Red-Cooked Tofu with Mushrooms
Fold a clean kitchen towel and place it on a cutting board or large plate. Set tofu on the towel. Put another folded clean towel over the tofu and place a flat, heavy weight (such as a skillet) on top; drain for 30 minutes.Advertisement
Meanwhile, place dried shiitakes (or black mushrooms) in a measuring cup, cover with hot water and set aside for 20 minutes. Drain, reserving the soaking liquid. Discard the mushroom stems and cut the caps in half. Set aside.
Stir the reserved mushroom-soaking liquid, broth, soy sauce, oyster sauce, rice wine (or sherry) and sugar in a small bowl until the sugar has dissolved.
Cut the pressed tofu into 1/2-inch cubes. Heat oil in a wok or large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat until shimmering. Add the reserved mushrooms, leek and garlic; cook, stirring, until fragrant, 10 to 15 seconds. Add the broth mixture and bring to a boil. Add the tofu, white mushrooms and fresh shiitakes and return to a boil. Reduce heat to maintain a gentle boil and simmer until the liquid is reduced by half, 10 to 15 minutes.
Stir cornstarch and water mixture. Add to the pan and cook, stirring, until the sauce is thickened, about 1 minute.
Notes: Shao Hsing (or Shaoxing) is a seasoned rice wine available in most Asian specialty markets and the Asian sections of some larger supermarkets.
Sherry is a type of fortified wine originally from southern Spain. Don't use the “cooking sherry” sold in many supermarkets--it can be surprisingly high in sodium. Instead, get dry sherry that's sold with other fortified wines at your wine or liquor store.
Vegetarian Variation To make this stir-fry vegetarian, use “no-chicken” broth, mushroom broth or vegetable broth in place of the chicken broth and vegetarian “oyster” sauce instead of regular oyster sauce. Vegetarian “oyster” sauce is made from mushroom extract and is great for adding depth of flavor to vegetarian stir-fries. Vegetarian “stir-fry sauce,” also made from mushrooms, can be used as a substitute as well.
People with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity should use soy sauces that are labeled "gluten-free," as soy sauce may contain wheat or other gluten-containing sweeteners and flavors.
2 vegetable, 1 medium-fat meat