Here's a healthy twist on shrimp scampi. We left out the butter and loaded the dish up with red peppers and asparagus for a refreshing spring meal. Serve with quinoa. Source: EatingWell Magazine, March/April 2008

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Heat 2 teaspoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add bell peppers, asparagus, lemon zest and 1/4 teaspoon salt and cook, stirring occasionally, until just beginning to soften, about 6 minutes. Transfer the vegetables to a bowl; cover to keep warm.

    Advertisement
  • Add the remaining 2 teaspoons oil and garlic to the pan and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add shrimp and cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Whisk broth and cornstarch in a small bowl until smooth and add to the pan along with the remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt. Cook, stirring, until the sauce has thickened slightly and the shrimp are pink and just cooked through, about 2 minutes more. Remove from the heat. Stir in lemon juice and parsley. Serve the shrimp and sauce over the vegetables.

Nutrition Facts

182 calories; 6.3 g total fat; 1 g saturated fat; 143 mg cholesterol; 1091 mg sodium. 622 mg potassium; 12.2 g carbohydrates; 4.1 g fiber; 5 g sugar; 19.8 g protein; 4055 IU vitamin a iu; 120 mg vitamin c; 232 mcg folate; 97 mg calcium; 2 mg iron; 53 mg magnesium;

Reviews (34)

