By the end of the week, any bananas left in the fruit bowl are past their prime--just right for these moist bran muffins. Add a handful of dark chocolate chips to entice children to enjoy a fiber-rich treat. Source: EatingWell Magazine, Winter 2004

Patsy Jamieson
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Coat 12 muffin cups with cooking spray.

    Advertisement
  • Whisk eggs and brown sugar in a medium bowl until smooth. Whisk in bananas, buttermilk, wheat bran, oil and vanilla.

  • Whisk whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a large bowl. Make a well in the dry ingredients; add the wet ingredients and stir with a rubber spatula until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips, if using. Scoop the batter into the prepared muffin cups (they'll be quite full). Sprinkle with walnuts, if using.

  • Bake the muffins until the tops are golden brown and spring back when touched lightly, 15 to 25 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes. Loosen edges and turn muffins out onto a wire rack to cool slightly before serving.

Tips

Ingredient Notes: You can use buttermilk powder in place of fresh buttermilk. Or make “sour milk”: mix 1 tablespoon lemon juice or vinegar to 1 cup milk.

Unprocessed wheat bran is the outer layer of the wheat kernel, removed during milling. Also known as miller's bran, it can be found in the baking section. Do not substitute bran cereal in this recipe.

DIY Muffin Cups: Make your next batch of muffins or cupcakes the ultimate grab-and-go treat by lining your tin with muffin liners. No liners? No problem. Use 5-inch squares of parchment paper, coat each muffin cup with cooking spray, and push each square into the cups using a small can or bottle, pressing the paper up the sides. (It's OK if some of the paper is sticking out over the rim.) Fill each cup as directed.

Nutrition Facts

200 calories; 6.2 g total fat; 0.8 g saturated fat; 32 mg cholesterol; 217 mg sodium. 232 mg potassium; 34.1 g carbohydrates; 3.9 g fiber; 15 g sugar; 4.8 g protein; 69 IU vitamin a iu; 2 mg vitamin c; 40 mcg folate; 83 mg calcium; 2 mg iron; 55 mg magnesium; 11 g added sugar;

Reviews (97)

Read More Reviews
100 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 85
  • 4 star values: 14
  • 3 star values: 1
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
09/27/2019
I have made this recipe twice in the past five days. My mom and boyfriend devoured them even though they are on the healthier side of the scale. The second time I made them I substituted organic unsweetened applesauce in place of the canola oil. You cannot tell the difference. I also added raisins, and shredded coconut to a few to add a little variation. Either way, I think they are fabulous as is or with some added bonuses. This recipe is a keeper. Try it! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/14/2019
Made these yesterday they were GREAT. Will definitely make these again. I even messed up and added 1 1/2 teaspoons of Baking Soda and Baking powder instead of 1/2 as recipe calls for. They were still really really good. I will make this again and this time will use sugar substitute in stead of Brown Sugar. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
02/02/2019
This recipe was amazing. Light moist muffins! The addition of the choc chips meant just the right amount of sweetness for a breakfast muffin!! Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
01/07/2019
I soaked the bran in almond milk mixed with apple cider vinegar used 1 egg and 2 egg whites 1/2 oil and 1/2 apple sauce whole wheat pastry flour instead of whole wheat. And sifted all my dry ingredients. My changes reduced the calories to 150 and the fat to less than 2 grams per muffin! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/15/2018
I loved this recipe! I actually did use bran cereal (All-Bran Buds) because a) they were in the cupboard b) the nearest grocery store is 20 miles away and c) I didn't see the recipe note about NOT substituting bran cereal 'til after they were in the oven! Didn't have choc. chips but I did have raisins so added them. Perfect. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
08/28/2018
Great flavor but came out a bit dry. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/20/2018
I also left out the chips and the muffins were not as sweet as I would have liked. I will add extra sugar if I don't add the chips next time. I also added much more cinnamon than called for and a little bit of apple sauce. The muffins were light and moist. I will definitely make these again. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
11/27/2017
Great recipe! Haven't tried choc chips but have added blueberries & walnuts. Make often. Delish! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
08/31/2017
