Potatoes are one of the great comfort foods, especially when stuffed with a satisfying mixture of lean ground beef and broccoli florets plus reduced-fat sour cream and Cheddar cheese. Add a tossed salad and you have a healthy and hearty meal that will leave you feeling good. Source: EatingWell Magazine, February/March 2006

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Pierce potatoes all over with a fork. Place in the microwave and cook on Medium, turning once or twice, until the potatoes are soft, about 20 minutes. (Or use the "potato setting" on your microwave and cook according to the manufacturer's directions.)

    Advertisement
  • Meanwhile, brown meat in a large skillet over medium-high heat, stirring often, about 3 minutes. Transfer to a large bowl. Increase heat to high, add broccoli and water to the pan, cover, and cook until tender, 4 to 5 minutes. Drain the broccoli; add to the meat.

  • Carefully cut off the top third of the cooked potatoes; reserve the tops for another use. Scoop out the insides into a medium bowl. Place the potato shells in a small baking dish. Add 1/2 cup Cheddar, sour cream, salt and pepper to the potato insides and mash with a fork or potato masher. Add scallions and the potato mixture to the broccoli and meat; stir to combine.

  • Evenly divide the potato mixture among the potato shells and top with the remaining 1/2 cup cheese. Microwave on High until the filling is hot and the cheese is melted, 2 to 4 minutes.

Tips

Make Ahead Tip: Prepare and stuff potatoes. Cover and refrigerate for up to 2 days. Microwave and serve.

Vegetarian variation: Replace the ground beef with a soy-based substitute or omit the beef altogether and increase the broccoli to 1 1/2 cups and the cheese to 1 1/4 cups.

No microwave? No problem: Preheat oven to 400°F. Pierce potatoes in several places with a fork. Bake directly on the center rack until tender, 45 to 60 minutes. Fill the potato as directed and bake the stuffed potatoes on a foil-lined baking sheet until the filling is hot, about 15 minutes.

Nutrition Facts

309 calories; 12.1 g total fat; 6 g saturated fat; 68 mg cholesterol; 613 mg sodium. 792 mg potassium; 24.1 g carbohydrates; 2.2 g fiber; 1 g sugar; 26 g protein; 822 IU vitamin a iu; 25 mg vitamin c; 46 mcg folate; 190 mg calcium; 3 mg iron; 53 mg magnesium;

Reviews (53)

