Blending vanilla yogurt and reduced-fat cream cheese creates a topping that's as virtuous as it is delicious. Any fresh berry can be used in this recipe. Source: EatingWell Magazine, Spring 2003

Jim Romanoff
Advertisement

Ingredients

Ingredient Checklist

Directions

Instructions Checklist
  • Using a fork, break up cream cheese in a medium bowl. Drain off any liquid from the yogurt; add yogurt to the bowl along with honey. Using an electric mixer, beat at high speed until light and creamy. Stir in lemon zest.

    Advertisement
  • Layer the lemon cream and blueberries in dessert dishes or wineglasses. If not serving immediately, cover and refrigerate for up to 8 hours.

Tips

Make Ahead Tip: Cover and refrigerate for up to 8 hours.

Nutrition Facts

144 calories; 5.2 g total fat; 3 g saturated fat; 18 mg cholesterol; 133 mg sodium. 230 mg potassium; 21 g carbohydrates; 1.9 g fiber; 17 g sugar; 5.1 g protein; 217 IU vitamin a iu; 9 mg vitamin c; 15 mcg folate; 126 mg calcium; 14 mg magnesium; 5 g added sugar;

Reviews (14)

Read More Reviews
14 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 13
  • 4 star values: 0
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 1
Rating: 5 stars
01/30/2016
Oops also meant to say... Oops in previous review also meant to say that I used full fat yogurt and cream cheese. Additionally I let the cream cheese come to room temperature and didn't need a mixer. A hand whisk worked fine. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
01/30/2016
I Don't Like Yogurt But I Liked This Needed something super fast to make for a potluck and luckily I found this recipe. I don't even like yogurt but this was good. I did adjust the recipe a it because I don't care about fat but I do care about sugar and flavored yogurt is full of sugar and then you add more! Instead of vanilla yogurt I used plain unsweetened yogurt and added a teaspoon of vanilla. I then added a bit of extra honey (but still less than would have been in the flavored yogurt alone) and added all the zest from one medium lemon. Worked great and tasted even better after sitting a while. (I think adding a bit of fresh mint would also be very good) I used the sauce on a mixture of blueberries and pineapple but I think it would work on any fruit. Pros: Fast easy and delicious. Cons: Can't think of any. Read More
Rating: 1 stars
04/18/2013
This is not low carb Regular yogurt will contain carbs and low fat will contain more. This might be fine if your goal is low fat but if you are restricting carbs this is a poor choice. 17.2 Carbs in 1 cup of yogurt plus honey. A Tablespoon of honey has some 17 carbs. 17.5 carbs in a cup of blueberries. Do the math and this recipe includes 12.9 5.6 35.6=54.1 net carbs. I removed the fiber already. Four servings so will have 13.525 grams of carbs. This is not low carb sorry. Pros: Fairly natural ingrediants Cons: High carbs and likely to include HFCS Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
This was excellent. I've made it several times and tried using orange peel the last time. It's even better than with the lemon peel. This is a great light dessert on those hot summer nights. chef liz San Antonio TX Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
This was ok. The lowfat cream cheese gave it a different flavor but we did enjoy the lemony flavor. I would prefer to just add the blueberries to lowfat vanilla yogurt. Amy Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
This is sooooooo good and sooooooo easy. I took the suggestion and used lemon yogurt. A wonderful low-cal way to enjoy to enjoy fresh summer blueberries. Ellen Oak Park IL Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
I tried this as a replacement for a mascarpone and cream topping for blueberries. The flavor was okay but the texture was inelegant. There were specks of cream cheese that did not blend with the yogurt. (You can see this in the photo.) Susan RI Providence ri Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
This was SOOO good and so easy. I used plain yogurt so I sweetened it with a little maple syrup and some vanilla before using it in the recipe. I served the cream with a mixture of fresh blueberries strawberries and peaches. It was a big hit! Penelope Burlington VT Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
I used lemon yogurt. Tastes like blueberry cheesecake. Anonymous Fond du Lac WI Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
I too used lemon yogurt....this was good and light. I mixed strawberries raspberries and blueberries....delicious! I didn't have any blending problems-I let the cream cheese soften a bit before blending it. I served it over shortcake for my father-in-law. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I think the recipe itself was very good but the products I used didn't work the best. I would be careful using organic yogurt as it was a little too liquidy. Next time I will try the lemon yogurt like other suggested. A good low fat option to ice cream and a delicious treat on a summer evening. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I haven't made this but sounds like what I made the other night frozen fresh blueberries added to vanilla flavored yogurt.....very good and tasty! Without the fuss. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Mmmm delicious. I made this for dessert tonight and it came out fantastic. I added a few squirts of lemon juice to give it some extra lemon flavor. It came out perfect. My boyfriend saw it and wanted to try it and loved it and he doesn't really like blueberries. This is so easy to make and came out great! Very filling and tasty too! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
Easy and delicious! Delicious!! I've made it several times - adpated the recipe by using plain non-fat Greek yogurt and adding 1/2tsp vanilla and 1-2 packets of Splenda. It comes out thick and creamy - and with the added bonus of less sugar and more protein. Yummm! Read More