I made a few changes which made these vegan (I cannot have eggs or dairy). I substituted 2 tbs ground chia seeds soaked 6tbs water for the eggs. I used almond milk with apple cider vinegar for the buttermilk. And olive oil for the canola oil. I did not use the chocolate chips or nuts. They were delicious! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
06/07/2017
Delicious! The muffin cups were full like description said they would be. I added dark chocolate chips and the walnuts right into mix. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/18/2017
This recipe is easy and the results are fabulous. These muffins have a lovely light texture and with less oil still taste well rounded. I don't like chocolate chips in my breakfast muffin I substituted 3/4 cup chopped walnuts and 1/2 cup coconut flakes. i had a bit of orange zest handy so I added it to make a healthy version if a morning glory muffin. Keep up the good work Eating Well staff! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
11/09/2016
I absolutely love this site! All the ingredients are great they are healthy and absolutely delicious! Healthy diets are a win-win for everyone! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe anyone wanting some extra bran in their diets definitely make these muffins! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/28/2016
Bought all the ingredients ahead of time. Followed directions and ingredients to a tee. Omitted the walnuts. They are delicious. Trying to eat heart healthy after second stent in July 2016. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
09/20/2016
Excellent. I didn't have bran so I used 1/2 cup ground flax chia blend and 1/2 cup hemp seeds. Worked fine. Thanks for the recipe! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
08/02/2016
Fantastic recipe! I didn't have the correct type of oat bran so I decided to omit the oat bran completly. I followed the recipe exact and took the ideas from another reviewer to sift the flour. I used 1 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour 1/2 cup uncooked oatmeal and 2 tbsp of whole flax seed which I grounded up. My husband loved them which really surprised me and at 154 calories (according to my recipe calculator) I'm thrilled! I will be making these every week. Read More
Rating: 3 stars
04/12/2016
Tasty But Not Needs A Bit More Flavor I sifted my dry ingredients to make them less sense and they came out beautiful. I did not add nuts or chips to stay healthier but I'd like more banana or cinnamon flavor so next time I'll add more of something. They also freeze very nicely. Pros: Moist Cons: Not a hint of sweetness needs more flavor Read More
Rating: 4 stars
12/28/2015
This recipe turned out great. Used High Fiber Oat Bran in stead of Wheat Bran as my store did not carry it. Also used Extra Light tasting Olive oil in stead of canola oil. Very happy with consistency and flavor. My 16year old son even said it was good and filling. Will make again. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
09/14/2015
This is a great recipe but I tweaked it a bit to make it just a little healthier. I used all whole wheat pastry flour instead a blend of white and whole wheat flours. I reduced the canola oil to half and substituted half cup of unsweetened applesauce for the remainder of the oil. ( I also doubled the recipe) I used all egg whites instead of whole eggs and I substituted Splenda brown sugar blend instead of brown sugar. I used half Flax seed meal for half of the bran and I reduced the nuts and chocolate chips to half. The muffins were so moist and tasty you'll never miss the other half! I thought that although this is a GREAT TASTING recipe It was not nearly as healthy as it could have been. I would also like to note that nutritional values of this recipe have also changed because of the substitutions. I did not bother to figure it out because unless you're planning on eating 3 or 4 of these beauties the calorie count won't matter much. Most likely a serving is 1 or 2 muffins add a peice of fruit and a cuppa and you're good to go! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
02/21/2015
Great Recipe and a few suggested tweeks My first attempt at this recipe died! First of all follow the wet and dry instructions! The first time I didn't mix it as it said and my batter was night and day from the second. I used yellow bananas for my muffins mashed them and put my eggs and sugar in with them and whipped them together until they were smooth and fluffy. I used Pumpkin Pie Spice and Almond extract (a little more than called for). I used a little more oil and buttermilk than called for (maybe two table spoons). I also used 1/4tsp each of baking powder and baking soda and omitted the salt from my recipe. I researched the oils and settled to stay with recommended oil (try organic pressed oil if you can find it! I couldn't!) This oil is used because of the high smoke point it has (so it doesn't burn at higher temps). I didn't feel confident about using apple sauce yet to replace it I wanted to get it right the first time and now I will play with it. I added a quarter cup of pure whey protein (thus the added oil and buttermilk) Next time I will try and extra egg white for this recipe. My father had a stroke three years ago and this recipe helps two fold the bran for stomach issues and adding Whey is an added Protein which he needs. I do have a few suggestions this recipe. 1. One large bowl (dry) one medium bowl (wet) 2. Measure out everything before combining and follow the instructions except one. Put your cinnamon or what ever your use in with the wet ingr Read More