Read More Reviews
34 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 21
  • 4 star values: 8
  • 3 star values: 2
  • 2 star values: 3
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
04/14/2019
This was very good just make sure to use fresh asparagus and not frozen. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
02/26/2019
I made some changes - skipped the lemon as my daughter can't have citrus used home made chicken stock added some extra cornstarch based on previous reviews tossed it with spaghettini and grated some parmesan on top - It was delicious! My 3 year old even devoured it. Will definitely make it again! Read More
Rating: 3 stars
09/08/2018
This came out pretty good but only because I made several changes. Otherwise it would have been bland. I added black pepper red pepper flake and a tablespoon of butter to the sauce. I ended up taking the shrimp out to continue reducing the sauce without overcooking the shrimp and I still wasn't able to get it as thick as I would have liked but at least the flavor was good. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 2 stars
07/12/2018
Not sure what I did wrong but the sauce never thickened even when I added more cornstarch. Even if that had worked out the taste was very bland to me. I made Skillet Gnocchi with Shrimp and Asparagus on here that's similar and loved it. Looked pretty similar but now I see a few differences. Might just stick with that. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
06/10/2017
I love the simplicity of the dish! I made a couple minor changes I used cilantro fresh out of the garden and a mix of vegetables. We truly enjoyed the meal on this warm night and will use it again!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/22/2017
Very easy and so pretty as well with the red pepper and asparagus. I did as written except no oil used low sodium Imagine Brand no chicken broth to saute. Did a spritz of olive oil to shrimp. Will make again and it is going in a "favorites" file. Served over Spaghetti squash. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
11/18/2013
Not a fan of red peppers so I substituted with sliced grape tomatoes and avocado. Cooked asparagus a min or two then added tomato and avocado as not to make soggy. Added minced ginger cayenne pepper for a kick and fresh basil instead of parsley to sauce. Took shrimp out and cooked sauce down to thicken. Was a huge success in our house! Pros: Good basic recipe Cons: Took longer to prep than expected Read More
Rating: 5 stars
06/03/2013
Best of the best. Followed recipe until the sauce. Substituted cornstarch with arrowroot added Thai basil Tsp of butter chives lemongrass and ginger. Took shrimp out as to not overcook and OMG! Off the charts. Beyond 5 stars. Pros: quick & easy...low in fat...high in taste! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
05/01/2013
I've made this twice now and both times it has been a big hit with the whole family. The only change was that I doubled the cornstarch for a bit more thickness to the sauce. The recipe makes plenty of leftovers for lunch the next day as well. Pros: Easy healthy delicious Cons: NULL Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/12/2013
Delish I was in a cooking rut and stumbled upon this gem. So good. I substituted grape tomatoes and corn for red peppers since I'm not a pepper fan. Also used farro as a side instead of quinoa because my husband isn't a fan of the quinoa. Very light quick and delicious meal that even my 3 year old enjoyed. Regarding the sauce it is very runny but I removed the shrimp and let it simmer a bit more until the liquid was further reduced. It was perfect. Pros: quick easy yummy Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/03/2013
Wonderful Dinner! Made this for dinner last night and was very impressed! This might be the perfect quick dinner. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it is perfect as is. The sauce is like velvet and this recipe makes plenty of it to cover your rice/pasta/quinoa etc. Pros: Easy healthy delicious Cons: NULL Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/19/2012
Definately a keeper! Loved this recipe. Very tasty very easy although it took more than one set of hands - maybe if you were better prepared than we were... we paired with parmesan couscous and it was wonderful. Pros: Easy to make tastes great. Cons: You'll need a helper. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
09/15/2012
Refreshing.... I followed the directions pretty much to the tee with the recipe.. It turned out great. Had great flavor the sauce was like melted butter...... I made the Quinoa too and used chicken stock instead of plain water. Next time we are going to omit the peppers as my family is not really fond of them but the asparagus was great. I did adjust the cooking times for the veggies and the shrimp a bit but that is really the only changes I made. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
08/31/2012
flavorful easy fast no big cleanup! Instead of plain regular shrimp I used the Margaritaville brand Caribbean Jerk flavored shrimp (2 sm. boxes= 20 oz. total for recipe). I added a small container of fresh mushrooms then over angel hair. Wonderful with the caribbean flair and kick of added flavor! Pros: A definite re-make for sure. A lot!! Cons: none Read More
Rating: 4 stars
08/28/2012
Suprisingly tasty... This is definitely on my 'must cook again list'. I coupled this with a serving of quinoa that I heated through with a touch of chicken stock (the same as I used in the shrimp recipe). I didn't thicken the dish with the corn starch but used less stock instead so it had a light broth rather than a 'sauce' this went well with the quinoa - also I seasoned it with salt right at the end but used less than the recipe states as the vegetables I used were so fresh and sweet tasting. Very simple and quick to make but very tasty. Pros: Fresh tasting great textures quick and simple to prepare Read More
Rating: 4 stars
06/22/2012
Corn & squash instead of bell peppers - delish! Yummy if you add fresh corn! I substituted 2 ears of fresh shucked corn (microwaved 5 prior) and summer squash for the bell peppers and it was delicious. Didn't serve over a starch but with crusty bread. The sauce didn't thicken but that kept it light. Definitely recommend using broth so that you have plenty of sauce. Really great summer dish. Pros: Summer vegetables at their best; Cons: None! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
05/22/2012
fast easy fresh flavors Followed the recipe except I used just one red pepper. This is a great fast healthy weeknight supper. I served with angel hair which was yummy with the sauce. Pros: quick Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/09/2012
easy and delicious Served this at a small luncheon and everyone wanted the recipe! I will definitely be making this again. Loved it. Pros: simple to prepare; beautiful to look at; healthy; refreshing Read More
Rating: 4 stars
02/19/2012
Delicious and fresh This dish was fairly easy to assemble especially because my husband peeled and deveined the shrimp and my 11 year old son helped me chop up the veggies. The dish turned out really good except that the sauce was a little runny so next time I will add more corn starch. I won't use another thickener because my hubby and son are both gluten intolerant but you could try different thickeners if you choose. I didn't use low sodium broth but i actually used organic better than bouillon so the addition of extra salt wasn't really necessary. I also made an organic boxed risotto which went great but there was enough sauce that plain rice would've worked just fine. That's what I'll do next time in fact. The lemon and garlic were a great combination in this dish and it was really refreshing. My kids don't like red peppers so I only used one and for 5 of us there could've been more shrimp. We still got about 5-7 shrimp per person but I will probably use more next time. I will certainly make this dish again it was delicious! Pros: Healthy and tasty Cons: but the sauce was a little runny Read More
Rating: 2 stars
02/06/2012
Why use 'low sodium' stock then add salt??? Another 'healthy' recipe which uses low sodium stock then adds salt...why?????? Skip the salt (as others mention). Corn starch makes a lousy thickener for this. Try a slurry using potato or tapioca starch which will thicken and glisten not get 'starchy'. Otherwise a good basic recipe. PS I added a few drops of sesame oil at the end...makes a big difference! Pros: Easy colorful Cons: Salty corn starch is bleah Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Unbelievably easy dish to make and so delicious. I can see adding other fish to the menu as well which I'll try next time. This will be a regular dish for me to make everyone loved it. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
The flavor was great but for some reason the sauce never thickened. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Food was yummy but I wouldnt take the timeline in this recipe seriously. 1 min for the shrimp is a little to short or 6 min for the vegetables. You just need to watch it. It took about 10 min for the vegetables and about 3 for the shrimp. I also substituted cornstarch with all purpose organic flower. I used about 3 teaspoons and I think that I could have put even more because the sauce was so thin. Overall a great recipe. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made this last night and it was great! I substituted grape tomatoes and mushrooms for the red bell peppers but other than that made it exactly as stated (1/2 portion). The sauce definitely took more than 2 minutes to thicken but once it did it was fabulous. Yum!!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Great dish - easy - delicious and healthy! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
easy recipe quick delicious! I added red pepper flakes to the vegetables. served over ww couscous with cheese. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This recipe is soooo yummy! The cornstarch doesn't thicken it very much but gives it a sheen and velvety texture as would a Tablespoon of butter without the extra calories. Loved it!!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Overall it was pretty good. The sauce took a little while to thicken and I eventually had to add some more corn starch but other than that everything went smoothly. I thought it needed a bit more garlic personally. Serve over rice or pasta for a good meal. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
A colorful and tasty dish served over a brown rice blend is as good for you as it is delicious & pretty! I also had no luck with the sauce "thickening" but over the rice it was absolutely fine. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Delicious with red quinoa. Great as leftovers too. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
I thought this was a tasty fresh meal. I would make it again only I would use less salt. I used green beans instead of asparagus and it was delicious. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Very fast and easy recipe. Instead of quinoa I used brown rice. It tasted delicious!! I may have used a little too much corn starch on accident. So I had to thin the sauce a bit with more broth. It was an easy fix and turned out great!! It's only my hubby and I so used 2 red peppers 1 lb. of shrimp and 1 lb. of asparagus. Very easy recipe to make your own! Read More
Rating: 2 stars
10/29/2011
Meh I would not make this again. Nothing horrible about it lots of great ingredients but together no big deal. It would have been better if everything was marinated and then grilled. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
No added salt and still tasted great! I added about a cup of quinoa directly to the dish and skipped the salt and the dish still tasted great! Read More