Read More Reviews
53 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 45
  • 4 star values: 5
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 2
Rating: 5 stars
06/14/2017
I've made this recipe twice now. Followed exactly as written. It's the only thing my picky eater kids request. We all love it. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
02/27/2017
These are absolutely delicious. Not sure why but the filling was waaay too much to put back in the potatoes; I only needed about half of it but I also didn't pile it up to the sky. (Will be using the rest to make homemade perogies yummm!) Changes: I seasoned the ground beef with Weber Chicago Steak (about 1/2 tbsp) used 1/4c each lite and regular sour cream rubbed the potato with olive oil and sprinkled with salt & pepper and baked them to get a nice crispy skin. I also added about 1/3c sauteed mushrooms because mushrooms. Pros: easy crowd pleasing comfort food Cons: I weighed the potatoes to get 4 as close in size as possible with each at about 205g the recipe does work out to about 490 cals per serving (using my changes) however its much less since I used only half of the filling so 245 cals. It would be helpful if the recipe states the grams/ounces of potato they used considering this greatly affects the nutrition content. Read More
Rating: 1 stars
04/06/2016
Do not cook Don't be deceived by the picture. To improve add cayenne pepper and vitamin C. But make sure you leave in the oven too long so you have to throw it away. Pros: None Cons: Everything Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 1 stars
03/17/2016
Deceptive I thought this would be great for dinner. It looks like it fits into my calorie and macro requirements. I thought I would have to eat pretty light on my carbs the rest of the day but it seemed doable. Then I added the recipe ingredients into 2 different calorie tracking sites and the ACTUAL calories for this dish is well over 400 calories vs. the 274 calories the recipe states. It is really disappointing. I guess my poor review is as much for this grossly inaccurate website as it is for the recipe. Pros: Looks delicious Cons: NOT as low calorie as advertised Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/12/2012
even my picky kids loved these! I love this recipe i changed sour creme for ranch dressing. left out the meat cause 2 of the kids won't eat meat..called them veggie stuffed potatoes. huge hit! Pros: easy and easy to modify Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/05/2012
try baking & brush the skins with olive oil/vegetable oil Actually I bake these (twice) or use extra day-old baked potatoes. For the second baking I brush the skins with olive oil to make them crispy. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
10/05/2012
awesome recipe love it! reminds me of fonzie fries I make a similar recipe I leave out the meat & eat the meat on the side. A diner in our town serves a similar dish it is a 60s style diner with jukebox elvis marilyn monroe pics etc..... The dish is called fonzie's fries it is a plate of fresh cut fries topped with cooked ground beef&onions topped again with chopped peppers then cheese curds and finally gravy! It is a doctored version of the canadian poutine very filling and delicious no desert needed thanks! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/05/2012
love these! I make a version of these but don't use meat they are awesome! I eat with roasted meat and carrots corn etc... A filiing dish similar to these is served at a local restaurant 60s diner style with juke box elvis&marilyn munroe pics etc.....the dish is called Fonzie's Fries it's a large plate of fries topped with ground beef&onions&chopped bell peppers topped next with cheese curds or mozza & gravy it's a doctored version of our Canadian poutine an entire meal really! Delicious. No desert needed thanks! Read More
Rating: 3 stars
10/01/2012
Good Survival Food I made these last night with some changes. First I baked the potatoes in the oven for 45 minutes because whenever I microwave potatoes they get a dry tough skin and I wanted them to be nice and crispy. Second I'm lactose intolerant so instead of sour cream I flavored them with minced garlic onion powder and chicken broth for moisture. They were pretty good but not spectacular. My SO said they made good survival food--an option to remember when you're snowed in and all you have is a sack of potatoes and a pound of ground beef and frozen veggies in the freezer (or a bottle of bacon bits if you're really unprepared). Since this recipe can be made with simple staples that keep well I'll file it away for the long stretch between December and March when it's tough to get to the grocery store. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
09/11/2012
Great recipe to add to the rotation! I love this recipe because it was so easy and quick to prepare. I cut it in half since I don't need so many leftover but the leftovers I had were awesome too! Pros: Quick easy inexpensive Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/17/2012
Delicious Quick and Easy I LOVE this recipe. It very easy to change up this recipe to your liking. Instead of adding meat and sour cream I just stuck with broccoli cheddar cheese and some black pepper for a little spice. It went great with my evening meal and this will not be the last time I load my potatoes! Pros: Easy to modify Read More
Rating: 5 stars
02/23/2012
I loved this recipe and my family wants them again! I served it with a side wedge salad. I even doubled the recipe but most of us only ate 1 potato because they're so filling. My only complaint was the filling was a bit dry but I added a dollop of extra sour cream on the top and that fixed it. There was also a lot of filling left but I put it in the refrigerator. Pros: Easy filling delicious Read More
Rating: 5 stars
01/17/2012
These are so good my 9 yr old takes these to school in her thermos for lunch! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
