Reviews 117

August 19, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Delicious fried fish cake taste without the guilt These baked salmon cakes are absolutely delicious, and taste as good as some fried fish cakes I've had at fish restaurants. I substituted chopped green pepper for the celery and used the specified amount of breadcrumbs as it extends the protein, and balances the strong fish flavor. They're so low in fat, though, that they fell apart; I think I'd add an extra egg next time. One of the best uses of canned salmon I've ever found! Pros: Flavorful, easy, healthy, economical Cons: low in fat; hard to keep together
July 10, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Way to much bread crumbs Cut the amount of bread crumbs to 1/2 cup, keep everything else the same amount of ingredients, use the creamy dill sauce and it will be fine. 1 3/4 cups of bread crumbs will give you fried bread balls. Pros: Tastie with the dill sauce Cons: Very dry and bland using the recommended amount of bread crumbs
May 10, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
blunderbus Many thanks to my USA friends for some awesome menus
February 16, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Easy Entertaining These were easy and delicious. They are a great dish for entertaining, too. They look very elegant and perfect to make ahead. I'm going to add something more for flavour next time - this is an easy recipe to adapt to your tastes. It's a dry dish and the sauce was essential. Maybe if I increase the veggies in it it will be more moist. Pros: Easy, yummy, elegant, simple, Cons: a bit dry, a bit bland,
January 16, 2013
profile image
By: EatingWell User
I would give the Salmon Cakes five stars...used parsley flakes rather than fresh. would make this again.
December 25, 2012
profile image
By: EatingWell User
Loved it but had to modify the recipe a little. My husband and I really enjoyed the salmon cakes. We live in Southern California so we had leftover grilled salmon (we grill all year). I cut back to one cup of bread crumbs since I noticed that was a common thread in reviews. I also added a jalapeno pepper that was diced into very small pieces. When I mixed all the ingredients, the mixture would not hold together so I added an extra egg and it was the perfect texture.
October 24, 2012
profile image
By: Dawn G
One of our favorites! This is a great light dinner. I have to make a substitution because I've never been able to find a 7 ounce can of salmon in our area. I use 2 - 5 ounce cans and less bread crumbs. I also use the whole egg instead of just the egg white. Pros: It's easy to keep the ingredients for this dish on hand with canned salmon
October 19, 2012
profile image
By: LesleySA
Recipes looks good so it's on my to try list. Handy tip for fresh breadcrumbs - freeze left over rolls and when breadcrumbs are needed, just grate from frozen. Works like a dream.
August 26, 2012
profile image
By: Cindy
Best Salmon Patties ever! Simple basic recipe for the first time. Add more seasonings to taste. I added lemon pepper & more mustard. Also, didn't have parsley, so added celery leaves & another celery stalk. My daughter loved them...my family of three both had two, since I used the smaller cans...2 (5.5 oz) which made 6 patties instead of 8. We all agreed that we should have these more often! Pros: By first sauteing the veggies in EVOO made these so more flavorable! Cons: Less bread crumbs about half & I used roasted garlic ones, too.
More Reviews