This Southwestern-inspired turkey-and-squash soup gets a little kick from crushed red pepper and some zing from fresh lime juice. You can use leftover turkey or chicken (instead of the cutlets); dice it and add a few minutes before serving. Serve with cornbread.

EatingWell Test Kitchen
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Heat oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add leeks and bell pepper; cook, stirring often, until the vegetables begin to soften, 3 to 4 minutes. Add garlic and cook, stirring, for 1 minute more. Stir in broth, squash, thyme and cumin; cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and cook until the vegetables are tender, about 10 minutes.

    Advertisement
  • Add turkey and corn; return to a simmer and cook until the turkey is just cooked through, 3 to 4 minutes. Add lime juice and crushed red pepper. Season with salt and pepper.

Nutrition Facts

231 calories; 2.7 g total fat; 30 mg cholesterol; 550 mg sodium. 31.1 g carbohydrates; 24.3 g protein; Full Nutrition

Reviews (21)

Read More Reviews
21 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 16
  • 4 star values: 5
  • 3 star values: 0
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
12/03/2017
This was quick and delicious. I peeled and chopped the squash before work in the morning and quickly threw this together for friends after work. I used leftover turkey stock from thanksgiving but I m sure it would have been great with any kind of stock or boullion. I was keeping it gluten free for a friend with allergies so served it with corn quesadillas. I did use a masher to break up some of the squash to give it a little thickness so it was more like a stew and I added some liquid from red chilies I was soaking for another recipe. Really though the recipe is great as is. I appreciate that it s a good base and accommodates additions well. Will definitely make again. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
01/16/2017
I used ground turkey and a small white onion instead of leeks. I added the uncooked turkey when the onion and red peppers began to soften. I used dried thyme. I felt like there wasn't enough to feed five and since I didn't have anymore corn on hand I added a half can of black beans (rinse before added). I also added a 14 oz can of low sodium chicken broth and tossed in a pinch or so extra of each spice. We all loved it! Ages ranging from 5 to 62. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
05/31/2015
Easy and delicious with a bit of zing Tasty combination of ingredients especially like the leeks. Adding turkey cutlets for just the last few minutes keeps them tender. Those who love spicy can add more red pepper flakes at the table. Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
01/08/2015
Great Flavors but... Yummy flavors - so good! BUT next time I will cook the turkey separate. I was nervous as to whether it was cooked and ended up over cooking it - easier to cook the turkey on its own. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/04/2012
Terrific This soup is terrific...I used turkey sausage (cut into 2in slices) and left over chicken breast...plus I had a bunch of butternut and cabbage from the garden...sooo yummy...the husband wants more!!! Pros: warm flavorful with a slight kick Read More
Rating: 4 stars
11/26/2011
great idea for turkey leftovers Excellent soup for the kids. Pros: Easy to make Read More
Advertisement
Rating: 4 stars
11/26/2011
Just ate a bowl of this soup for lunch and it's fantastic. Followed the recipe with just a couple exceptions--had only one leek so added about a half cup chopped onion to sub for the second used leftover Thanksgiving turkey and garnished with some chopped fresh cilantro. It is so delicious and one of the best ever uses of leftover Thanksgiving turkey. The added bonus is that it's so healthy. I won't wait until next November to make it again--I'll use the cutlets next time. Highly recommend adding the cilantro if you like it because it really adds to that southwestern flair. Read More
Rating: 4 stars
11/25/2011
So Yummy! This is my favorite recipe from Eating Well. Have made it often since it first came out in one of the magazines a couple of years ago! Pros: Smooth and savory Read More
Rating: 5 stars
11/16/2011
Great! I just made this recipe tonight. It is delicious. It a great soup to make for the fall. I improvised with ground turkey instead of cutlets. I browned it in a pan first and then added it to the soup. This recipe is easy. I will be making this one again! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/31/2011
This soup is colorful tasty and perfect for a cold rainy night. I have also made it with pre-cooked chicken or turkey - saves time and uses up the leftovers. Easy convenient and delicious! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I used turkey sausage and fresh corn off the cob and the soup turned out great! Soup smelled wonderful and is a very healthy and savory soup. I highly recommend it! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made it with ground turkey that I sauteed before adding to the soup. Turned out like a great turkey/corn chili! YUM! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Easy to prepare with Thansgiving leftovers I used green onions instead of leeks. I could have used more cumin nice combination of ingredients. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made this with leftover Thanksgiving turkey & it was A-W-E-S-O-M-E! I did not follow the recipe exactly because I had a bit more turkey squash broth & thyme leftover then it called for so I just through it all in! I increase the amount of the other things to make-up for the extra ingredients. I added a little cayenne pepper too which gave it even more of a kick! I would def make this again:) Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
I made this soup the other day with some leftover Christmas turkey. It was delicious! I added more turkey and squash than the recipe called for so it was more of a stew than a soup. I will cook this again really soon! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
This is the best soup I've ever made - pure happiness (my family acutally calls it happiness soup because of the bright and vibrant color and how good you feel after eating) I do like chicken a little better and use bone in chicken breast instead of turkey and sometimes instead of cumin (if I am out) will use curry with great results. Yummy!!!! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/30/2011
Made this soup with chicken and pureed it just before adding chicken and corn. Excellent! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
This soup is delicious. I used ground turkey added some frozen spinach toward the end and also added a small sweet potato that I baked and mashed for a creamier texture. Excellent.:o) Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
This soup was wonderful. I did make a few changes the soup needed a bit more salt so I added 1/4 tsp more salt and I switched one cup of the frozen corn with one cup of frozen edamame. I also used 1 1/2 chopped jalapenos instead of red bell pepper but that's because I don't like red pepper. My husband added hot sauce to his second bowl and it was tasty as well. Delicious with rolls to sop up the juices and I included slices of lime to squeeze over as you ate it. Another winner from eatingwell! Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
I loved this soup! I didn't have a red bell pepper so I just didn't put it in. And I also didn't have the cumin and thyme but put in a couple of my own spices. I think it will be better next time with all the right spices but I thought it was great! One of my favorite soups ever! oh and I used acorn squash instead of butternut squash. Read More
Rating: 5 stars
10/29/2011
This was a yummy soup and a great way to use up some leftover Thanksgiving turkey! I made my own turkey stock and used that as the base and it was delicious and very filling. Read More