Rating: 5 stars
06/02/2014
Great Recipe I tripped the recipe not adding the optional ingredients and substituting the brown sugar for brown sugar blend Splenda (you use half amount) and a bit more cinnamon. Turned out great and my diabetic husband loves them.. And so do I!! (PS I normally can't handle the taste of Splenda but you honestly can't tell that I used it in this recipe) Pros: Healthy Moist Delicious Read More
Rating: 4 stars
05/02/2014
Completely yummy I didn't make ANY changes except to leave out the optional chocolate chips. Oh yes I only made half and it halved very well. Being on my own I didn't want to make the whole batch just in case I didn't fancy them. The next time I'll make the whole thing! Pros: Easy yummy the right size recipe halves well Cons: I can't think of any Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/25/2014
Actually really good Didn't have any wholemeal flour so just used plain but added lots of bran and walnuts which gave it great texture and fibre content. Never thought to add cinnamon to banana muffins before but I love it. Pros: Moist textured flavourful and healthy Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/20/2013
Delish and versitile! I love this recipe and how easy it is to modify. And the muffins are HUGE! I will often get 2 dozen smaller muffins instead of the dozen large ones. They make great after school snacks like that. Also great with cranberries! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
08/20/2013
Love these muffins! Used what I had on hand so substituted one of the eggs for flax seed coconut oil in place of canola oil and almond milk with lemon juice for the sour milk in place of buttermilk. They are delish! Great snack for the whole family. My toddler will eat an entire muffin. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
07/21/2013
Easy to make to your liking! I made these with wholemeal self raising flour instead of putting in the baking soda and baking powder. I used coconut crunch instead of bran and coconut oil instead of canola. I also put in a couple of teaspoons of almond butter instead of the walnuts (my partner doesn't like walnuts and I'm not a huge fan of whole nuts in muffins). they turned out delicious. I mixed some cocao nibs into half the batter for a healthier alternative to chocolate chips. I will definitely be making these again! Pros: Moist wholesome source of fibre Tasty Read More
Rating: 5 stars
06/24/2013
Excellent muffins Very easy recipe and delicious. I wouldn't change a thing!! I chop up a dark choc bar for a delicious surprise! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
06/18/2013
I LOVE this recipe! As a diabetic I sub the brown sugar with 1/2 Whey low gold which a brown sugar substitute I buy online and regular Splenda and I also use half of the white flour and sub the other half with whole oat flor adding another 1/2 tsp of baking soda helps to make muffins rise despite the heavier flour sub. Now my granddaughter is running on her high-school cross country team and I am adding a bit of protein prouder to the mix for her! She shares them with her team mates and they all love them! to keep them moist I add an extra 1/4 cup of banana and 1 T. of molasses. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
05/17/2013
Easy and Delicious These muffins are delicious when fresh and hot and they're almost as good reheated in the microwave. They freeze well too. I sometimes substitute hazelnut meal for part of the all-purpose flour and they still rise nicely. The only time this recipe failed me was when I poured all the batter into a single standard-size loaf pan instead of muffin cups. It was starting to burn on top when it was still not done in the center. (This batter might work for mini-loaves though.) Pros: A thrifty use of overly ripe bananas easy delicious when fresh and hot Cons: Filling muffin cups is a fussy chore. The batter is too heavy for a single loaf. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
03/09/2013
Easy (Relatively) healthy and absolutely delicious A five star recipe for the family. DH who is very fussy despite what he might believe of himself ate two of these straight from the oven. As others have said the recipe is very adjustable to suit whatever ingredients you might have on hand. For me lack of buttermilk was easily rectified with plain milk and a spoonful of yoghurt or sour cream. First time I had no cinnamon so added extra vanilla and they were superb. Pros: Ingredients all easily available kept well in fridge freeze well Cons: Even nicer with butter! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