It was excellent - very good and filling. I cooked my potatoes in the oven instead of the microwave so it took a little longer but was well worth the wait. 'Erin Boston MA Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
My family loved this recipe! I did change it a little however. I omitted the beef and used crumbled bacon instead and then added about 1/2 cup of ranch dressing. I may try adding some sauteed mushrooms next time. This recipe is a keeper! 'Megan AR Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
I love em. I can easily wrap them up and take them anywhere. 'Anonymous Milwaukee WI Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
This meal was delicious! It was so easy and quick. Even my picky sister liked it. Emilye Provo UT Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
Why would you recommend using a microwave? isn't this supposed to be healthy? JENNIFER VALENZUELA LONG BEACH CA Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
This dish actually looked better than it tasted. It tasted much like a mushy casserole with little flavor and texture. Marie Johnson San Antonio TX Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
I love this recipe! leftovers are still good for the next day. I am cooking this again today because my mom loves it. This is a keeper. shelley Gilroy CA Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
This sounds great. Problem: my husband is a kidney patient and can't have the potassium. He loves baked potatos. For fried I soak them in ice water preferably overnight. Same for mashed potatos cut them up and soak before cooking. Any suggestions how I can do this for baked potatos? If I cut them in half before baking is soaking them going to remove significant potassium? Betty San Marcos TX Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
Anonymous in Toronto - I'm confused (doesn't take a lot to confuse me though)... what in this recipe cost 23 to make? The most expensive part of the recipe was the 8 oz of ground beef and I got 94% lean for 4.25 a pound. I loved using the mushrooms rather than stuffing the potatoes back in their jackets. Mushrooms are a wonderfully quiet taste that gives it that extra bit of texture. Thanks for the recipe. Pamrojo Atlanta GA Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
We used ground chicken and it was excellent and surprisingly filling. Elizabeth San Salvador ES Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
This works just as good with the soy beef crumbles. Thanks! Britt Kamloops BC Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
I realized I didn't have any broccoli in the house so I decided to try a more mexican style by using green peppers and black to the mix INSTEAD of broccoli and scallions. Turned out great. However I never thought of stuffing a potato and I don't know why! Thanks Britt Brittany Kamloops BC Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
The oven was already on so I wrapped the potatoes in foil and baked @ 375 for 1.5 hours. Then substituted greek yogurt for the sourcream then put back in the oven @ 425 for 20 min. Finally I topped them with the remaining cheese and returned them to the oven for 5 more min. Delish!!! Will definitely do again. BK Seattle WA Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
I agree with the person who used chicken broth to add some extra moisture. Plain non-fat yogurt is also a good thing to use when you need some extra moisture without fat and calories. Have not trie it but I would imagine black beans would be good in this for those who do not eat meat or for anyone really. This is a good way to eat the skin of the potato as I have read that is where so many of the nutrients are. I am curious if anyone has tried with sweet potatoes??? dottie Denver CO Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
I made this for my family and while it was very tasty I did use a bit more sour cream because the mixture was a bit dry. We had quite a bit of leftover stuffing mix so the next day I used the leftovers to top some big portobello mushrooms topped them with cheese and baked them in the oven and those were awesome! The mushrooms even seemed to add some extra moisture to the stuffing and made it really tasty. I think next time we will skip stuffing it back into the potato skins and just use it to top the mushrooms. The kids did like the stuffing either way we did it though so it's definitely a keeper recipe in our house! Jennifer New Bern NC Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
So I've just finished eating this and I thought that it was brilliant...though I did make a few changes. I used actual onions instead of green onions and I used barbeque sauce instead of sour cream. Also I added about 4 tablespoons worth of tobasco sauce. It cost about 23 bucks and has 4 meals' worth. Try it you won't be sorry. Anonymous Toronto Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
These potatoes are very good plus they are easy to make and low in calories. What more can you ask for. I would recommend these to anyone. Even my kids loved them. Melissa San Antonio TX Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
My family loved these! My kids screamed for more!! Renee Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
You can also substitute the ground meat w/chicken fajita meat and it is great also. Tracy Bonham TX Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
I added some chicken broth the second time around because they were a little dry and they were much better. Roasted garlic is also very good. Anonymous fort collins co Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
