In EatingWell's take on Shepherd's Pie, we replace the potato topping with convenient, delicious frozen squash puree. And they're baked in individual ramekins to guarantee perfectly sized servings and help you get it on the table fast. Source: EatingWell Magazine, January/February 2008

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Position rack in upper third of oven; preheat broiler.

    Advertisement
  • Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and cook, stirring, until beginning to soften, about 2 minutes. Reduce heat to medium, stir in beef, flour and tomato paste, and cook, stirring, until the beef is mostly browned, about 3 minutes. Add broth, scraping up any browned bits with a wooden spoon. Bring to a boil and cook, stirring occasionally, until the broth is the consistency of thick gravy, about 4 minutes. Stir in spinach, 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder; cook until the spinach is just wilted, about 1 minute. Remove from the heat.

  • Place squash in a fine-mesh sieve and gently press on it to extract excess liquid. Transfer to a bowl. Stir in the remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder. Divide the meat mixture among four 10-ounce broiler-safe ramekins. Top each with about 1/2 cup of the squash. Place the ramekins on a baking sheet.

  • Broil until heated through and bubbling around the edges, about 10 minutes. Sprinkle with cheese and broil until it is just melted, about 3 minutes more.

Tips

Equipment: Four 10-ounce broiler-safe ramekins

Cut Down on Dishes: A rimmed baking sheet is great for everything from roasting to catching accidental drips and spills. For effortless cleanup and to keep your baking sheets in tip-top shape, line them with a layer of foil before each use.

Nutrition Facts

310 calories; 12.8 g total fat; 4.6 g saturated fat; 71 mg cholesterol; 786 mg sodium. 902 mg potassium; 20.4 g carbohydrates; 5.5 g fiber; 7 g sugar; 29.2 g protein; 11103 IU vitamin a iu; 19 mg vitamin c; 93 mcg folate; 176 mg calcium; 4 mg iron; 74 mg magnesium;

Reviews (18)

Read More Reviews
18 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 10
  • 4 star values: 6
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 1
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 4 stars
06/08/2017
So I made my own purée. I used frozen butternut squash baked it on olive oil and put it through the food processor. Added a bit of water butter salt and garlic powder. I also baked as a whole pie because I didn't wanna buy ramekins. I thought it was okay. My husband liked it. I asked if he would eat it again and he said yes! Another recipe to go into rotation. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
03/21/2015
Everyone loved it I made this as one large casserole and it was delicious. The only think I changed was to add some worcestershire sauce to the meat because I found it to be a little bland. Pros: Healthy easy Cons: Needed a little more flavor Read More
Rating: 2 stars
06/03/2013
Except that this recipe is not shepherd's pie - it is Cottage Pie. Shepherd's Pie (i.e. Sheep herder) is made with Lamb; Cottage Pie is made with Beef. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
05/31/2013
Delicious (and healthy) I love this recipe! I add quite a few more veggies to it which makes it a little healthier and stretches the meat farther. I add diced carrots zucchini and yellow squash plus some frozen peas. Sometimes will also add bell pepper if I have some on hand. I don't think broccoli or cauliflower would be as good in this but most other veggies that I have added worked well. Hope you enjoy! Pros: Tastes great and good portion control Cons: None Read More
Rating: 4 stars
03/17/2013
Very tasty I used less squash then the recipe called for; I didn't realize that after squeezing the water out there isn't that much squash left! But it worked out fine. Used Irish Dubliner Cheddar cheese instead of parmesan. The beef was this grass-fed from Australia. It tasted very good! Did have to buy ramekins for this but I loved that this recipe is easily portion controlled. I look forward to making this again! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
11/11/2012
Yum Good recipe simple ingredients that are hearty and healthy. I used kale and butternut squash. Was tempted to add spices but decided against it to keep it a simple pie. Note if you don't have lean meat on hand wait to add your flour to the mixture until you can drain the fat from cooking the beef. Pros: simple quick easy to alter good for cold weather Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
03/07/2012
Fast & Easy I used three micro sweet potatoes as the toping. Cooked in microwave as directed. Peeled salted mashed. Topped with the parmesean & broiled as directed Pros: Filling Read More
Rating: 4 stars
01/25/2012
Variations on a theme Here in England a Shepherd's Pie is always made with lamb (because a shepherd looks after sheep). If it is made with any other sort of meat (eg beef) or a meat substitute such as soya or lentils it is called a Cottage Pie. Just so you know if you ever come to England! Pros: A good all-purpose recipe for a family favourite Read More
Rating: 5 stars
12/29/2011
Love this recipie Made this with sliced sweet potatoes on top and put Parmesan cheese under and over the sweet potato layer. I also added lots more dried garlic and some dried shallots to the meat as well as 2 cloves of garlic and some paprika to the spinach. It was for a large group so I doubled the recipe and putting the while thing in a 13 x9 glass pan. Everybody loved it so much I didn't have any leftovers. Pros: very tasty Cons: none Read More
Rating: 4 stars
11/01/2011
substitute I use the ground soy a lot in place of ground beef and have not had a problem with any recipes. All you do is heat the ground soy you don't need to cook it. Tastes just like ground beef. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
I made this last winter and I cannot wait for it to get cool outside so I can make again. Loved it. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made this recently and loved it. I didn't have frozen squash so I tried canned pumpkin on top - delicious and filling. It reheats well in the microwave so it's a good choice to take for lunch. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made this with a couple of substitutions. I used mashed boiled potatoes (nothing else but what recipe called for) and I used a little more onion. I was worried at my husband's response to a "healthier" option but he really liked it! Good enough to go back for seconds!!! Thanks!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I substituted ground chicken for the beef and added 1/4 cup frozen peas and 1/4 cup frozen cut waxed green beans before thickening the gravy. I also substituted mashed sweet potato for the squash (2 medium sized for 4 servings). Turned out wonderful and filling. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Has anyone made this as 1 large casserole instead of the ramekins? And if so how long did you bake it? Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Has anyone tried this with a meat subsitute? I often make a Shepherd's Pie as an alternative for vegetarian family members on Thanksgiving but those I have tried are very time-consuming for a busy cooking day. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Best home Shepherd's Pie yet! I changed this dish just a bit: added about 1/2 cup of julienned carrots 1/2 cup of corn boiled and mashed 2 large sweet potatoes for the spread and added an extra tablespoon of tomato paste to the meat mixture....oh and broiled in a glass pie dish. SO YUMMY!!!! I think next time I'll add some peas as well. I will MOST DEFINATELY be making this again....the whole family loved it! Pros: Great flavor easy to make...will make again! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Great with substitutes I used ground turkey and a 3-part combination of the pureed squash sweet potato and carrot. And I like the top layer to be more mash then puree so I don't over-blend. It reminds me more of original shepherd's pie with a thicker layer on top. Other than that I stuck to the recipe. We loved it. Read More