01/24/2013
My Go-To Recipe I LOVE these muffins. They're an easy delicious and healthy option for breakfast (or to cure my sweet tooth). I look forward to using some of the suggestions to make it even healthier. Here's my question: Do the nutrition facts listed include the nuts or chocolate chips? Or is it just for the plain muffin? I've been dying to figure this out! Thanks! Pros: Easy delicious Read More
Rating: 4 stars
01/15/2013
Best banana muffins yet reducesyet reduces oil by half and replaced with applesauce. Followed other reviews and reduced sugar to half a cup. Added peanut butter chips along with chocolate chips. These are the best muffins yet Read More
Rating: 4 stars
01/10/2013
So Easy and Filling I've just made my first batch of these muffins. I made a couple small changes to make them more healthy: I substituted organic unsweetened apple sauce for oil (1/4c) I then cut the brown sugar down to 2/4 brown sugar and then instead of chocolate chip or almonds I chopped up a third banana all thin and put them on the tops of the muffins. I also used Quaker's Wheat Bran because that was all I could find at CO-OP. They are fantastic and will definitely be added to my breakfast rotation! To freeze I wrapped each one individually in cling-wrap and then put them in zip-lock bags. Enjoy this fantastic recipe! Pros: Very quick Read More
Rating: 5 stars
01/06/2013
Loved them As always with muffin recipes I reduced sugar by 1/2. But I did include choc chips. Muffins were fantastic. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
12/16/2012
Awesome muffins. Defintely going to make them again Pros: Nice taste and healthy version of the muffins Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2012
These are a staple in my house Whenever I have a banana that turns faster than I can eat it I throw it in a bag in the freezer until I have enough for this recipe. I substitute apple sauce for the oil and it's still very moist. These muffins freeze very well. I take them out of the freezer in the morning and by the time I get to work they're defrosted enough to eat. Sometimes I change it up a bit by adding dark chocolate chips raisins or pecans. Pros: freezes well Read More
Rating: 5 stars
08/27/2012
Delicious healthy banana muffins Love these banana muffins. Very easy to throw together and the result is both moist and tasty. Olive oil worked well in this and I skipped the cinnamon just because I wasn't in the mood for it. I like the use of vanilla and buttermilk; I suspect buttermilk is the key to the moistness in the absence of a ton of oil. Threw in about 1/3 c chocolate chips to entice my husband and son. This adds about 30 calories per muffin from sugar and fat but I figure it's worth it if it gets them to take in the fiber potassium and protein. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
08/03/2012
Why would someone put pumpkin in this amazing recipe and then consider they are still making this recipe?!! It isn't fair to change verything in a recipe and then leave a commnet. Better to say...I made this new recipe...it's awesome or it's gross!! Read More
Rating: 4 stars
07/03/2012
Perfect as written... I do not know why everyone changes the recipe and then comments on it....I did not change a thing and they came out exactly like a perfect muffin....light just sweet enough wonderful crumb good banana flavor and held together well for that pat of butter. I did not use the chocolate chips that were optional as the nuts were the better complement to a healthy muffin. All muffin recipes can take substitutions in stride...that is the beauty of muffins....but this basic recipe is great. I keep banana slices in the freezer chop them coarsely and combine in the wet ingredients... muffins ready in minutes. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
05/15/2012
Probably the best banana bran muffins I ever baked! Truly beautifully risen fluffy not too sweet and full of goodness! Used walnuts instead of chocolate (not a fan) applesauce instead of oil and honey in place of sugar. The flavors and aroma are just right. Thanks! we'll keep on baking these again and again. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
05/11/2012
An awesome staple and freezes well I make this recipe as is with the chocolate chips. These muffins are delish and I've made them 3 or 4 times now. I keep coming back to this recipe. They freeze well also. I microwave them after a day or two or after I freeze them to make the full flavor shine through. Great for breakfast or a snack. Very filling and very healthy. Pros: great for adults and kids great for breakfast or snack Read More
Rating: 5 stars
04/02/2012
