Recipe Image

South Pacific Shrimp

  • 25 m
  • 45 m
EatingWell Test Kitchen
“Vibrant Southeast Asian seasonings are a natural with shrimp. Freeze any leftover coconut milk or refrigerate it for several days; you can use it instead of broth or water to cook rice or enrich a curry.”

Ingredients

    • ⅓ cup “lite” coconut milk, (see Tips)
    • 2 serrano chiles, or jalapeno peppers, preferably red, seeded and minced
    • 1 teaspoon minced fresh ginger
    • 1 clove garlic, minced
    • 2 teaspoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
    • ¼ cup lime juice
    • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
    • 1 pound medium shrimp, (30-40 per pound), peeled and deveined (see Tips)
    • 1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil
    • ½ cup diced seeded tomato
    • 4 cups baby spinach

Directions

  • 1 Combine coconut milk, chiles, ginger, garlic, soy sauce, lime juice and brown sugar in a medium bowl. Add shrimp and toss to coat. Cover and marinate in the refrigerator for 10 to 15 minutes, tossing occasionally. Drain well, reserving marinade.
  • 2 Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add shrimp and cook, turning once, until barely pink, about 30 seconds per side; transfer to a plate. Add tomato and spinach to the pan; cook, stirring, until the spinach starts to wilt, about 30 seconds. Add the reserved marinade; simmer until the sauce thickens slightly, about 2 minutes. Return the shrimp and any accumulated juices to the pan; heat through. Serve immediately.
  • Tips: Freeze any leftover coconut milk or refrigerate it for several days; you can use it instead of broth or water to cook rice or enrich a curry or rice pudding (visit www.eatingwell.com for recipe suggestions).
  • Cooking with frozen shrimp: Individually quick-frozen shrimp, sold in resealable bags, are convenient to keep in your freezer. Thaw in a covered bowl in the refrigerator. If you're in a hurry, place shrimp in a colander under cold running water for about 5 minutes.
  • People with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity should use soy sauces that are labeled "gluten-free," as soy sauce may contain wheat or other gluten-containing sweeteners and flavors.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2019 EatingWell.com Printed From EatingWell.com 11/22/2019