Reviews 69

May 17, 2014
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Wow are these good! I thoroughly enjoyed these. Thank you!!!
April 04, 2014
profile image
By: photos
Surprisingly Good This is a delicious alternative if you just want a meat break. it is very healthy and the flavor was great. I didn't adjust anything other than the fact I didn't add the extra salt. WIth cayenne pepper and bread crumbs that was enough salt for me. Pros: healthy,tasty, easy to make Cons: nothing
January 27, 2014
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Excellent and Easy I love black beans and saved this recipe, but never got around to making it. I wish I hadn't waited so long. It is excellent and easy to make. I make my own gluten free bread crumbs so they are slightly larger than the store bought kind, which added more crunchiness. I have already passed this recipe on to others.
June 17, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Adding this to the weekly rotation This was absolutely delicious. I adjusted the recipe a bit. I put the beans, 1 clove garlic and a small onion in the food processor to mash it all up. Instead of breadcrumbs I used rolled oats. I stuck with the recommended seasoning and skipped the oil. They didn't come out as dense as the picture, but that was expected since I replaced the breadcrumbs with oats. I cooked them as advised and they were delicious. This will be a weekly meal going forward. Pros: Quick, inexpensive and tasty Cons: Can't think of one
June 08, 2013
profile image
By: harhampt
Filling and Flavorful Very tasty, quick and fairly cheap to make. I ended up having to add extra bread crumbs to the mix in order to keep them from spreading out once on a cookie sheet. I served with some lime/cilantro rice and fresh guacamole. Got rave reviews and will definitely be making these again.
February 16, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
I made this for my husbands birthday dinner and the family loved them. I did add the juice and zest of a lime, did not use the oil in any part of the recipe, and they were perfect. I am going to make them and try them as a burger in a bun! I bought fresh salsa from the market and added chopped avocado . This is a wonderful combination of textures and flavours.
January 10, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Great meatless supper I had already used my food processor to make the breadcrumbs, so it was a no-brainer to mash up the beans in the food processor, too. I did need to double the amount of breadcrumbs for the final step (rolling). It would be a real time saver to use canned tomatoes, but I used fresh. I would definitely make this one again!
March 09, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Even my kids loved it! My entire family loved this meal! it was easy to make, and reheated well the next day for lunch. Of course I changed it up a bit - used a bit more corn, tomatoes & cilantro, added lime juice & zest to both bowls, added garlic, diced jalapeno, & diced red onion to bean mixture, and served with mexican crema. Also substituted seasoned panko for the plain breadcrumbs. It was surprisingly delicious! Pros: Easy to make, great vegetarian meal!
January 15, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Super tasty vegetarian dish even skeptics loved I made this last night for my family, and it turned out wonderful! I added 2 large cloves of garlic, a jalapeno pepper, and the juice from 1/2 lime to the tomato mix. I also went heavy on the chili powder because I prefer spicy food. I had no problems with the croquettes holding their shape, or running out of bread crumbs. Can't wait to do this again in the summer with fresh corn and veggies, and I'll probably use dry beans as opposed to canned. I used both cans of black beans, and didn't have any of the problems others had mentioned. I also used a cuisinart to smash the beans, much faster! Cons: Needs garlic
More Reviews