Incredibly delicious as-is (Unlike most reviews here this one applies to the actual recipe on this website.) Incredible recipe. Easily the best wheat bran muffin I have ever eaten. The result is not heavy or dense in the least. As others have noted one could cut back on the sugar a bit but even as-is these muffins are not at all cloying unlike so many other bran muffins. I used the walnut topping which was a great touch. The chocolate would probably be delicious but the banana and vanilla come through so nicely with the standard recipe that I'd hate to cover it up with a blast of chocolate. Thank you Eating Well for adding another favorite recipe to my personal collection! Pros: Light moist airy Cons: A tad sweeter than necessary Read More
Rating: 5 stars
02/20/2012
Love this Recipe used Splenda and and FiberOne cereal I love this recipe a few adjustments Used 1 c fiber one cereal substituted splenda for Sugar. I had 3 med bananas Used Russell Stover dark chcoalate bar( 4 squares) and chop and toast walnuts and 1/4 c flax. More diabetic friendly. Let batter sit 15 minutes before filling muffin tin better structure aandrises better. Pros: Works well in high altitude with High altitude flour. great consistency Read More
Rating: 5 stars
02/02/2012
Terrific This is in my permanent recipe rotation. Great breakfast. Used mini chips which worked quite well but am going to try finely chopped dark chocolate this time. Also added more nuts to tops than recommended and will do so again. Probably will toast them as well. Pros: Easy quick last for a week on a countertop Cons: VERY filling. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made them without chocolate chips and they were still very good. Ivona Zagreb Cr Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This was a great recipe. My suggestions - use about 3 or 4 small bananas and only lightly mash them so you still have some chunks add a handful of sweetened coconut and sprinkle turbinado sugar on the tops. Emily austin tx Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
These are among our favorite muffins! They're really easy to make. I've never added chocolate chips and my 3-year-old and picky husband still love them. It seems important to avoid overbaking...they're extra-moist if they're not baked too long. Kathy Knoxville TN Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I love these muffins and always make them with the chocolate chips. Today I tried substituting pumpkin for the banana since I can't find a good pumpkin muffin recipe. I also increased the cinnamon and added ginger allspice and nutmeg. The result is very good. I might try again with pumpkin and add some nuts or raisins. Jill Orlando FL Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
These are outstanding! My 4 year old requests these often but I usually cut down the sugar (and sometimes use a little Splenda). By using mini choc chips you can get away with using less and nobody will notice the difference. Great texture moist. I don't like banana nut bread but these are great! B OR Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I really liked these. I didn't have buttermilk so I subbed lowfat yogurt and they were good. I like the bran flavor and the subtlety of the banana. Robin Long Beach CA Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I've been searching for a healthier banana-muffin recipe. This fits the bill but I don't like them much. They taste healthy--& I don't mean that in a good way. However my young daughter adores them and takes them to school nearly every day. (I freeze them & take one out the night before.) They have very minimal banana flavor so I add an extra one which helps. I also think they would be much improved by the chips (which I've never used) and nuts (I can't send anything with nuts to school). Just OK but my daughter loves them Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Is the Nutritional Information with or without the chocolate chips? Anonymous Las Vegas NV Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
These muffins are delicious even without the chocolate chips! They freeze well too. Anonymous Great Neck NY Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
These tasted great! I added some unsweetened flaked coconut instead of the chocolate and really liked the combination. Anonymous Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
These are awesome warm with the chocolate chips added! reader Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
My family loves these muffins - whole wheat and all! Anonymous Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This recipe is recommended in the article on "slow release" carbohydrate breakfasts for fat-burning. Ridiculous! Overripe fruit brown sugar white flour buttermilk are all full of insulin-spiking carbohydrates; exactly what the article says will cause the body to store fat. There are some people new to fitness and nutrition who will believe what the editors put together. This is irresponsible. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
