cup Parmesan. Broil until bubbly and lightly browned on top, 3 to 4 minutes.

Tips

Make Ahead Tip: Prepare through Step 3, spoon into an 8-inch-square glass baking dish, cover with foil and refrigerate for up to 1 day. Sprinkle with breadcrumbs and cheese (Step 4) and bake, covered, at 350ºF for 50 minutes. Uncover and cook until browned and bubbly, ab

Note: Chunk light tuna, which comes from the smaller skipjack or yellowfin, has less mercury than canned white albacore tuna. The FDA/EPA advises that women who are or might become pregnant, nursing mothers and young children consume no more than 6 ounces of albacore a week; up to 12 ounces of canned light tuna is considered safe.

Tip: To make fresh breadcrumbs, trim crusts from whole-wheat bread. Tear bread into pieces and process in a food processor until coarse crumbs form. One slice of bread makes about 1/2 cup fresh crumbs. For dry breadcrumbs, spread the fresh crumbs on a baking sheet and bake at 250°F until crispy, about 15 minutes. One slice of fresh bread makes about 1/3 cup dry crumbs. Or use prepared coarse dry breadcrumbs. We like Ian's brand labeled “Panko breadcrumbs.” Find them in the natural-foods section of large supermarkets.

Nutrition Facts

401 calories; 8.4 g total fat; 3.2 g saturated fat; 53 mg cholesterol; 669 mg sodium. 576 mg potassium; 46.2 g carbohydrates; 4.9 g fiber; 9 g sugar; 31.6 g protein; 639 IU vitamin a iu; 6 mg vitamin c; 50 mcg folate; 304 mg calcium; 3 mg iron; 49 mg magnesium;

Reviews (39)

