Reviews 29

November 30, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
In a word...YUM! Fantastic, hearty and thoroughly yummy soup. It was a hit at Thanksgiving and I'm ready for another batch. For a gal who doesn't really cook, this soup won me over. All the chopping was worth the end result.
November 13, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Best soup I've ever had. So I love mushrooms and have been on the lookout for a delicious mushroom soup that's thick and creamy with a depth of flavor. I found this one and thought I'd try it out. This soup is literally my favorite soup I have ever had. The sherry adds this wonderful unique flavor, and the barley and whole mushrooms give it an amazing texture. I made a vegan version, in which I used a 1/4 cup of coconut cream (the stuff from the top of a coconut milk can) at the end instead of sour cream. It was amazing and gave it the perfect amount of creaminess (no coconut taste whatsoever). I also used portabellas and brown crimini mushrooms instead of white mushrooms. I used mushroom broth and skipped the butter for sauteing (just used olive oil)--I added garlic as well. I just about died and went to heaven when I tried it. If you're a mushroom lover, you need to try making this soup! It's a little time-consuming, but fairly easy. I've made it twice so far (I used dried shitake mushrooms for second batch and it was delicious as well) and anticipate that it'll become a regular on my dinner table. It also keeps really well (I almost think it's better the next day because it thickens). Enjoy! Pros: Delicious, easy Cons: A little bit time-consuming
April 11, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Guest Worthy Soup! This is my go to mushroom soup. So much flavor, tastes so creamy yet its filling and healthy! I would gladly serve this to company, it's really that good. I've made the recipe many times now and this last time I substituted the cheap grocery cooking sherry because I had almost a full bottle left over and it worked fine, although i like my salt. Pros: Great depth of flavor for little work. Cons: A bit expensive
January 28, 2011
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Soup to die for WOW!! My husband couldn't stop talking about how delicious this soup was, and I can't stop thinking about it. To round out the meal, I used less white mushrooms (probably about 3 cups) and added the cubed meat of two chicken thighs at step #4. I also used dry vermouth instead of the sherry because that's what I had on hand. I'm definitely adding this to regular rotation. I probably will add some diced carrots next time.
November 23, 2010
profile image
By: EatingWell User
This soup is awesome. I used a white wine that I had on hand, and it was great! Very rich and flavorful. Will definitely make this one again, and it reheats great. May even try it with fat free plain yogurt next time. Two thumbs up.
September 28, 2010
profile image
By: Barbara
this was YUM! It was nice and thick and flavorful. I omitted the sour cream because I didn't have any on hand but I will definitely make this again and try it with the cream. My husband loved it!
July 28, 2010
profile image
By: EatingWell User
I made this using brandy instead of sherry, and added a bit of heavy cream at the end - what I had on hand. Mine turned out not so much a soup as a side dish, and I think I'll use it that way. Love what the sage does to flavor the mushrooms. I can see this as a versatile dish, suitable as a topping for chicken breasts or even a hamburger. I thought it needed more salt.
March 14, 2010
profile image
By: EatingWell User
This was a time consuming soup, but well worth it. I used homemade veggie broth instead of the chicken stock. I was a little disappointed the day I made the soup because it was runny and not up to the rave reviews here. But after warming up the next day the soup was rich and flavorful. The barley must need some time to soak up the liquids. I used the sherry which added a depth of flavor that would be missed if not used. It was a great soup.
March 09, 2010
profile image
By: EatingWell User
I felt like I was eating a beef-less stroganoff! Delicious! Mine did not thicken enough--maybe next time I'll add more barley, or even egg noodles. Loved the porcini and sherry combination.
More Reviews