To me the picture of the muffin in the magazine portrays a nice high muffin cap. I was never able to achieve that with this recipe which was reasonably good otherwise (hence the three star rating). Since I prefer a muffin with a nice tall top I decided to try this recipe again using butter instead of canola oil and using the creaming method. I also decided to use pumpkin this time so cut down on the buttermilk since pumpkin has approximately 25% more water content than bananas. Anyway I was really happy with these mods! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Great basic recipe Yummy but I too have problems getting that beautiful tall muffin. I have also used this recipe as a base and played around with the ingredients adding oatmeal and flax seed meal in place of some of the flours and reduced the brown sugar and added honey. My twins love them with and without the chocolate chips but definitely prefer with! For those that consider this recipe full of insulin boosting carbs please go eat your scrambled egg white and feel assured about what you're eating. For those of us that are healthy and fit but also love food and cooking we'll eat our whole grains fruits (gasp) and veggies yes even carrots and we'll be assured we're not only living a healthy life style but enjoying the wonders of great food. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I tried to make it lower in fat and cholesterol by replacing the oil with unsweetened applesauce and used eggbeaters instead of eggs. Did use mini chocolate chips (didn't want to take ALL the fat out!). My 2 kids loved the muffins! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Didn't try yet but wondering if I can use rolled oats instead of unprocessed wheat??? Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I reduced the brown sugar a tad but otherwise made these as written and they turned out great--muffin tops included! Even reducing the sugar these were plenty sweet. Could maybe even go down to 1/2 cup in my opinion. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Here is a tip that helps my muffins to be "taller": Only spray the bottom of the muffin cups with cooking spray not the sides. When cooking spray is on the sides of the muffin it affects how the muffin rises while it is baking and the tops do not look as nice:) Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I've made these twice now and they turned out even better the second time. I was able to get nice tall tops. The insides are very moist. I used the choc chips and they taste just like chocolate banana bread. Freeze very nicely. I pop one out on the weekend for a breakfast treat! Will definitely make this recipe again and again! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
These were an absolute hit:) I used all whole wheat flour( dont use white flour anymore) the trick is to add just a tiny bit more liquid to the recipe. And they look just like the picture I oiled the bottoms of the muffin tins only with coconut oil. Delish!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I have been making these for years. Delicious! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Definitely follow the directions carefully! I live overseas and couldn't get the miller's bran so I substituted bran cereal although the recipe specifically said not to...of course they were right because although the flavor is still great my muffins weigh about a pound each! LOL! Still a great recipe though!:) Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made these by substituting Stonyfield Farms Organic low-fat strawberry yogurt for the buttermilk as I didn't have any and couldn't bother with the sour milk substitution. I also added about 1/2 c oatmeal and used wheat germ instead of unprocessed bran (didn't realize I had it tucked away in the back of the fridge until the muffins were in the oven)! They came out quite tasty. Since I don't have muffin pans my batch generated two dozen cupcake size muffins. I would make these again as is or with my substitutions. Another great recipe from Eating Well! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Great way to make a healthy version of banana bread with less oil. While the bran is noticeable it is more a reminder that these muffins are healthy. However they taste so sweet they don't need any additions (like butter or honey). I am going to add this to my collection of healthy breakfast recipes for sure! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I love them! They are easy to make very easy to take as an easy fast breakfast with fruit when you are short on time. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Those muffins are so moist... I love them. Like usual I like to add a little twist to my recipes I add some blueberries... Delicious!!! The wheat bran makes it a little crunchy which I really like. PS: I slightly toasted my wheat bran to make them crunchy.... SO GOOD! I highly recommend this muffin to everyone! It is a keeper at my house! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I have been making this recipe every week for over a year. We've been following the principles of Dr. Oz's You: On a Diet for a year and a half and these muffins are a nice addition to our daily luncheon salad. The bran helps us stay satisfied through the afternoon. I skip the chocolate chips; the recipe is tasty without them. I also use a very heaping teaspoon of cinnamon and a little less than a cup of bananas. I keep a supply of these muffins in the freezer and when I'm too busy to bake we grab a muffin from the freezer in the morning and it's ready to be eaten with a steaming cup of coffee by early afternoon. Yum! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Wonderful muffins. I add raisins instead of chocolate chips. They freeze great. When my husband sees the bananas get brown he gets happy because he knows that he'll have muffins soon. They're moist crumbly and fiber-ful... perfect! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
These muffins are great and easy to make. While the bran flavor is noticeable the sweetness and moistness more than make up for it making these muffins a hit with even picky eaters. I did add a little more banana than suggested which I would recommend as when using only a cup the banana flavor is too subtle. The chocolate chips make it seem like an indulgence when these muffins are actually a healthy meal. On my next batch I think I may add a little unsweetened flaked cocunut to the mix. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Substituted applesauce for the Canola oil and omitted the chocolate chips added falx seeds.Great start in the AM or as a dessert after dinner Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
These muffins are fabulous! My husband is happy to eat them for dessert! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
My family loves these muffins (I am actually making them again today)! I substitute whole wheat flour for all the flour detailed on the ingredients list. They freeze and thaw well too. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I just popped these out of the muffin tins and they are superb! I filled my cups to just at the line and still had enough batter to fill a 12 cup mini muffin tin as well (baked for half the time). The minis are adorable! I did some substitutions: I used 1/3 cup applesauce and left out the oil I used all whole wheat flour I added 1/2 cup black walnut pieces to the batter with the dark chocolate chunks as well as chopping up another 1/2 cup to top the muffins with and instead of using buttermilk I used lowfat buttermilk powder and for the liquid I used whey I drained off some plain nonfat yogurt. I like to drain it to make the yogurt thicker and the liquid is great in baked goods such as this. My kiddo swooned at first bite this is a keeper! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I have made almost all your muffin recipes and they are all great but this one has won everybody's heart! I make it at least once a week! Thanks. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Awesome recipe! Best muffins on this site. I skipped the bran because I didn't have any on hand. I mixed the walnuts right into the batter. They turned out great! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This is the best bran muffin I have EVER had! I have another recipe for Banana Bran Muffins that uses bran cereal. I had remembered it as good so made it last week when I couldn't find this recipe (and didn't have my computer available). It really didn't compare to this recipe... I'm going back to this! I usually add raisins instead of chocolate chips to keep the fat and sugar down and add more fiber and iron. I always put 3 bananas even if they are large and make more than a cup. Always moist and yummy! I freeze half to keep them fresh for later in the week. Makes a great breakfast to look forward to! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
These muffins are the best I've ever tasted! My family loved them also. I skipped the chocolate chips and added raisins instead. I think I'll add coconut the next time I make them. I only had 2 bananas and they were less than a cup but the muffins still had a marked banana flavor. Yum! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Mine came out super dry- flavor was good but really dry like a piece of bread. Followed the recipe to a T. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Delicious muffins - I omitted the chocolate chips and my wife and I love them. The texture is wonderful moist and chewy. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Love these muffins. They make the perfect breakfast on the run. Especially for my husband who refuses to get up with enough time to have breakfast. I just freeze them then defrost the morning of so we have breakfast on the go. They are just the right combination of sweet and soft/moist muffins! Will make over and over again. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I really like these muffins but I do think they need an extra something to balance the bran flavor. If you like a more earthy taste than I think these are fine the way they are. But personally I prefer a stronger fruit flavor so I add a little more banana cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. I have made these quite a few times and I think they are a great base to toy with. I definitely think the chocolate kicks these babies up a notch. I've also tried it with Nutella (YUM!) by filling the cupcake cups half way with batter piping a layer of Nutella and then pouring more batter until the cup is full. I really like that version. I am making them again this weekend but I'm going to try substituting the pumpkin for the banana. Overall I think these are a great fast healthy breakfast but don't be discouraged if they don't win you over the first time around. Play with the flavors a little bit because the convenience of such a quick health-conscience breakfast makes it worth the effort. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
I LOVE these muffins. I make them all the time. I eat one a day with breakfast (and freeze them so they stay fresh for a couple weeks). To me they taste delicious (I just started eating healthy and the bran doesn't bother me at all!) I add 5oz of chopped walnuts to the batter to get more healthy fat in my diet! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
These are wonderful! With a bowl of fresh fruit it's a perfect breakfast! This recipe is a definitely a do again! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Very Good! I didn't have any wheat bran so I used oat bran instead. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
These muffins are delicious! They are moist and flavorful. I was advised by my doctor to increase my fiber intake and these have 4 grams of fiber per muffin! just wish there would be a way to reduce the calories! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
This muffin recipe is a keeper! Easy to make and filling. I omitted the chocolate chips and added golden raisins and a handful of pecan pieces. Also as someone else previously mentioned here added in some shredded coconut. Delicious! - Kim Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
I changed this recipe up a bit in order to use up some canned pumpkin in my fridge. I doubled the recipe using three eggs 2 cups of pumpkin 1/3 cup oil 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips 1/2 chopped dates and about 1/4 cup crushed flax seeds. They turned out great and freeze very well. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Very versatile recipe I did not have wheat bran so I used wheat germ instead. I changed the 3/4 cup plain flour to 1/2 cup white pastry flour and 1/4 cup ground flaxseed. I replaced 1/2 cup of wholewheat flour with half cup of ground oats and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. The muffins were very soft and fluffy and still tasted sweet enough. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Absolutely delicious! I modified the recipe by adding less sugar and added a cup of raisins 1 cup shredded zucchini 1/4 cup ground flax seeds and 1 tsp ginger. I doubled the quantity of vanilla and cinnamon. They came out superb! Next time I plan to substitute some of the oil with applesauce and add mulberries and orange zest. This is an excellent recipe because it provides the flexibility to add your own flair. Cheers! Pros: moist healthy and filling! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Simple! very good muffins! I didn't add choc chips but the walnuts in them added a nice crunch! I also sprinkled some oat on top and drizzled some honey over that before baking and this added a bit more sweetness--and made them look extra pretty! Pros: Moist Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Healthy and delicious To make these great muffins even better I doubled the recipe and used 2c. whole wheat flour and 1c. of quinoa flour. Instead of oil I substituted the same amt. of crunchy peanut butter. I used mini chocolate chips so that they wouldn't sink to the bottom. I doubled the amt. of walnuts for their healthy oils and protein. I bake these in muffin top pans so that I can freeze them and then just pop them in the toaster for a fresh hot breakfast. Pros: a light muffin w/ fiber and protein Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
These muffins are tops! Substituted buttermilk for almond milk; substituted vanilla extract for almond extract. Added 1/2 cup of shredded coconut. Used safflower oil instead of canola; used soy flour instead of all purpose flour. The bananas walnuts and chocolate chips make these muffins taste like a naughty treat. But the whole wheat flour and wheat bran provides a healthier alternative to regular muffins. These are my go to muffins when I get a craving for a sweet snack. Pros: Moist substantial hearty and delicious Cons: None Read More