Read More Reviews
39 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 24
  • 4 star values: 7
  • 3 star values: 4
  • 2 star values: 2
  • 1 star values: 2
Rating: 4 stars
10/15/2016
I read the reviews and made lots of changes. More tuna more wine more milk... Lots of fresh and dry herbs garlic diced carrots celery garlic salt lots of pepper. Tasted great! Not bland at all hehehe! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/24/2015
Better Comfort Food Comfort food reminiscent of the old tuna casserole but healthier and fresher tasting. My family loved it. Read More
Rating: 1 stars
01/23/2015
Kinda bad... There's no flavor barely any tuna and it was dry Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 1 stars
05/06/2014
Tuna Noodle Casserole Failure This was the worst tuna noodle casserole I have ever made or eaten. I use the word eaten however my fiance and I took a couple of bites and pushed it away. We threw the remainder away...such a waste. I followed the directions exactly no substitute ingredients etc. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
04/11/2014
sub worcestershire for sale before adding the tuna to the casserole drain it well and shake low sodium worcestershire sauce on the tuna. It really ups the flavor. Also omit the added salt. We use LS Tuna to further reduce the sodium. Read More
Rating: 3 stars
12/08/2013
Could use more tuna Relatively quick meal with good flavor but next time I'd add more tuna (maybe another 6 oz). Also I don't have a oven skillet so I transferred the sauce and noodles to a 9x13 Pyrex which worked just fine for me. Pros: Easy with good flavor Cons: Not enough tuna Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
02/28/2013
This dish was very good especially when you are watching what you eat... It was good comfort food you can't go wrong with a casserole!!! I will definitely make it again... Followed recipe no changes... Read More
Rating: 3 stars
01/22/2013
Use only canned Pole or Troll caught tuna--has a lot less mercury and much healthier for you. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
08/04/2012
Delicious and nutritious I followed the advice of some of the other reviews and made some modifications. I added freshly minced garlic carrots and celery to the onion and mushroom mix. I also added extra pepper and a bit of Cajun seasoning to add more flavor. I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious and great this turned out. Even the tuna was not overpowering in this dish. Wll definitely make this again! Read More
Rating: 3 stars
03/16/2012
Good recipe! My DH loves tuna noodle casserole and I usually gag making it however this easy skillet meal (which I used canned chicken for) turned out great! It made alot so we froze some of it. Thanks for sharing! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
03/08/2012
Craving satisfied without the guilt I used almond milk instead of milk simply because I don't like milk. I was unsure of the outcome but it worked out beautifully. This is one of those recipes that satisfies without the guilt. I also used whole wheat flour. Pros: No butter no heavy cream or milk in my case Cons: I loved it so no cons my DH might of wanted a little more fat taste. ie butter/cream Read More
Rating: 2 stars
02/26/2012
This was just ok. It tasted rather bland. I feel there is a better recipe out there for a tuna noodle dish with out me having to spend a lot of time to improve this one... Read More
Rating: 5 stars
02/11/2012
Delicious! My first time making a casserole half way into prep I realized I was out of bread crumbs the notes say use sliced bread as alternate I toasted honey whole wheat bread and crumbled it on top. I did not think my husband was going to go for it he ended up going for seconds and needless to say there were no leftovers it was a hit with the kids as well definitely will make again! Pros: Easy and quick to make Cons: None Read More
Rating: 4 stars
11/04/2011
Yum this dish was very good and easy to make. i added some diced yellow peppers carrots garlic and celery in with the onions. and i had to use whole wheat flour instead of all purpose since its all i had which required 9 tbsp instead of 6. but everything turned out well my family enjoyed it and i will definitely be use in go to recipes becuz most of the ingredients are already sitting around:) Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
This recipe sounds great and I will definitely try it. My only comment would be that I find albacore to be better in cooked recipes as it is milder while for me tuna makes for a better cold dish. I do wonder if it is possible to use soy milk in exchange for the regular milk? Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Sounds very good but question it being diabetes friendly. My limit is 45 carbs for each meal. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I've made this recipe several times and it is Delish!!! Lots of flavor and can be eaten as leftovers and it's just as good! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
My mother bought me a subscription of Eating Well for Christmas of 2007 and this was one of the first recipes out of the magazine that I tried. It is because of this recipe that I firmly stand by Eating Well as a reliable and trust worthy source for interesting useful and healthy food information and recipes. I make it all the time in a double batch because neither my boyfriend nor I can get enough of this delicious and healthy makeover of a comfort food classic. Also neither of us are much of mushroom fans so we opt to leave out the mushrooms and the recipe tastes just as good (or even better if you don't like mushrooms) - just cut the amount of flour down by half or if you are making a double batch simply use the listed amount of flour. I cannot say enough about the deliciousness of this recipe! PS - for the earlier commentator the recipe also notes that for a suggested serving it is a 3 carb serving but it may be higher when using non-whole wheat noodles. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Recipe states it has 3 Carbohydrate Servings but 47 grams Carbohydrate. Carbohydrate servings are not the same as carbohydrate grams. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
In response to an above comment--a carbohydrate serving = approximately 15 grams. They rounded down slightly which is entirely appropriate to do. --Registered Dietitian in Virginia Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I thought this was a great recipe! Felt good to eat some good comfort food without all the guilt! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This dish is really delicious. It has become an instant favorite in my house for dinner. However since we try to watch how often we eat tuna we've substituted the tuna for chicken since the first time I made it. It was still fantastic. Next time I'm going to substitute shallots for some of the onion to punch up the flavor a bit more. Overall I love this recipe just the way it is and because it is so easy to tweak in order to create a slightly different dish for variety. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This is a great recipe!! Both my husband and I love it! It was perfect for using leftover egg noodles I had made earlier in the week. I followed the recipe exactly except next time I might add a minced clove of garlic when sauteing the onions. Also I might sprinkle a little chopped italian parsley on the top with the breadcrumbs and parmesan. I hope everyone tries this delicious recipe! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I was so excited about this recipe because my family loves tuna casserole. The onions and mushrooms cooked in the wine sounded divine. I followed everything perfectly and it was bland no flavor at all. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This is a much healthier alternative (less sodium) to making tuna noodle casserole. I also sauteed sliced red cabbage and onions for 20 minutes prior to adding the flour and continuing the directions. There was a red tint to the meal but I decided to follow through and add frozen peas and though my kids noticed the colorful dish they agreed they liked it. I kept it on the stovetop without adding the breadcrumbs or putting in the oven as it is summer. I will definetly make this again. I usually add sliced zucchini/yellow squash to my tuna noodle casserole next time I'll make with these veggies but I really liked the red cabbage in it. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Panko bread crumbs are the best on top! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I absolutely loved this recipe!!!! It was super yummy and I just could not get enough. The things I changed were using egg fettuccine noodles only 2 cups of 2% milk (it was much creamier and thicker) white unbleached wheat flour folded all the parmesan into the dish used panko bread crumbs on top and sprinkled black pepper on top. FANTASTIC! I never thought I could eat a healthy version of a childhood favorite but you all did a fabulous job. Will make many times more. Thanks so much! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
DELICIOUS! My 4 and 5 year old ate this up and they are usually not very adventurous with new foods. My daughter even asked for seconds! Healthy and tasty...can't beat it! Plus it made enough for 3 meals for a family of 4. Pros: Cons: Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Really good but was a tiny bit bland. Needed some salt & pepper or maybe some Mrs Dash would have been good. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I liked it very much. Thank you. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
I quite like the dish but next time I'd make a few changes. I added a bit of broccoli and garlic to the dish which was nice. I think it would be even better if it included celery or carrots. I did find it was a little bland and I would add some more spices next time. Overall though it was a good recipe. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Loved the recipe. Substituted canned chicken for the tuna though and added a little melted cheddar on top. Delicious! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Easy to make and very tasty. Great for a rainy day:-) Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Really delicious! First time I have ever commented on anything on the internet; super easy and very satisfying! Used whole wheat flour and scaled recipe down to single serving but used 1 can of tuna made for a very creamy dish! Will make again thanks for the recipe love this site! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
I enjoyed this. It was simple to make. I did subsitute chicken it's what I had on hand. Also I used 2% milk. It was creamy and light. Only problem is it needed more flavor. I will make it again but will add more herbs and spices. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
This is a great dish! I used a mix of broccoli and carrots instead of peas and added extra tuna. It definitely needs more seasoning. The kids couldn't stop eating it! A good way to sneak veggies into their dinner! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Mmmmmmmmmm My and my husband love this! Not only is it delicious but it is great for his lunches all week. I just make it at the beginning of the week and lunch is taken care of and he loves it! I change up the noodles sometimes and add extra cheese parmesan & cheddar. Read More
Rating: 2 stars
10/29/2011
Bland Followed the recipe exactly except used about 20 oz of tuna. I find the casserole is very bland. It lacks punch. I imagine it would be better with fresh tomatoes incorporated into the sauce but I probably won't make this again. Pros: easy to prepare creamy cheesy Cons: bland boring Read More
Rating: 3 stars
10/29/2011
Bland This dish was okay. Not really bad but not really good either. I also felt it needed an extra punch or spice to jazz it up a bit. We ate it but I probably won't be making it again. Pros: Cheesy Creamy Cons: Bland needs punch Read More