Advertisement

Gluten-Free Diet: Guide to Grains & Starches

Which grains and starches should you avoid—and which are safe?

For those who have celiac disease or are sensitive to gluten, following a gluten-free diet means giving up many grains, pastas, cereals and processed foods. There are, however, tasty grain and starch alternatives to wheat and other sources of gluten. Here our nutrition experts offer a handy list of grains and starches for people trying to avoid gluten in their diet.

Comments

COMMENTS POSTEDsort icon

Cassava chips are delicious and satisfying. For someone who needs to stay way from gluten and dairy products, they're perfect for me! Trader Joe's sells yummy ones in huge bags!

Anonymous

10/05/2010 - 4:07pm

Cassava chips are delicious and satisfying. For someone who needs to stay way from gluten and dairy products, they're perfect for me! Trader Joe's sells yummy ones in huge bags!

Anonymous

10/05/2010 - 4:07pm

I have celiac & have noticed that Quinoa & Teff have also caused problems. Gluten free oats seem OK. I know a few others who also have noticed these problems. I'm hoping there is more research into grains.

Anonymous

03/30/2012 - 4:44pm

Quinoa & Teff, itself, is Gluten free(Along with Rice and a number of other things), however, Some brands roll it in gluten to keep it all from sticking together, so to make sure it is completely gluten free, call the manufacturer.

Anonymous

07/15/2013 - 9:43am

please do your research well!!!! corn contains gluten

Anonymous

04/09/2014 - 2:31am

Get a full year of EatingWell magazine.
World Wide Web Health Award Winner Web Award Winner World Wide Web Health Award Winner Interactive Media Award Winner