These were great. Easy and filling. Molly Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Using a microwave isnt unhealthy its a means to cooking certain things it is WHAT you cook in the microwave that can be unhealthy. This was a great meal and the microwave made it way too easy and convenient if your in a hurry. My kids asked for seconds and it was an awesome way to get them to eat more veggies! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This was somewhat disappointing to me. I think the beef could have used more seasoning and it made for a lot of clean-up. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This was so great I made it for my family which is 7 of us I had to make 4 for each of us because the Potatoes I bought weren't medium more like small. Every one loved it my bro said it tasted like if he were at a restaurant. I did change the ingredient a little by adding chopped tomatoes and minced garlic. It was amazing. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made this for dinner the other night & added onion powder & garlic to the hamburger! It was amazing. I also used the top 3rd & put those right in w/ the filling! Super quick & easy!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I skipped the ground beef using sauted onion and zuccini along with broccoli. It was a wonderfull lunch. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
We are not big ground beef fans so we used Hot Italian Chicken Sausage from Whole Foods. It was delicious. I highly recommend it because it adds so much flavor! I also doubled the amount of broccoli so I felt more like we were getting a serving of veggie. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made these as a side dish with grilled steaks. We were impressed! I followed the directions to cook the potatoes in the microwave and it was so easy. I omitted the beef from the potato and substituted non-fat greek yogurt for the sour cream. I also added a couple to tbsp. of prepared basil pesto I had made previously. I'll never use the oven to make potatoes again! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made them with out the meat and it came out tasty. Very easy to make and the cost was low! I made them with the golden baked pork cutlets. This will definitely be a weekly meal. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I use mushrooms to substitute for the ground beef. Add more broccoli too! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
You can use mushrooms instead of the ground beef and definitely add more broccoli. Scoop out the potato out of the top third and add it to your mixture. I will add tomatoes or salsa next time too! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Loved it! I used Greek Yogurt in place of the sour cream. I also only used half of the potato scooped out and increased my broccoli and added chopped onions. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Yummy recipe. Even my kids liked it. It is a meal on its own and easy to make...especially in the microwave.. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
This recipe and unknown variations are from time past from long ago and never forgotten. If you can make baked potatos and mash them you can make these cut potatoe in half and stuff both halves. pile all indgredients high (using all of the mixture) a wonderful snack for next day hot or cold try making meatballs (small) cooked fried and HIDE THEM IN THE POTATOES for the kids to "find". Honey bugs my mother called them. use inmagination or what ever is in fridge cupboards or freezer Oldest and most satisfying dish ever Did you know every state and country grows potaoes? Been atound since 200 BC Jean. California Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
These are soo good! My husband absolutely loves them! They're pretty easy to make & don't take long to prepare. Instead of the beef I have used bacon bits (for lack of time) and ground turkey. Both were great! I also add French's french-fried onions to the top for a little crunch. This gives it great texture! This is my favorite recipe from Eating Well!! Making them again tonight!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
the overall calorie and fat count are too high for me. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Make these again! That's the response I got from my son as he loaded his next spoonful. Love these stuffed potatoes -- or try them with diced ham and chopped steamed asparagus. Even faster to prepare! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Yum I thought it was awesome. However I made two large potatoes lightly coated them in canola oil and cooked them in the oven for an hour and 15 minutes. I mixed the potato with ground meat one cup of greek yogurt a half cup of cheese and a whole chopped crown of broccoli. Then I put most of the mixture back in the potato skins and saved some by itself as a side dish for another day. I heated the stuffed potatoes with a little more cheese on top for 30 minutes at 225. The skin was crispy and the filling delicious. I had the leftover filling the next day for lunch and it was amazing! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
10/29/2011
Pretty Good This is a tasty recipe. My family and I enjoyed it. I made the vegetarian version but not with the meat alternative I used more broccoli. You don't miss the butter or cream that is in a normal twice baked recipe. Pros: You can play with the recipe to your liking Cons: It takes a bit of time at least when you use the vegetarian (more broccoli) version Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Delicious and Filling I made this last night and was very impressed. For very few ingredients my meal was huge! I used ground turkey meat instead of beef doubled the broccoli and added sliced mushrooms. As a result my filling overflowed but that's was just fine! I seasoned the meat with a salt-free herb blend and it added a nice touch. It did take about 45 minutes start to finish so it's not a super quick meal. I felt like the simplicity made up for that though. It's not like I was pulling out 20 ingredients and chopping and dicing the whole time. In the end it was tasty and more than filling. I actually couldn't finish the whole potato. Looking forward to left-overs tonight! Pros: Simple inexpensive and tasty Cons: Not the fastest meal to make Read More